We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 4* by any means” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Q Metropol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Q Metropol Hotel to your Saves list
Swiss Q Metropol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“NOT a 4* by any means”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

If you have to stay near the train station then I suppose this is an okay place, but just okay. This was our 3rd stop of 5 in Europe and the most disappointing hotel of all. We were only there for one night for a quick afternoon business meeting. We arrived rather late at night, but even so, I really questioned if the front desk clerk had ever been inside one of the hotel rooms. The room was very small and only came with one towel - literally. We had to ask him for a 2nd towel. He seemed unclear how to go about this task and ultimately took one from a vacant adjoining room. The room was rather warm and we asked about air-conditioning. He looked all around the room for the thermostat and then announced he wasn't sure if this room had AC. Oh, then he spotted a vent in the ceiling and said yes, it did have AC but when he looked around a 2nd time and couldn't find a control, he announced it indeed did not have AC. Weird to say the least. This room was the equivalent of $250/nt. for the 2 of us. There was a slight problem with the rate from when we checked out to when we originally made the reservation. We got some line about this being Europe and it's not exactly like it is in the US. Thanks for that. We lived in Italy for 2 years and trust me, I know ALL about Europe not being like the US. I felt like the front staff just sort of made it up as they went. This high rate didn't even include breakfast - that was another $18/pp. So I can't comment on the quality/quantity of breakfast. Lobby was extremely small and difficult to manuveur around with very many people and luggage. No Wi-Fi and didn't see a business center. To do over again, I would probably check out the Hilton Basel hotel that was across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
24
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stok-on-trent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

a lovely hotel and good access for the train station/buses/trams we were given a pass for the duration of our stay to use on the local transport which we found great as the transport was just around the corner.hotel quiet even though on a main road but had quadruple glazing buffet breakfast was basic but adequate.we found eating out was a bit pricy but expect to pay more as you are in swtizerland.would stay at this hotel again as staff were very helpfull and polite.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I have stayed here a couple of times during March 2009. Whist the hotel has no frills, it is comfortable and considerably quieter than many of the other hotels I have stayed in in this part of Basel. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there are some good bars and restaurants within just a few minutes walk. There is a breakfast room on the top floor of the hotel which serves a good breakfast.
Ideal if you are here on business or just passing through Basel, and just want a no nonsense hotel for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hi, my girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel in October after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, there is nothing wrong with it but how is it a 4* Hotel? The rooms are small but ok, the staff are friendly enough but not exceptional as others seem to think, but the main thing is there is no bar or restaurant. If you want a place to stay that is reasonably priced and well located then this is the place for you, if you want anything else then this hotel is not the place. Basel as a whole is a nice place, but about as dull as the rest of Switzerland, excl Zurich! (I live here so put this in just to wind the Swiss up).

  • Liked — 42
  • Disliked — No Bar!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We have just returned from our first trip to Basel and stayed in this hotel. Great location bus from the airport stops outside and it is across the road from the main train station. The tram stop is also outside and only two stops from the central area of Basel. Hotel is very comfortable, hairdryer, mini bar. Staff very helpful and friendly a small hotel but all you need for a city break. Breakfast is good and the coffee excellent. I would go back to this hotel again, great been beside the train station if you want to take a day up to Zurich or anywhere for that matter. Also the hotel gives you a free pass for the trams and buses for your stay !!!

  • Liked — it was very centreal
  • Disliked — quiet nosiy as room faced onto the main street
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Q Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Q Metropol Hotel

Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
#20 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Q Metropol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and personal atmosphere in ourmodern, centrally-located Boutique-Hotel - only a few steps away from the main railway station (SBB) and airport-shuttle. Shopping centre, exhibition square and cultural attractions are only a few steps away - free Free ticket for tram and bus for hotel guests ! All rooms are soundproofed and state-of-the-art (highspeed WiFi, sat-TV, kettle to make tea and coffee). Petit Salon with business corner. Magnificient view across Basel in the breakfast room at the 8th floor - the perfect start to the day ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Q Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Q Metropol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.