We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schweizerhof Basel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Schweizerhof Basel Hotel to your Saves list
Schweizerhof Basel Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Centralbahnplatz 1, Basel 4002, Switzerland (St. Alban)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Basel
1 review
“Definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a room facing the tram stop, yet there was no noise in the room.
Staff friendly and helpful, enjoyed the free soft drinks
I needed to use the train and trams so ideal location for me.

I did not have breakfast however plenty of opportunity to get coffee and rolls

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    125
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
94
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly check-in. Our experience was enhanced by fact our room was ready upon our extremely early arrival (7:00AM). THANK YOU!

Knowledgable and pleasant front desk staff. Asked about best money exchange (do it at the train station) and staff memeber was extremely helpful, I think the gentlemen might have walked us there if we asked.

Comfortable bed. Oversized shower. Fun amenities. Complimentary bottle of water.

Nice extras. Free public transit pass for duration of our stay was very much appreciated and unexpected. In addition, there are complimentary beverages on floors 2,3,4 (sparkling/still water; reg/diet coke; ice tea; orange juice, milk) Very nice touch!

Exellent location, less than 5 minute walk from train station.

Doors lock at 1AM; have to ring to get access.

Overall: Excellent value and location. Highly recommend for business or holiday travel.

Can't comment on the breakfast, wasn't included in our rate but other reviewers seem pleased.

Room Tip: Room 106. Overlooked trams, was a bit noisey but didn’t matter, we where not in the room much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great hotel with free travel passes for the duration of your stay (including for the airport) and extremely helpful desk staff. Room very comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the location means you can ride on the trams to just about anywhere. Best night's sleep for ages in an extremely comfortable (latex?) bed with a light soft quilt. Hotel is easy to find just near the station ('SBB' - there are several stations) and bus 50 takes you to the airport in 17 minutes. Breakfast was really excellent - good coffee, excellent cheese and lots of fresh fruit and interesting bread. Definitely going back next time - overall stay was CHF 142 (about £98 at the time of writing) which isn't the cheapest.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the trams, get a room higher up.They didn't bother me on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here just for one night, it was a great hotel. Free passes for public transportation, we made reservations for parking but there wasspace in front of the hotel. They didn't charge us for the reservations. Very friendly at the reception desk. Free softdrinks for in the room. Next to central station but with the windows closed you don't notice a thing. We kept the windows open. The bed was good, but i prefer box spring instead of a wavelet bed base underneath the matras. WiFi worked great, you get a password for every device (how cool). Leila in the bar was very friendly too and told us about Basel. Breakfast was really very good, kofie is served whatever coffee you like and lots of choices....Italians complained about it (well we are in Italy right now....and they shouldn't complain about the breakfast in Basel, because it's five star compare with what we are having in Italy). We are coming back, thank you Schweitzerhof hotel.

Room Tip: Good price, next to central station, clean and excellent breakfast and very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed one night, but found it very well located, staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We kept our windows open, we enjoy hearing the sounds of life, could have shut out the noise if we wanted to! Very easy to walk into the centre of Basel and equally easy to catch the tram right outside the hotel doors. We were given a pass for free public transport travel for our time there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walenstadt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Basel for the Hodler exhibition. As we also visited friends, we needed an accomodation. Schweizerhof is situated very close to the main trainstation and therefore a nice place if you travel by public transport. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and with a nice balcony to smoke on. The beds are comfortable and the TV is very nice, as usually, they are far too small in hotels. The bathroom is clean and the shower is very big.
There is free mineral water and coffee in the room. It lacks a minibar, but drinks are served in the bar of the hotel and softdrinks are for free to get in a depot.
The breakfast buffet is very nice and offers a wide selection of food.
As the hotel is close to the tram station, it can be noisy, but rooms have very good windows, therefore I had no problem while sleeping.
I strongly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located just opposite the railway station, ideal for those arriving late by train. Noise is an obvious drawback, we had a room not facing the tram station, but it was not quiet either. Rooms have all amenities you need. Breakfast rather limited - not a big choice of vegetables. A bus /tram ticket valid all the way through the airport is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schweizerhof Basel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizerhof Basel Hotel

Address: Centralbahnplatz 1, Basel 4002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#13 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schweizerhof Basel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Schweizerhof Basel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schweizerhof Basel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.