We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Basel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Krafft am Rhein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Krafft am Rhein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Krafft am Rhein
Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Basel
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best view in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Hotel Krafft is a meticulously renovated historical hotel set in the heart of Basel. The rooms feature a sleek and elegant mixture of vintage and modern appliances and are incredibly cosy and quiet. Ours had a small covered balcony facing the Rhine river, and the view was breathtaking. With its cosy bed, warm atmosphere, well-insulated walls and windows, it was a true heaven of calm and we slept like babies.

Several small gestures are made to reduce the environmental footprint, such as soap and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom instead of individual soap bars or water fountains offering free cold filtered tap water (flat or sparkling) instead of a waste-producing minibar. A kettle and a range of teas are available in the candle-lit common area on each floor, where there are cosy armchairs and beautiful wooden toys for children.

The breakfast buffet is delicious and plentiful, with a wide choice of bread, home-made preserves, local cheeses and fresh fruits. The service is very efficient and helpful.

The only drawback we could find was a faint bad smell coming from the bathroom when we entered the room... It must have come from a problem in the piping, because both room and bathroom were spotless.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront room. The price difference definitely makes up for the unforgettable views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
38
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel in Novembre 2011, for a couple getaway. The hotel is perfectly located, on the bank of the Rhein. It is cosy and quiet. The room was nice and clean but I guess that some parts of this hotel are already quite old... would need some refurbishement at some point, but it is all ok and comfy.
The breakfast was good and there was plenty of food available (many choices of breads).
I particularly liked that we had free filtered cold water, regular or sparkling (gazeified) water from a fountain on the floor, and free tea as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed for a four day business trip and this hotel was chosen by my hosts. The room was very pleasant, 2nd floor facing the Rhein, which is a beautiful view. The room is simple, yet very functional with tasteful decor. The building is well preserved with am elegant stairway. It is nice to wake up, eat the good breakfast and walk along the river before going to work. The bed is excellent and I slept very well. Even the l'occitane soaps and cream are excellent. The staff is extremely helpful and when I return to Basel I will probably consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference, so the hotel was chosen for me by the organizers who wanted to give their visitors an authentic Basel experience -- and this was it!

On the plus side, the Krafft Hotel was charming, clean, and perfectly located in the city center. The view of the Rhine is truly special (and enticed me to try a river swim that is one of the secret pleasures of Basel). The staff was very accommodating to my several special requests. The breakfast was "continental" in the truest sense: cheese, croissants, granola, muesli, coffee and wonderful hot chocolate.

There is only one reason I would hesitate to recommend this hotel for a summer visit: no air conditioning. The standard hotel explanation for no A/C -- "It's never this hot here, so we don't need air conditioning" -- is simply contrary to the facts of my experience. My first room was the dreaded #44; other reviews have warned about this room, but I will add that it is on the top floor (and heat rises). After 1 night, the staff graciously accommodated my pleas and moved me to a room that was perfectly adequate in size.

Room Tip: Avoid #44 -- too small and too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Privately-owned hotel, one side overlooking the river, one a street. The street side can be noisy late at night (rowdy drinkers) and early morning (street-cleaning). The windows are double-galzed to keep the noise out, but there is no air-con so need to remain open in summer.
It gets light early, so remember to pull down the external shutters!
Rooms are spacious, simply-furnished but pleasant. On the river side, some have balconies with seats. On the top floor is a room with a private terrace.
Good restaurant, with seating outside, facing the river in summer
Nice, fashionable, wine bar across the street that also belongs to the hotel
No minibars in rooms, no room service. Smoking lounge with cigars on sale, which is unusual these days

Room Tip: River side room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the duration of three days, the purpose of our visit was to see modern architecture in and around Basel and to visit Vitra.

At check in we were told the we were located in the annex of the hotel, which is just across the street from the main part of the hotel. At first I got very sceptic and my immediate thought was that this was the left over rooms of the hotel. But after i was shown my room I was immediately pleased with my spacious, light and modern room. The room was relly nice and great, allthoug it did not present a magnificent view of the Rhein.

Spacious bathroom with a big walk-in shower and with a big double bed. There was taps of lovely still- and sparkly water located in the hallway just outside of the rooms, there was also tea making facilities in the room, with proper Swiss herbal tea, wich was nice.

Breakfast was really simple and good. I generally like to have a good selection for breakfast when staying at nicer hotels, there was however no possibility of anything warm like bacon or eggs, but the things they served was of immaculate quality and I was therefore more than pleased with my breakfast.

Only minus æi would add for this hotel has to be that there was only half hour of free wi-fi, at this price it should be included in the price. There was option of buying wi-fi connection at quite high cost!

I would love to stay at hotel like this again, I have no problem of recommending this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The hotel is quite amazing in term of location, design (decor) and service. The front desk was extremely helpful with local information. The room is beautifully designed and tastefully decorated. The furniture pieces are "classic modern" with just right amount of color, texture and size. The restroom is quite spacious. We got the room on the riverside which has a quite beautiful view of the city and river. However, the river is quite popular place to "hang out" so it gets noisy at times if the windows/doors are open - for cool breeze. But when they are closed, the noise is almost not there. The building is quite old and can be somewhat noisy when walking. The amenities are perfect with amazing continental breakfast in the beautiful dinning room, free self service pantry at each floor lobby. The hotel restaurant and bar are great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Krafft am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krafft am Rhein

Address: Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, charm and quality: The Krafft Basel enjoys a long tradition as a city hotel with a restaurant situated in the heart of the old town “Kleinbasel”, symbolizing the life of the Rheingasse. The renovated building from 1873 combines classic with contemporary design: Individually designed hotel rooms and junior suites with a variety of extras in comfortable units across the street in the annex.The restaurant convinces with its variety of fresh products and with its authenticity and invites to experience the pleasure of dining in a new way. A smoking lounge and the wine bar consum complete the Krafft offer.Beautiful moments on the Rhine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Krafft am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krafft Am Rhein Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Krafft am Rhein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.