We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhywyera

Rhywyera
Unterer Rheinweg 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland
+41(0)61 6833202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 413 Restaurants in Basel
Restaurant details
Seattle
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant overlooks the river, in a quiet location. The staff were very gracious, and although the menu was small, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The cost was reasonable for the quality.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We dined at Rhywyera last night, and had a wonderful experience. The setting is fabulous, looking across the Rhine to the Old City. The service was friendly and competent. The menu was diverse and interesting. My wife and I started by sharing a beautifully plated beef carpaccio, and then had lamb chops with polenta and chopped vegetables, and a sautéed Arctic char served over ratatouille. We ended the meal with a delicious lemongrass panna cotta with mango sauce. Everything was beautifully plated. We had glasses of a reasonably priced Swiss pinot noir. All in all, a great dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Eclectic interior, great food, fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This cosy place right on the border of the Rhein has a very eclectic interior. On the walls there all kinds of art (the owner, I believe, is a collector). The food is very good and the service very friendly. It's located very close to the Hotel Merian (see review). It's one of the places I have been several times and I was never dissapointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely service, perfect views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant is not to be missed if you appreciate great fresh food, professionally prepared and presented, excellent service, well-priced wines, in the most lovely convenient location in the centre of town. It is just across the bridge facing the Hotel Trois Rois.
We were two for dinner (it was a Monday but the restaurant was full), and were greeted with a big smile by a lovely hostess. There is a room downstairs as well as a quieter room up the stairs, with windows on two sides of the room giving onto beautiful views of the Old Town. The quieter room upstairs worked out well. The photographs of the restaurant on their website are true to the reality. The walls had interesting lithographs and the whole room had a lovely glow, very romantic.
Other diners I think were basel-residents.
Food was absolutely delicious and the best meal we had in Basel. We started with asparagus which was in season, they were sweet and boiled just right, with a delicious hollandaise sauce that we mopped up with the home-made brown bread. Second courses were beef, and yummy, crunchy super-fresh grilled prawns with linguine on the side with mixed crunchy veg.
Our swiss red wines were very reasonably priced and went beautifully with the food.
The service was attentive, discreet, professional and friendly.
The whole evening could not have been more enjoyable, and memorable. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine came to a very fair CHF 125 before tips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little gem at the Rhine bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very cosy little restaurant. Menu is upscale (classic French cuisine with some mediterranean bits), and food is delicious. Good wine menu too. The terrace is slightly wind protected, and when it is cooler you can sit inside - glass wall closable. Still the location is very good, we even started the evening by arriving by Rhyfähri (the little ferry going every few hundreds of metres from side to side).
The service team is friendly and seems to have fun, are doing an individual and informal service rather then stiff high class attendance. Interior is a good mix between Greek-style tavern and modern design, you feel fine in a suit as well as casually dressed.
Definitely will be back for some fine dinner - good with friends, family, on business (rather small though) or for a date.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhywyera also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Rhywyera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhywyera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.