We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good beer, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Moon

Saigon Moon
Friedrichstrasse 25, Basel, Switzerland
+41 (0)61 301 59 28
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 449 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, good beer, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went along with a large group from the Expat community for their evening buffet.

The food was amazing, a good mix of Vietnamese and Thai, they had a selection of the local beers and the service was brilliant.

I'd certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Coming from a Vietnamese family, I'm a pretty harsh judge of Vietnamese cuisine that isn't made by my mum.I also live in London, which has its fair share of pretender Vietnamese restaurants so I was mega impressed when it came to Saigon Moon.

I would completely bypass all the Chinese type dishes and skip straight to the actual Vietnamese dishes (ask the staff if you're not sure - they're really nice). My husband and I shared banh cuon as a starter, I had pho bo and he had hu tieu xao. Everything was lovely but the real star of the night was the pho which was the freshest and most flavoursome I've ever tasted. It got passed back and forth between the two of us because it was so delicious. Definitely worth a trip

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bees knees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is absolutely divine. I had the best food I have eaten in Basel here and one of the best Thai or Vietnamese meals I have had all over the place.

We had a lovely starter of prawns with various accompaniments that were to be eaten in pepper leaves which were wonderful and then a red curry and also some lovely wok fried chicken.

It is excellent value for money, and our server Tabitha was brilliant.

Will have to come back here. I recommend it to any foodies and people who are in Basel missing some authentic Asian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service - dull food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Anyone ever been to Asia shouldn't eat here. Sure, the service was great, but the food dull and uninspired. Maybe what Swiss people think, Asian food should taste like...

For the love of god, there are several Asian restaurants in and around Basel, but most of them serve the same bland food. Where is the taste of Asia?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything we ordered, from the Goi Hai San salad, homemade spring rolls, Bun bo xao sa ot beef noodle, Vit Peking (wok-fried duck) to the fried bananas, was tasty and refreshingly different from the 'usual Thai and Chinese' in Basel. In addition, best value for money you get in Basel and very friendly service. Location could be better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Moon also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Saigon Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.