We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spalentor Basel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spalentor Basel to your Saves list
Hotel Spalentor Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose to stay in this hotel because it is near the university hospital where my husband got treatment. The hospital was just a 5 minute bus ride or an easy 10 minute walk from the Spalentor. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was modern and tastefully furnished (very comfortable, long bed -we are both tall- and quality duvet and bed linen). Loved the capsule coffee machine too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive guest rating. We are very pleased that you were able to spend a nice stay in our hotel and were satisfied with our service. We wish you a good time and look forward to welcoming and pampering you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    164
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
202
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What more can I say; although my stay was only for one night, the hotel more than met my expectations. It was in a great location - <10 minutes walk to Marktplatz and an easy bus ride to the SBB for the bus connection the airport.
The room was spacious and the facilities excellent - I had an iPod docking station, allowing me to enjoy the music I had in a relaxed environment. The TV provided a mix of channels in a variety of european channels and the room came with an added bonus of a DVD player (I didn't use this though, but a nice touch). Oh! You also have free wifi in the rooms.

The staff at the check-in desk was very friendly, & helpful; and she was knowledgeable about the neighbourhood.

The free apple was an added bonus :).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive guest rating. We are very pleased that you were able to spend a nice stay in our hotel and were happy with our service. We wish you a good time and look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Close to the city centre and whilst at the junction of 2 roads traffic noise was not an issue for us. (Chimes from the clock on the Spalentor? might be for some - on the hour every hour but did not bother us). A very pleasent stay all round and would happily recommend to others. It is not a big chain hotel and that clearly works in its favour.
Bus 30 from train station stops across the road (4 stops from and to train station) Bus 50 from airport drops you at train station and Bus 30 is directly across the road. Tram stop to town is also close by hotel but easily walkable if you prefer.
As a balanced review -
1. Breakfast was good but did not get replenished much. (possibly understandable due to number of guests?) During our stay it appeared that all other guests went to breakfast very early (7ish) and as such things can be sparce dependent on when you go. We went 8ish and food had already been actively picked at. Hot items were scrambled eggs and bacon (which were pretty much finished by the time we arrived) with a continental buffet also available. Would imagine that dining area was could also get very busy if hotel was fully booked. On second morning there were no tables when we first went and on third morning there were tables free but all still had dishes etc from previous guests - which we cleared ourselves, which was just as well as they sat on other tables for pretty much the duration of our time in the dining room.
2. Room was not ready when we arrived at 2pm which is fair enough seeing as this is the earliest you can check in but was still not ready when we returned at 3.30 pm.

Neither of these were enough to spoil stay and overall experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony - if possible try and get one of these. Go early for breakfast or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you were able to spend a pleasant stay in our hotel. We wish you a good time and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A really nice hotel, just a short tram ride or within walking distance of the city centre. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room had everything in it that we needed and the little touches, such as free fruit and drink at reception, made it that bit special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, wish you a happy Easter and are looking forward to welcome you again.
Julia Breisacher, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe for both business and pleasure, but this was definitely one of the nicest I have stayed in. The rooms were large and comfortable, the breakfast satisfying and the staff absolutely the best. The people who work there are genuinely friendly and always greet you going in and out of the hotel. These were some of the biggest rooms I have seen in my European travels and very comfortable. There is free WiFi and a nice spread for breakfast. They even have a small fitness area downstairs. Nothing special, a treadmill, elliptical and bike, but more than most hotels I have stayed at in Basel and Bern. Will be my top choice the next time in Basel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you were able to spend a pleasant stay in our hotel. We wish you a good time, happy Easter and looking forward to welcome you again. Julia Breisacher, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Good location, easy to walk to most places. Tram and bus stops are right outside. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Very good selection at brekfest, everything else in the city costs a small fortune so make sure you fill up on meat and bread. Also has free Wifi.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very pleased that you spend a pleasant stay in our hotel and were satisfied with our service and the friendliness of the team. We wish you a good time and look forward to welcome you again. Daniel Scheurer, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in this hôtel for a weekend and very liked it, spotless bed, clean shower and nicely designed, they have put a small speaker where you can connect your ipod or iphone to listen to ur music.

we liked the quality of the mattresses.. the only negative points were

1- low WIFI connection, considering of a 4* hotel in Basel .. my 3G network was faster

2- some rooms are very colse to street where Tram line is, imagining the sound of an old train, middle of the night, 10 m from your room .. those rooms facing street should be avoided. I attached a pix to show the distance between tram line and room

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheurer, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you were able to spend a pleasant stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Daniel Scheurer, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#5 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spalentor Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.