We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Teufelhof Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Der Teufelhof Basel to your Saves list
Der Teufelhof Basel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is situated in a historical building, right in the very centre of Basel. We stayed with two adults and two children in a suite, a beautiful two store appartment, just under the roof. From several windows we had a beautiful view over the snow covered roof of the Old Town. An unforgettable experience. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Small details in the room: books, magazines, free bottles of water made the stay even more enjoyable. We ate very well in one of the restaurants of the hotel. In the basemenent, there is even a small exhibition of archeaological exhibits found on the site of the hotel. On the downside: no elevator to our room, so if you are travelling with infants our for elderly people, this may be a problem.

Room Tip: We had a suite, for a stay with children it was fabulous, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    52
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
88
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am currently staying at the Teufelhof and I am very impressed. The house has a soul, the hotel is charming, offers a restaurant, a bar, a wineshop, a theater, great food and it really offers something different and interesting. Definetly different than your average business hotel, for instance you will find a personally written postcard that welcomes you, you find books on your bed, a Nespresso coffee machine... You can also ask for an adapter.
The personal really makes a difference when you walk in: friendly, they even fill out your guest registration.

I am very impressed and I have seen many hotels from the inside - privatly owned hotels really make a difference :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just back from a weekend in Basel. We stayed in the Art Hotel section of this hotel. It was first class. The young lady and gentleman on reception were so helpful and continually cheerful at all times. All the other staff were also very welcoming and extremely polite. We stayed in the 'yellow room' that as the colour suggests was completely painted yellow with a lovely art form on one of the walls. There were some lovely beams that gave the whole room a very special feeling. This hotel is also situated in a fantastic area of this city. I really wish we could have stayed for longer. We also experienced very helpul people in this lovely city, when we asked for directions to local tourist attractions.
All in all we had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to feel special for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art Hotel and all the rooms looked exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile


We stayed in the hotel in the middle of August when the temperature is Basel was 90 degrees. The hotel wasn't ready for such a high temperature, there was no A/C. It was impossible to sleep in the hotel. Hotel stuff was friendly and helpful (5 stars). Breakfasts were delicious. Rooms were clean but small.
Another disadvantage is a fact that bugs came in when windows were open. There was no window screens. Bathrooms should be updated, ESP. shower curtains. They didn't stop the water from coming out to the floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyniger R, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Porcelaine81

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are grateful to be informed about all the various impressions our guests get during their stay in our Cultural Guest House. Especially we would like to say thank you for the compliment regarding our stuff. It is very important for us that our team members always give their best to pamper our guests. And to get feedbacks like this shows us that we are on the right way.

It is indeed true that we had a really warm August this year. We are aware about the fact that especially in the USA all the hotel rooms have AC. As you might know in Europe it is not yet standard in all the countries to have AC everywhere. For example in Switzerland the summers are not always that warm to justify a regular use of ACs (please note the immense effort of power). In our case it is not possible to install this system as our building is under monument conservation. You might understand that we cannot ignore this. But as alternative we always provide ventilators. Our guests only have to ask at the front desk to get one.
Furthermore we would like to inform you that we will exchange all the windows in the hotel rooms in the year 2013. Your note about the missing window screens will be considered. We are sorry for the problems with the bugs.

We are thankful for the tip regarding the bathroom, especially the problem with the shower curtains. We will confer with our housekeeping team to find a better solution.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We take your feedback serious and would be grateful to welcome you again in our Cultural Guest House, maybe already with the new windows.

Thank you very much.

Raphael Wyniger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Rooms on the smaller side are made up for by brilliant service, a lovely breakfast and super central location.

My only real qualm is that i cannot sleep with light coming into a room and the traditional swiss wooden shutters + light floaty curtains made sure i was up bright and early after a jet lagged sleepless night.

All the same - if you like a sunny bright room - all the better for you! Im sure they probably have rooms not facing onto the courtyard - next time i stay ill request one!

Room Tip: Dark side of the moon for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I want to be fair to this establishment but I'm not sure I get it. It is certainly in a charming location and the courtyard bar and restaurant were lovely and so was the breakfast but our room in the art building was a mystery to me....It was certainly a large enough room but the 'art' element was limited to a large transfer picture of some peaches on one wall. The whole room was painted a rather unpleasant light green which had rather alot of dirty smudges on it). There were 3 beds marooned in the centre of the room surrounded by a tangle of electrical cord and plugs that were positively dangerous. The TV was large but what with the beds in the middle of the room there was no-where to comfortably watch tv from. I did beg some extra pillows and we did move our beds to one side of the room but it was still hard to get comfortable. In short this was an expensive room that was too short on style, sensible design and most of all convenience for the price. It needs more thought and more money spending on it in order to justify the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyniger R, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mary

First of all, thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are always thankful to be informed about the impressions our guests get during their stay in our hotel and thank also for the compliments.

Our guest and cultural house is famous for its unique hotel rooms, especially in the “Kunsthotel” where you stayed. The rooms are constantly redone by various artists with a special theme. At the moment, the theme is “Colors”. The concept is that we decide on a theme and let the artist do their work. As we are not artists but hoteliers, we let the artist do their work. And: Art gives always a theme to talk about. Some people love it, some people do not know if either they like it or not. But is sure always gives something to talk about.

Good news tough:
As we want the concept to be lively and changing: We are already planning the next set of the Art rooms which will be done in 2013. Then, famous artist will work in the rooms again and we can present them in a new way. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel at that time and let you getting a new impression.

Regarding the electrical cord and plugs we would like to apologize for. As the theme is color, the beds are in the middle to not interfere with the color. That brings it with it that we need to work with the cord and plugs going through the room. It is definitely not in our meaning to present our rooms in a dangerous manner and we will confer with our housekeeping team what we can do on that topic.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We take your feedback serious and keep this in mind especially for the next redecoration.

Thank you very much.

Raphael Wyniger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The building is a gem with many many unexpected surprising corners. The rooms in the Kunsthotel equally surprising and very nice with a warm touch that make the whole experience outstanding. Super friendly and competent service and the location 5 minutes walk from Marktplatz make of this little hotel probably one of the best destination in Basel Stadt. Andre didn't try the restaurant that is supposed to be excellent

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Teufelhof Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.