We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balade to your Saves list
Hotel Balade
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were groovy. Tastefully decorated to give a modern vibe. area was in the red light district but dont bother then and they dont bother you...
3 mins walk from tram.
Rooms are good size and clean. staff are mixed some relly great but the odd one a bit robotic.
Recommen this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you lovely comment about your last stay with us! Thanks for the recommendation, we appriciate it!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A simple hotel with fair size rooms. The decor is different to the standard box hotels. Don't be put off by the location of this hotel. Yes it's in the red light district but there is no worries about getting mauled by them. Would deffo stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I only can agree, no worries about the area, it is a special district, but safe and clean. Therefore there are only 2 minutes walking distance to several bars, restaurants and sight seeing and tourist attractions.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to Basel. The location was perfect for us. It is on major transportation lines (you get a free mobility card from the hotel) and it was close to the river and the old town. The hotel was nice. Modern. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We didn't have any problems. The only thing that I did not like about the hotel was that, like in many "modern" hotels, the bathroom doors (and a little piece of the wall) are opaque glass. It is not completely see-through, so it is ok. But it is not very sound-proof, either. I guess if you are staying in the same room with someone, you are probably comfortable with them, but there are just somethings that do not need to be so evident.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely and honest feedback. We are very interested in your point of view and are greatful for your inputs.
See you soon at Hotel Balade, it would be our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for a 3 day business trip and enjoyed my stay : it was cheap, in a good location, very comfortable, and the staff were very nice and helpful.
Thie hotel is very modern in it's decor and they provided a free pass for the public transit upon arrival, which made it very easy to get about Basel. I had a room at the back of the hotel and there was a little bit of music noise from a bar, but it didnt go on too late.
Don't let the fact that it is situated in the red light district put you off, as this really only appeared to be a couple of girls on the street and a couple of bars, if you didnt know it was there you would probably miss it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear David,
Thank you very much for rating us and your honest comment.
Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were not confused by the area. Indeed it is save and you could hear some noises, but this is normal for a hotel in the middle of the vibrant city center.
See you again!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

highlight is the location. very central. 5min walk from major transport connections.
price is good, breakfast is enough and inline with hotel category.
rooms are big, clean and well equipt. visualy i didnt get an attractive room. you can feel concret built. not warming welcome. but still worth. it is a matter of taste.

staff and service is very welcome and helpfull. 5stars to them.

negative aspect, "less good aspects", reception is close overnight. need to use automated access.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We appreciate real statements, so it makes it easier for prospective guests finding a good value hotel in Basel. Thanks for all the inputs and hints. Referring th opening hours of the reception, due to the number of rooms it is more economic with a solution like this, but I would like to emphasize that we have a security service, which is available all night by telephone and a very high security standard with all item required.
Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Balade!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hotel Balade provides the comfiest beds in the modern minimalist setting. Our 3 night stay was comfortable, warm and friendly. Don't let the fact that it is situated in the red light district put you off. If you didn't know you would never guess. I felt safe at all times, even returning to the hotel after midnight.

Excellent hotel

Room Tip: I was travelling with my two sisters on a budget and booked the family room with three beds. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Ruth,
Thank you very much for your comment and your excellent rating! I am glad to hear that you had an amazing stay at our Hotel Balade and you are right the red light district is closed by. But as you mentioned, especially as a woman, the area is very safe and central, and as we all know, at good locations in a city, you can find all kind of people, what makes it even more interesting.
Hope to seen you soon again when you visit Basel, it would be a pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#14 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#6 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#2 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel Rochat
Hotel Rochat
#18 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Altstadt
BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathrooms with safes, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet and hairdryers. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter.Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.