We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there were a 6, I would give it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropol Hotel Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Metropol Hotel Basel to your Saves list
Metropol Hotel Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If there were a 6, I would give it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff, excelent.
Location, excelent, walking distance from train station and airport shuttle.
Rooms and value, EXCELENT.
breakfast, outstanding.
Easy to catch trams to visit city.
Several nice restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

In fine - thank you very much for your compliments !

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again for your next stay in Basel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us personally in case of any needs or wishes during your stay.

Wishing you all the best until then
- Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    71
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
25
14
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice hotel, not 4 stars but much better that 3 stars. Very good location 2-minutes walk from railway station. Really good price for such room including breakfast. Faboulous view from the terrace during breakfast. In the same time very bad wi-fi, but exellent stuff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience during your stay.

We are happy to know that our price performance ratio has convinced you and are curious to understand what is missing, in your opinion, to earn the 4 stars.

Our new free WiFi access is highly appreciated from our guests and we are sorry to hear that you had some problems with the connection. It is our aim to meet our guests needs in all ranks and therefore, our staff is always happy to assist you.

Looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Basel, we wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Consistent and perfect in every dimension: Quality, organization and very reliable. Very friendly and competent staff and management. Superb and breakfast looking over the rooftops of basel.Very close to SBB and Tram hub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Andreas B.,

First of all we like to thank you for your loyalty in our hotel and of course for your compliments.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that our guests are satisfied with the work that our team is doing every day. We really appreciate that you took the time to comment your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Perfect location, great view, and in walking distance to everything. The staff went out of their way to make sure we would have everything we could possibly need during our stay. The room was spacious and breafast was great. I look forward to staying there on my next trip to Basel.

Room Tip: If you are are visiting during the hot summer months and are used to having a/c, you can request to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we apologize for the delay in our answer. We thank you very much for your long stay with us and your time to rate it.

It makes us proud, that we could made you feel at home during the 2 weeks of your business in Basel and of course we forwarded your compliments as well to our staff.

Certainly it would be a great pleasure for us to host you again during your next stay in Basel.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I was in Basel for business. I stayed at the hotel twice during my visit (I had to go to another city for a few days in between). Both times I was upgraded without requesting it and at no charge. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The hotel is 1 minute walk from where the bus to the airport departs and 7-10 minute walk from the old town. Great hotel for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Jeremiah,

Many thanks for your time to rate your stay with us but overall that you were our guest.
Of course we really enjoyed your comment and forwarded it as well to our staff.

Whenever we have the possibility and availability, we try to make our guests happy with a free upgrade and since 1 week now we dispose furthermore of completely new renovated rooms in our “Quality” category.

We hope to welcome you again for a next time in Basel and wishing you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was my second time at this property. I was surprised when they recognized that I had stayed here previously (2 yrs ago) and had all my info on file. This is a great location in Basel, right beside the train/tram station and close to the KunstMuseums. The hotel provides a free pass for the bus/tram for the length of your stay which is fantastic to get around the city. I wish every hotel would do this!
Likes: Breakfast is on the 8th floor with a great view of the city; location; free bus/tram pass; and very friendly and helpful staff (except for one older staff member serving the breakfast, ouch! she was a person with issues).
Dislikes: Not a lot of great restaurants in Basel, and the food tends to be very expensive; no irons in the facility (but they will send things out to get pressed if you ask at the desk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Geschäftsführer at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and your positive comments regarding the facilities at our hotel as well as the compliments to our staff. Our guests recommendations are always helpful in improving the service wherever possible.

It is of big pleasure to understand that you liked our breakfast room at the upper floor with its great view over the city and the Basel area. We attach great importance to the quality of our breakfast buffet and the service at the breakfast room should be equal. A staff member with issues is not the kind of quality and service you may expect at our hotel and we therefore deeply apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us personally for any other information or request. We will be pleased to get in contact with you and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff very friendly,helpful and multilingual hotel bang in centre of Basel at main tram hub and railway station . Rooms very quiet (much better than others I've stayed in further out from centre) this hotel is in a narrow building and feels a bit small, but very well maintained, clean and bright throughout and small breakfast area on top floor gives nice views over city. Breakfast was good and overall I was pleasantly surprised that an hotel in such a central location next to the main tram and train hub could be so quiet
Never stayed here before but certainly now on my list of hotels to use when I visit Basel (which is quite often)
Also good value for money, AND prices not inflated when conferences are on in city -unlike the majority of other hotels who regularly double or triple their prices during main conferences
I'll certainly recommend to my colleagues and will be back myself

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle T, Sales & Marketing at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your stay with us and of course for your time to rate it.
It goes without saying that we are really pleased that you enjoyed the time in our hotel and would be very glad to welcome you again as our guest.
For sure we belong to the smaller hotels in Basel with 46 rooms on 8 floors, but this fact assure as well a more individual service for our guests and allows us to treat the wishes or even concerns and proposals faster.
As a business hotel we offer constant corporate rates for companies, which are available the most time of the year.
We are, as well personally, there for you to inform you about the advantages and conditions.
All the best for you – Yours Hotel Metropol Team
p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropol Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Basel

Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropol Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and unique atmosphere in this modern city hotel, centrally located at the SBB / SNCF train station and close to the Air Terminal (bus shuttle to the EuroAirport). With us, you have a quick access to Basel's diversity: The exhibition square, the old town and the "Basler Munster" (cathedral), museums, theater, shops and cultural attractions are only a few steps away and can be reached in a very short time. All our guests can use the public transportation for free, with the Mobility Ticket valid throughout your stay. A friendly ambiance ensures that you feel at home in our modern non-smoking hotel. Whether for a business or leisure stay: The 46 design rooms (all as a single or double occupancy available) in the "Economy", "Style", "Comfort" and "First" categories, are soundproofed and offer a high level of comfort. Have a snack in our lobby, where we are pleased to offer you the famous "Basler Lackerli" and organic apples from a regional producer. Start your day relaxed with our "breakfast buffet with panoramic view" which offers local products in the winter garden on the 8th floor. We look forward to welcoming you! Isabelle Tanachian, Holger Brombacher & your cheerful Metropol team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropol Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropol Hotel Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.