We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Le Plaza Basel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Messeplatz 25, Basel 4005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive benefits
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Basel
milano
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been in this hotel for work and I have to say that is one of the best solution in term of service and accommodation for business trip in Basel.
The people at the reception are really welcoming and nice in trying to do their best to guarantee a good stay in the hotel.
I was in a room at fifth floor, the furniture are new, chic and clean.
Wifi works well in the room and is included in room fee.
Breakfast is vary and good but it is not included in room fee. Continental breakfast cost 9,9 Swiss franc

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are delighted about your friendly words regarding our staff, your room and our breakfast. We have shared your feedback with the entire team, who wanted to pass on their gratitude.

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    121
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
64
25
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

From check in to check out the staff were helpful and courteous.
Our room was well appointed and the linen high quality and bed comfortable.
Full breakfast was very high standard with extensive buffet.
By joining the swissotel rewards programme we had free wifi on all devises.
Small friendly bar and large lounge with all day refreshments

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for just one night. We were warmly welcomed and we felt like home. The staff is supporting and efficiently helpful. We will definitely return to stay here. Traffic is a also convenient and room is better than expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted about your positive Feedback and have shared it with the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

While I like the personal feel of the Hotel Basel I also enjoy my stays here. The rooms are a good size, staff polite and a nice breakfast. Basel is an expensive city so while it appears expensive by UK standards I think pound for pound it is worth it. It is also rare that I wake up without being distrubed by hoovering somewhere BUT on this occasion I found myself on the top floor.
Great location for trams.

Room Tip: Ask to go to the sixth floor... you can only ask I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, value for money ! Quality above all !! I stayed there for a week and felt like home ! Room facilities were excellent, I really enjoyed my stay and hope to return soon !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Irene V

Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay here at the Swissôtel Basel. I especially appreciate your comments about our staff. They are our greatest assets and it is nice to have them acknowledged.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After a long flight from North Carolina, the Swissotel in Basel was a comforting relief for its friendly staff, complementary refreshing beverages & cookies, plush bedding and spectacular breakfast the next morning. The staff was quite attentive, providing numerous tourist options for our afternoon and graciously waived the late check-out fee on the following day for our departure. It was only a short walk to the bridge over the Rhine River to the old town section although the route there was a tour past lower quality retail establishments. Unfortunately, I was not impressed with Basel in general but was glad I had chosen the Swissotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here in Basel.

We are delighted about your positive opinion and will pass it on to our entire team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Swissôtel Basel.

With kind regards

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Courtesy is homely atmosphere: I had a very pleasant stay. Personnel is very well trained and motivated. Breakfast food and beverage in a great variety of selections with high quality viands. Mobility card they offered definitely very useful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Swissôtel Basel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially the breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. We share your answers with all our staff members as we strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to always provide the best service possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Swissôtel Basel very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

With kind regards

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25, Basel 4005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#8 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel is the largest hotel in the Basel area. Directly located at the fairgrounds and only a few minutes by foot from the river Rhine and the old town, it is the perfect venue not only for business travellers, but also for leisure guests.Our 238 stylishly appointed rooms are at least 25 sqm, which makes them the largest in town. The hotel’s facilities include the modern ô bar and the restaurant Grill25. Basel’s first "Urban Grillroom" is all about perfect steaks and fresh fish. Vegetarian dishes are also available.All rooms are equipped with a large working desk with integrated adapters, ironing facilities and wired & wireless internet access. Additionally, Swissotel Le Plaza features a business corner with free internet access in the lobby. Our fitness area, Purovel Sport, offers state of the art fitness equipment which also invites to relax in the sauna or enjoy a massage. Furthermore, our guests benefit from the Concierge service, which always has some insider tips, as well as from free parking on weekends and the Basel Mobility Ticket for free use of the public transportation system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.