We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay-Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Euler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Euler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Euler
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centralbahnplatz 14, Basel 4002, Switzerland (St. Alban)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Basel
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short Stay-Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

One night bed only stay as was leaving at 05:00 for early flight, so I have no basis for comment on the food. My room was facing the back of the hotel no external noise at all. The room (105) was very nice, roomy, with a large well light en-suite. Excellent bed, nice firm matress. One of my colleagues was in a room facing the street and didn't get a great nights sleep (this was the night of the Brazil match, so trams & train-station may have been busier than the norm), easy resolution is to request a back room when booking. Excellent base if you are in Basel for business travel, for us its a 'keeper'.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-France R, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler Guest
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards.
Marie-France Richert
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    111
    36
    11
    14
See reviews for
14
83
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Euler on a business trip to Switzerland. We were visiting a company in a small town about 40-minutes outside of Basel and decided to stay in Basel near the train station. This hotel was right next to the station. My room was on the first floor facing the street, so the tram was passing right by my window... I was a little concerned about the noise when I first walked into the room, but I heard very little noise even with the window open and close to nothing when it was closed. My colleague stayed at the other side of the building, facing a small garden in the back and didn't hear anything. The room was modern and spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were additional nice touches, like the heated towel rack in the bathroom and the ultra-modern shower (complete with rain-head and body jets). I didn't hear or feel any floor creaking (mentioned by other reviewers). In fact, I didn't even notice that the building was old.
I had breakfast at the hotel and it was adequate; I also ate lunch there once and it was delicious. The hotel gave us free tram passes, which we used to go to the city center; we also took the tram to the airport at the end of our trip… It was very convenient. I would use Hotel Euler again if I go back to Basel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job.
Best regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a large room in this lovely old hotel. Comfortable bed, large bath good air conditioning! The location was excellent ...across from the train station and close to town. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We were given a tram pass and good direction on how to reach the areas of interest. Actually. it would not have been a difficult walk. Restaurants were close by, too. We had a great day exploring Basel and some of its art centers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler-Guest
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again to the Hotel Euler. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have used this hotel twice now and have found it an excellent stay! It has good rooms at good prices and the service is excellent. Breakfast is a little limited but for the price its all in all an excellent hotel and I will be using the Euler on many more trips to Basel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler-Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Hopefully see you soon in Basel. Kind regards.
Daniel Fankhauser, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel Euler met every expectation of a 4 star hotel and then some. The room was traditional classic with high ceilings and large windows. The bathroom was thoroughly modern with all the latest fixtures. A "K" single cup coffee maker was in the hall 24/7 for that quick jolt of caffeine. The bed was the newer pillow type and extremely comfortable. The service staff was impeccable and very friendly.

There is also location. Immediately out the front door is the main trolley center and just across the street is the main train station. Both make it incredibly easy to get around Basel and nearby environs. My initial concern about street noise ceased the moment I closed the window in our room.

But one item stood out above all. My wife became ill, serious enough to require medical attention. After indicating that we could walk a short distance, the front desk immediately assigned an employee to escort us to a nearby urgent care clinic. The escort also brought an umbrella in the event of rain. That extraordinary step brought instant relief from possible stress of finding medical attention in a foreign country. Kudu’s to their alert and attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler-Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Substantively speaking, this is an expensive historical hotel. Staying in historical hotels can prove interesting and appealing. Such is not the case here.

The dated furnishings and noisy, creaking floors and such - could be thought of perhaps quaint and even overlooked.

Yet the most distinguishing and substantive memory of this place will always be the hostility and rudeness of the staff.

I've stayed in hotels throughout the world and have never experienced such incredibly rude desk clerks at reception.

Substantive suggestion: Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-France R, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler-Guest
Thank you for your review, even if not really positive for us. We apologize for the inconvenience you had. However we see it as a chance to improve our service and quality, if we can learn out of your critique. We are sorry you did not like our furniture and the floors, which are creaking sometimes, it is correct. But for a Hotel built in 1867 this is not really amazing.

What we are mostly surprised of is that you say our staff is unfriendly. As in almost all reviews, where our staff is mentioned, they are described as helpful, friendly, good language knowledge. I would very much appreciate if you could give me (mf.richert@hoteleuler.ch) more details who served you so badly. Thank you very much in advance for you help.
Kind regards.
Marie-France Richert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked in here as our final stay on our trip around Switzerland.

Have to say - couldnt have been better!!

We arrived by train and the Hotel is just outside train station......Bonus.

All staff in the Hotel are extremely polite and helpful. Hotel itself for me was perfect, rooms are very nice and very clean.

Free coffee machine on each floor was a nice touch too.

If you are flying back home from Basel, then the bus/tram pass that the hotel provides covers the Airport bus too (which happens to stop just outside the hotel).

Its really nice to sit outside the Hotel with a drink and do some people watching, very relaxing.

Starbucks, McDonalds, Burger King and a CO-OP all a few steps away if you want snacky stuff.

Trams are also outside the hotel, so plenty of sightseeing with your free pass. The trams didnt bother us at all from the room, but may be a problem for some light sleepers.

I do like nice Hotels and for our 2 day stay this was perfect, everything we could have wished for.

Room Tip: As someone else suggested, ask for a back room if you think tram noise will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Euler, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler Guest
Thank you for your great review. We are proud of our employees who every day make a great job.
Best regards
Daniel Fankhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Euler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Euler

Address: Centralbahnplatz 14, Basel 4002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Euler 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Euler was built in 1867 by Abraham Euler and is one of the earliest tributes to high-end hospitality in Europe. Since 1981 it has belonged to the Manz Family. This elegant four stars superior hotel was completely refurbished in May 2008 in a modern style, still keeping the traditional elegance of a grand hotel. It has 66 rooms, 6 of which are junior suites. All rooms offer the highest in comfort and modern technology and combine modernity with tradition and design. The Euler restaurant and bars combine seasonal specialities with classic traditional dishes and cater to all needs, from a hearty breakfast to a fast business lunch to a cosy candle light dinner. In the summer time the Euler Terrace is one of Basel’s main meeting points, for a quick coffee or an aperitif. A Starbucks coffee shop on premises completes the food and beverage offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Euler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euler Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Euler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.