We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blindekuh Basel

Blindekuh Basel
Dornacherstrasse 192, Basel CH-4053, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 435 Restaurants in Basel
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

What an experience! As we speak English it was not a problem to the staff or the waiters. It was very busy when we were there and this really added to the whole experience, the sounds around us in the restaurant made you really wonder how the waiters and waitresses get the job done.
There were six of us in the group and only myself had the vegetarian option and our waitress Anicia found me no bother.
The food was very good and well prepared. I won't say what I had because if you have it when you go there it will take away from the fun of trying to identify what is on your plate!
I highly recommend this restaurant as it will make you very appreciative of your sight and it helps some great people who might not otherwise have a job they enjoy.
And the food is great too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Never seen anything like it in the world. It is a social project that helps blind people, also by giving them a job opportunity as waiters in the restaurant. The restaurant is completely dark (not even watches allowed) and gives therefore the "to-be-blind-experience". Food is very nice and nicely prepared. Vegetarian options could be better though, it is meat kitchen.

PS: It's fun to lick the empty plates.. =)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good, fun experience with bonus of good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The concept is simple. A restaurant ran by blind and partially sighted people who let you experience the feeling of eating "blind". The restaurant really is pitch dark and once you get used to the surroundings it is quite good fun and a different experience. The food was good, and the staff, we were served by Oktay, was attentative, prompt and friendly. I would highly recommend ordering the surprise menu and being stumped by the menu, only to, as the menu suggests, surprised by what you have eaten. On the night we were there, the surprise menu contained rabbit, leeks and an almond panna cotta served with rhubarb.
Like the rest of Switzerland the meal was not cheap but looking at other menus for restaurants was probably mid-priced.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A once in a lifetime experience - must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I went yesterday with my Girlfriend and it lived up to our expectations. The service is perfect and the food is great - go for the surprise menu though, its much more fun trying to figure out what you are eating. At CHF 50-60 per person (3-course menu) is a well worth experience! Recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good experience, good service. Recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

You probably know the deal with this place - you dine in utter darkness. The restaurant is run and staffed by sight-impaired or blind people. To be honest, I thought this restaurant would be more about the expereience of dining in the dark, and the quality of the food would be secondary. I was wrong. Food-wise, it's not the very best restaurant in Basel, but it was very good.
The actual experience was extremely interesting, though it was a little unnerving when first being led into a place where you cannot see anything at all, but you do get used to it after a while. The staff here were extremely friendly, and offered possibly the best service I have had dining out in Basel.
Just FYI, you choose your meal from the menu wile outside in the light. I would recommend getting the "surprise 3-course meal" , where you basically have to guess in the dark what you're eating, and they reveal it afterwards when you come back out. It makes for an extra level of fun. I will be going back here and would have no hesitation recommending this place to others.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blindekuh Basel also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Blindekuh Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blindekuh Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.