We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service I have EVER exprienced!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balegra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Balegra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balegra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reiterstrasse 1, Basel 4054, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 47 hotels in Basel
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst customer service I have EVER exprienced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is complete rip off - the room was very small, very basic and I even found a beer can lurking underneath my bed. The breakfast is pitiful, again very basic and plastic. But what was most shocking was the way that the hotel owner was happy to charge us nearly 100 CHF more for our stay than what they advertised on their website. When I questioned this the owner became very rude, hostile and threatening. This behaviour completely ruined my stay. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBasel, Inhaber at Hotel Balegra, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest
Your review for the hotel Balegra must be a misunderstanding.
We have never used plastic utensils and your comments do not match the standardization of our house .. Also your photo, I can not remember ever having seen us. I wish you good time and maybe look again after what hotel you really were. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Visited Basel for work during mid June.
What can I say? Staff is nice, friendly, nice complimentary breakfast.
Rooms, small. Shower, really small, and some rooms don't even have shower.
If you go Basel for the art fair, do not stay here, it is rather far from center. Good thing is tram will take you anywhere in little to no time.
Overall, OK.
PROS: clean, friendly staff.
CONS: small rooms, very small shower, no 24hr reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This review is about the public RESTAURANT at this place, not the hotel rooms, as we went there to eat, not to spend the night. The food at the restaurant was good, absolutely no complaints, with decent portions. I had a pizza, which had a very thin, very crusty bottom and ample toppings, and my husband enjoyed his veal steak in cream sauce (there were actually two pieces of meat) and a generous helping of dumplings. For desert we had ice cream which was very creamy and came - for European standards - in in very decent helpings. Service was friendly but a bit lack-lustre. The meat dish was expensive, but not more so than at other Swiss restaurants.
The restaurant doesn't have any atmosphere really. There's a general part at the bar and a dining room beyond that. We were the only ones dining there - but then it was a Monday. There were some obviously locals having a drink.
There is outside seating (not right now, too cold) but that's right on a main road with much traffic. There are a few parking spaces right outside - like six or eight - but you have to drive up over the sidewalk to get onto them - which was why we had to go and park in a side street - for my husband driving a sedan up over the curb is sacrilege. There's enough parking in all the little side streets, but I can imagine that it'll mostly be gone after working hours since it's all residential streets with small homes with no garages.
For people actually staying here as guests, there's a bus stop right outside on a line which will take you right downtown. Two minutes- walk away there's a square with several stores and two small supermarkets.
I would go to eat there again, but it would not be on my list of preferred places.

Room Tip: Get a room not going onto the main road, but onto the side street - there's traffic on that as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Very basic indeed. There was a small bed with ensuite bathroom and a tiny TV in the corner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed one night at Hotel Balegra. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room very clean. The bathroom was small, but functional. Breakfast consisted of eggs fried or scrambled fresh for you - if you order a fried egg you get one egg - if you order scrambled it looks like you get a little more. There were a couple of whole grain cold cereals, muesli type, and some Corn Flakes, plus the usual European fare of juice, coffee, tea, cheese, fruit, meats and bread. There is a restaurant onsite that seems to be open most of the time. We arrived late on a Sunday and they were closed. Otherwise we didn't see any restaurants nearby. I'm sure the woman at the front desk could have easily directed us to one.

We were given free tickets for the metro and directions for the way downtown. The metro station is just a short walk away and very easy to find. The ride into town a matter of a few minutes. My only problem with the hotel was the bed was a little too soft for me, but I like a very firm mattress.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Finding an affordable hotel with a family room in high season in Basel is not easy. We were looking for a comfortable budget hotel for one night, no more, and that Belagra delivered. It's not a hotel to fall in love with but if you're on a budget (with kids) it'll do quite nicely.

The service was very friendly throughout our stay. We arrived a bit earlier than expected as traffic was surprisingly low on our way there. No problem, we were allowed to check in, park our car for free, got a free transportation card for the Basel public transit system for everyone in our family, and were set to go.

We stopped for a late lunch at a bakery around the corner. Must have been the same one the other reviewer mentioned as we really loved it. The walk to the tram station was very close as well and the ride into the centre of Basel took only 10 minutes.

The quad room was rather small once you opened up the sofa-bed but that was what we had expected for the price. The bathroom was definitely on the small side as well but even with the 4 of us it was sufficient.

What we did not expect was the noise level coming in from the streets surrounding the hotel. Closing the window was not really an option either as it was a very warm summer night and the small room got stuffy quickly unless you kept the window open. No AC.

The beds were ok, not super comfortable but I've had worse.

The breakfast room was small but adequate and with a friendly atmosphere - despite renovations going on in an area of the hotel close by. The buffet was very extensive and had something for everyone. Fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheese, several kinds of bread and buns, yoghurt, muesli (of course!) ... We didn't feel hungry again till the afternoon.

  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balegra

Address: Reiterstrasse 1, Basel 4054, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balegra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcom in Basel! We are pleased that you will be our guest and will do everything that you feel comfortable during your stay with us. Are you looking for a cosy hotel far from the city bustle and yet centrally located? We have just the place for you! The Balegra hotel lies in a quiet suburb. The city center is just a few minutes away. The city can best be explored by public transport. You can reach open space in just a few minutes. When you arrive, you will receive a public transport ticket, which you can use on the entire city network at no cost to you. If we have piqued your curiosity, or if you would like more information, we are happy to assist you and will be glad to make a reservation. "Your well-being is our passion" Daniel Spicher - your Basler host with a heart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Balegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balegra Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balegra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.