We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blumenrain 8, Basel 4001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here by myself when I was in Basel for a conference. What a great hotel! It was historic and beautiful, with excellent service. Everyone was so nice. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. I stayed in a single room, and it was still quite spacious. I really appreciated the complimentary minibar. The shower was great and had excellent water pressure...a rare find in an old hotel!

While definitely not an inexpensive hotel, it was actually cheaper than the hotels recommended by the conference organizers (conference was at Congress Center Basel, which was about a 10-15 minute walk). I paid a little extra for the riverview single room, which was really nice because it was right on the river and even had a nice little balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Madam

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel. We are pleased that you preferred and have chosen our house over other recommended hotels.

We are very happy to read that you could enjoy your stay in a spacious single room with river view. All our rates include the free minibar as well as our rich breakfast buffet.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    42
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
149
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nimes, France
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This has to be one of the best run hotels in the world. Service is impeccable. They seem to learn your name by magic - they are charming and the service is unbelievably efficient.
Rooms are a little old fashioned despite the refurbishment a few years ago and the yellow wallpaper was a mistake but everything works, the beds are extraordinarily comfortable and the bathrooms generously sized with a real tropical rain shower.

Supper on the terrace with the summer special cocktails and lots of nibbles was very good though the food was just good.

The breakfast buffet was superb apart from the tea made from teabags - loose leaves would be better in a hotel of this class

Room Tip: In summer the riverside rooms give a great view of people floating down the Rhine in their hundreds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback concerning your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Your compliment that we are one of the best run hotels in the world makes us very proud.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that your time in Basel was enjoyable during those days.

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your remark regarding our tea service as all kind of comments are crucial for us in order to evaluate and improve our services continuously.

Please be ensured that we will work on our tea service.We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

perfectly located, outstanding services, as soon as you arrive be pampers by the valet parking, then the outstanding welcome from the reception, and good tips form the concierge, then enjoy perfect room, with breathtaking view on the Rhein river good isolation despite old style, and perfect breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for high floor to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and pampered from the beginning on in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially the service of our front employees, your hotel room, the view overlooking the Rhein and the breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This amazing hotel is what 5 star ratings are all about! Everything was perfect and the downstairs bar is the perfect place to sip some wine, gaze at the river and marvel at everything great in Basel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sir

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased that you praise our hotel in such a favourable way. It is a pleasure for us to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that you took pleasure in our bar.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last minute booking made based on recommendation from a friend and what a find!
Delightful room overlooking the river which given the heavy rain which we'd been driving through was in full flow and quite a spectacle.
Very comfortable bed and possibly one of the best showers experienced in a hotel.
We didn't dine in the restaurant however breakfast was superb, only wish we could have stayed longer but we had to drive back to the UK.
Staff were superb - very genuine welcome given by reception staff, concierge provided a good dining suggestion and thanks in particular to Alan helping with luggage and directions out of the city avoiding the many roadworks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have booked our hotel following a recommendation and that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your time here in Basel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. Indeed it is always nice and motivating for the whole Les Trois Rois Team, more than ever to Alan, to receive such a lovely feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon – maybe for a longer stay. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly staff throughout the hotel, great setting, wonderful clean and comfortable. The room was excellent. I often have a backache when not sleeping in my own bed, but not here. Great mattresses and pillows, great AC which worked without making a noise. AC and floorheating can be controlled via a touchscreen. There was one of those excellent automatic waterfountain toilets. A wonderful shower with ample power and very nice smelling shower gel and shampoo. Free minibar with a nice selection of drinks. A great B&O TV which can be used as a radio which is amplified in the shower area.
Sadly, I didn't try either the swimming pool or the spa, but I've been to the bar often before and I can say that's excellent.
Lastly, the breakfast is certainly the best I've ever (or at least a very long time) had in a hotel. Large buffet selection, wonderful cappucinos, a great choice of cheeses and and and...
All this of course comes at a cost but that's to be expected.
Great stay.

Room Tip: The nice view is towards the rhine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your detailed description and the nice feedback of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with our facilities and that your time with us in Basel was an enjoyable one.

We share your praise with all our staff members as it will be our motivation to convince you again during your next stay at our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Let me start by saying - this is the only hotel I've ever stayed at that deserves a perfect rating.

I'll start with service. Service is perfection! I have stayed at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois on three occasions and most recently in December 2012. Every member of the staff from the bell men, concierge, front desk, housekeeping, dining room, bar staff (you get the message), treats the customer as if each and every guest is special and deserving of special attention. Every member of the staff is professional, yet genuinely warm and hospitable. Every member of the staff seems to take pride in their work, in the hotel, and in everything that they do. While I can cite examples everyone, I will pick one - the housekeeping staff. As part of the hotel turn down service, the housekeeping staff doesn't just turn the bed down. They entire room is prepped, lights are dimmed, shades are drawn, the bed throw is folded and put away, water and a piece of chocolate put out, but what blew my mind was that the bathroom was tidied including new towels and removal of empty water bottles and a few items of my clothing which we left out were folded. This was above and beyond any expectation that I've ever had.

The rooms are beautiful. While they can bit a bit smaller by US standard, they are in line with european hotel standards. The treatments and furniture are antique style and beautiful. My favorite part of the room is the stereo that you can play in the bathroom and the heated bathroom floors.

If you want a perfect drink - visit the bar. If the weather is nice, sit out on the terrace along the Rhine. I was once sitting with other guests and we ordered Old Fashion and declared that these were the most perfect old fashions that we had ever had.

I love the staff in the breakfast room. They are the best!

The Grand Hotel Trois Rois is an amazing hotel. I would return again and again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your detailed and pleasant review following to your stay in December 2012 with us at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team made your stay such an exceptional one.
We will share your answer with all our staff members as we strive to fulfil all our guests expectations and convince them of our services.

We do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Address: Blumenrain 8, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Basel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.