We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Old Style--but a Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Krafft am Rhein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Krafft am Rhein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Krafft am Rhein
Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 hotels in Basel
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Old Style--but a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in the street side suite over the bar across from the main building. We ran our fans all night and there was street noise but we just considered it part of the atmosphere. Attitude is everything.The area around the hotel is bohemian in a safe and interesting sort of way. You are in the thick of old Basel. The staff was helpful and quickly provided extra sheets, pillows, and towels. They were supposed to have us coffee at 5:00 AM on our last day before departing but had to be reminded. Try the restaurant--one of Basel's best. Our second time staying there. No A/C so consider in July--August. We had a very comfortable and authentic experience.

Room Tip: Regular rooms in main hotel can get stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
38
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Krafft Hotel is a lovely House with atmosphere. First the kindness of the welcome, and some little attentions without asking for...The rooms on the river and the city(medieval part) are very pleasant, opening windows on a very beautiful historical landscape; The Breakfast is excellent as usual in Switzerland and the white room elegant over the bank is very quiet. I try the Terrace Restaurant during the "Im Fluss" FESTIVAL and all the crew was very professional and kind .The cook, trying to give something new in the dishes, was without surprise neither sumptuous neither bad. But a very rich "ambiance". In one word Krafft becomes MY hotel in Basel.

Room Tip: ONLY ON THE RIVER even the noise on the summer outside week end as everywhere now in big cities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Krafft is a very nice place to say - bit on the expensive side but good service.
Breakfast is ok, and included in the daily charges (but we were not informed of that until the very last day when we got the final bill and it was mentioned on the final bill that breakfast is included in the stay charges). This whole time we were eating outside :D lol
Anyways, nice and clean, friendly staff, electric adapter for tourists, maps, recommendations, view etc - all facilities are available.
However, there are 2 views from the hotel, if you want the river view, its more expensive. FYI.
Enjoy !

Room Tip: there are 2 views from the hotel, if you want the river view, its more expensive. FYI
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is an older hotel which has been selectively updated to retain some of its historic elements and overall style. The rooms are comfortably and stylishly updated.
We had one of the few river-facing rooms with a large balcony which we used often. Air conditioning is lacking so we used the provided fan continuously.

The hotel restaurant was on-par with other restaurants and the breakfast was comprehensive. There are common areas on each floor with computers and printers and bowls of fruit, water, and tee.

The WiFi is good as is the selection of television channels.

We also took advantage of the hotel-provided bicycles.


The staff was very personable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_52398, Front Office Manager at Hotel Krafft am Rhein, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would glad to welcoming you again at another opportunity. Best wishes your Krafft-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Forget the large business hotels ...unless you want gyms and conferences , this hotel has personality and charm and one of the best views of the Rhine ( if you get the right rooms ) Sure , there is no airconditioning , one or two of the rooms are small and you dont have massive pressure showers , but substitute those for elegance , a real Swiss feel , comfortable beds , a stunning restaurant ( get by the window for breakfast ) , friendly staff , free tea and apple stations on every floor and being situated beside some of the sweetest little streets ....no contest !! Good value for money too ( if there is such a thing in Switzerland !!)

Room Tip: Try to go high and INSIST on a lake view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Absolutely charming hotel that had delightful staff who spoke English well and were most helpful. Had a beautiful room on the fourth floor overlooking the Rhine River...blissful! The only thing that took the shine off our stay was the fact that there wasn't air conditioning and at night, neither of us slept well at all because of it. Tried opening the balcony doors but the mosquitos wanted to come in and share our room so that wasn't an option for long. If it wasn't for the little mossies, we even joked about taking our mattresses out onto the balcony for the second night but knew that wouldn't work. in the daytime, still hot and stuffy in the room despite the constant fan on high but didnt spend much time in the room anyway. Loved the charm, location and staff and would gladly stay here at another time of year but not in the summer months unless air conditioning was added.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a room overlooking the Rhine River. If you can't manage the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is my favourite hotel in Basel and I stay here more or less on a regular basis for the past year and a half. Of course you need to have a room on the river side overlooking the old city with the cathedral and the old bridge too. The rooms are tastefully done up with vitra-like design furniture, the typical Bauhaus stuff. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Their restaurant is good too.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Rhine side are a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_52398, Front Office Manager at Hotel Krafft am Rhein, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Ramaya, thank you for your kind feedback that we really appreciate. We are happy to having you as our regular and are glad to be your preferred place in Basel. See you soon your Krafft-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Krafft am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krafft am Rhein

Address: Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, charm and quality: The Krafft Basel enjoys a long tradition as a city hotel with a restaurant situated in the heart of the old town “Kleinbasel”, symbolizing the life of the Rheingasse. The renovated building from 1873 combines classic with contemporary design: Individually designed hotel rooms and junior suites with a variety of extras in comfortable units across the street in the annex.The restaurant convinces with its variety of fresh products and with its authenticity and invites to experience the pleasure of dining in a new way. A smoking lounge and the wine bar consum complete the Krafft offer.Beautiful moments on the Rhine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Krafft am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krafft Am Rhein Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Krafft am Rhein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.