We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Teufelhof Basel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Der Teufelhof Basel to your Saves list
Der Teufelhof Basel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a really unique hotel, with outstanding service from the moment we walked in. The level of cleanliness and fittings within the room was excellent, and the one off artist hand-painted decor a delight - each room has a different theme. We stayed in the split level family suite (room 9) and more than enough room for four - although more suited for older children. Location is superb - tram 3 stops right outside the hotel (you get public transport passes for the duration of your stay) but the hotel itself is very central to Basel Old Town and many restaurants in close walking distance. Wi-fi was a good standard throughout the hotel. Breakfast a very good standard, with options "off menu" catered for without a murmur. Overall, would thoroughly recommend this hotel, with its quirky art frescos and own theatre, wine cellar shop and superb staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    71
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
119
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Oh it was a beautiful hotel with a great breakfast offering, nice bars with seating inside and out, kind servers, a secret wine cave in the basement, each room very different (I had two friends staying there in separate rooms), perfect location for walking, exploring, crossing the river, swimming in the Rhine. I have nothing bad to say about it and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I had a room on the main street which was a bit noisy in the early morning.. i think it was the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok/Zurich/London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sometimes it is hard to describe the "feel-good-factor" but in this hotel everything just seems right. It seems like a strong team spirit permeates each facet of hotel management and service. Little things often not provided by more expensive establishments are just there and available at no additional cost. It is spotlessly clean, very arty and centrally located. The food in the various restaurants is also excellent. We cannot find fault with this establishment and were glad to see that they garnered some Trip Advisor Awards for Excellency - we can only concur.

Room Tip: all rooms are different. If you need a lift choose one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subiaco, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We would like to thank all the staff at der Teufelhof and especially Raphael Wyniger for making our 2 week stay at the hotel very enjoyable. The staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and always professional from the time of our arrival to our departure. We stayed in the loft room of the Gallery Hotel, which is light, spacious and tastefully decorated. The in-room Nespresso machine and complimentary mineral water was much appreciated. We enjoyed the Teufelhof bar, with it's great whiskey collection and had some very good meals at Atelier restaurant. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were a delight. Situated in our favourite area of the old town of Basel, Spalenberg, we were close to restaurants, bars and interesting shops. We will be staying in this hotel on our next trip to Basel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was lucky to stay here in the days before Basel World, when it was busy and expensive! The staff are absolutely excellent, offering personal service with a sense of genuine interest in you as a person. My only quibble is the price - typical high priced Swiss hotel (although better value compared to other Basel hotels I've stayed in). I stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, which was huge and spacious but suffered from being a little noisy, even when the windows were closed, as the tram line is right in front of of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel in Basel and a family member recommended Der Teufelhof. What a lovely experience! The room was clean and comfortable, nice shower, great big windows to have open or shutter closed to keep out light and sound. Our windows opened to the entry courtyard and it was very quiet and peaceful...closing the shutters completely blocked the noise of the tram. The staff were wonderful! There were accommodations for us at every turn: (1) we missed breakfast and they served us an a la carte breakfast in the cafe at no charge, (2) all of the extras were free (water, coffee/tea, snacks, bag storage, transportation passes, wifi/internet), (3) there was always someone available to answer our questions and solve our concerns and (4) they were extremely friendly without being at all intrusive.
Overall, a delightful experience that we would highly recommend to anyone traveling in Basel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is located within the old town and must have been refurbished recently. It's architecture is done with good taste and there are nice pictures in the rooms and corridors. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice and we enjoiyed our stay thouroughly.

Room Tip: Excellent location, nice breakfast and even though our room was located onto the street, there was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#2 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#6 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Teufelhof Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.