We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everybody” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Matisse

Restaurant Matisse
Burgfelderstrasse 188, Basel 4055, Switzerland
0615606066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 406 restaurants in Basel
Cuisines: European, French, Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not for everybody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The restaurant is a true michelin place, with very unique tastes but it is not for everybody especially if you like simple and basic things for your food!

The service takes too long to bring orders and in general you must be very patient for everything....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    33
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great cooking to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Matisse in Basel is a nice example of fine dining.
We were there on a Saturday evening and there were only 6 guests.

The inside is a mixture of styles. The building is quite new, which means a lot of square shapes. But they do try to make it a bit cozy.
In our evening there were 2 very nice waiters. They know their job and did it with a bit of a human touch. Being in Basel, it became a mixture of German, French and English.

The menu changes every day, they say. I guess some good dishes return now and then.
You have the choice for 3 to 6 courses. In real you start with 2 time 3 amuses followed by two starter plates. Afterwards you start with a Fish and afterwards some Meat; in between you have a something small in between. You end with some cheeses followed by a desert. When it is time for coffee they bring out the homemade chocolates (delicious).

All the dishes are made in the same style. Everything is BIO and made from scratch; I guess that is fashion. The chef uses quite some acidity to get the taste in the dishes. Not in a disturbing way; we liked it, but we did notice it. There ware not that many sweet things, except for natural sweet tastes from the products. The sauces and creams were very taste and all the ingredients themselves were cooked to perfection and had very nice natural tastes.

There is a possibility of a wine paring; which is in my opinion a bit on the pricy side. The wines per bottle are also quite pricy.

I wish the restaurant all the best as it is a very nice possibility to treat yourselves!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 star yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the full 6 course meal, which becomes 10 courses with two amuse bouche, a pre-dessert and a selection of sweets with coffee. Every single dish was good, with interesting combination of flavours, fresh ingredients and immaculate presentation. Service was also very good. What makes this a 4 vs 5 star experience is the whole ambiance of the restaurant, from the decor not cosy enough, to the music just a touch too loud and the wines: we had wine pairing and while the wines were not bad, they were also nothing memorable or exceptional. In brief, great compliments to the chef, but somehow something more is needed to make this relatively new restaurant a real star in Basel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent food - interior design has room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

just one word for the food - excellent. innovative, fresh, original, well balanced. some of the established restaurants should better watch out.

the service is very friendly and attentive.

the interior design is not ideal though. too many style mixes. light needs to change. we sat at a table with very intense light, like in an office. not cosy, no traditional dinner atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a pleasant surprise this restaurant Matisse!
The restaurant is furnished in a modern and basic style. In my opinion it would need a bit more deco in order to make it warmer but it is anyway a pleasant place.
The service is very good even though not perfect. The sommelier recommended excellent vines to combine with the different plates which were not extremely expensive. The food can be described with one adjective: superb! The Michelin starred cook Erik Schröter prepared a 7 plates surprise menu which we absolutely loved. His modern and original style is an absolute culinary experience.
The 7 plate menu costs 15 CHF more than by 1 michelin star Stucki Bruderholz and only 20 CHF less than 2 Michelin star Cheval Blanc in Basel. It is understandable that for the price one would opt for one of these two sure values. However, we strongly recommend this place and we hope that it will become more known because it deserve it. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Matisse also viewed

 
Basel, Switzerland
 
Basel, Switzerland
Basel, Switzerland

Been to Restaurant Matisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Matisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.