We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well it is not rated 3 star for nothing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basilisk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Basilisk Hotel to your Saves list
Basilisk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klingentalstrasse 1, Basel 4005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“well it is not rated 3 star for nothing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It is about as low a rating as you can have a hotel without being a back packers so it is what it is. The staff give a much higher rated service than 3 star however. They are friendly and helpful and do go the extra mile. The rooms are very small and basic and have not been touched since the 70's .... as we expected. Someone had mentioned a 'lavish breakfast'. It is absolutely not lavish. A couple of different breads, mostly stale, a few cereal options yoghurt and fruit. No hot options and nothing of amazing quality, all average including the coffee, yet that is poor all over this part of Europe. The breakfast room staff on the other hand are very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
5
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Reasonable value for money, we had a nice sized room but the beds were poor quality and hard as were the pillows, my wife got bitten by something! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. Hotel for the travelling salesman (sorry salesmen). It's OK but not great and there afe far better in Basel but were booked.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the double rooms on the front corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful North
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with it – - the rooms are clean, secure and a good price for Basel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and warm, even when it was -4 degrees outside.

However, it really is a ‘no frills’ hotel, apparently not refurbished for several decades.
Single beds are becoming a rarity in hotels these days, possibly due to guests becoming larger. Manufacturers of single beds, fear ye not. The single bed tradition is still going strong at this hotel.

At first I thought there was no washbasin in the room, as it definitely wasn'’t in the small ensuite shower room. However, I chanced upon it when I was putting my clothes away -– it'’s cunningly hidden inside a closet opposite the shower room.

Tip - there’s a basic pull-down shutter outside the window to help block out light and noise, which I also found handy to stop my carrier bag of food (AKA makeshift larder) falling down onto the street overnight.

There’s a small TV. I was somewhat disappointed to find no news programmes about the Watergate scandal, Cold War or oil crisis, as this would have perfectly completed the 1970’s ambience.
As it was, I had to console myself with drinking Liebfraumilch whilst lounging in my velvet flares.

I didn’t have any trouble with noise in the hotel, and slept very well.

One minor gripe: although there was a clear sign telling guests not to smoke in the room or risk a fine, someone had clearly enjoyed a lengthy cigarette session in there at some point.
I tried leaving the window open throughout the day, but even this didn'’t get rid of the smell. Maybe it was the spirit of 1973, lingering in the room.
I was slightly worried I’'d be blamed for the smell, but I wasn'’t. However, it might be worth mentioning to hotel reception if your room smells of smoke when you check-in.

Hotel Basilisk is situated in Klein Basel, about 5 minutes’' walk from Mittlerbruecke and the river, and about 3 minutes'’ walk to the nearest trams in Claraplatz. The trams are exactly as efficient and clean as you’'d expect in Switzerland, it’'s actually a pleasure to use them. It'’s only a few stops from Claraplatz tram stop to Basel Bad railway station, which is otherwise 30 mins
walk from the hotel. The airport is only about 3 miles away by road, though I’'d allow 45 minutes by public transport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASEL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed in a single room for one night only. Room was ok, although it looked like as if I had travelled back in time to the 70s. I was looking for a cheap place to stay, so I didn't expect much. Everything was clean and staff were very frienldy, so I was happy and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

As most of hotels were fully booked we ended with 3 persons in this hotel, in de centre of Basel. Underground car parking 100m. Late arrival, reception was OK. Elevator was clearly old and not up to date with current safeties. Room was rather small, as was tv, but everything was clean and silent over night. Breakfast was very good, nice assortment of swiss cheeses, fruit juice and several kind of bread. If you only stay for a couple of nights hotel is OK, not recommended for longer stays.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at end of corridors, are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our very large group - including my family of 4 - stayed here for a week. It was a basic hotel.

On the plus side, it was very near a tram stop. This would take you anywhere and was very reliable. It was also very near shops including a couple grocery stores. This is helpful if you are traveling on a budget as Switzerland is expensive.

The hotel staff was extremely welcoming and wonderful. Our large group was very high maintenance, so they dealt with us well.

The breakfast was fine and what you would expect in Switzerland. (Buffet of boiled eggs, yogurt, cheeses and meats, fruit, bread, etc.) The coffee was good and the wait staff was friendly.

The rooms for our entire group varied in size. The two that my family had were adequate, especially for Europe. They weren't huge but definitely spacious enough. They were clean, which is really, really important to me. The beds had duvet covers, so you didn't have to worry about touching yucky bedspreads.

On the minus side, the carpet in the halls is shabby. The furnishings are more on the sparse side. There is no air conditioning and it could get warm in the rooms. If you opened your window at night, you could hear the activity on the streets below.

I was surprised that the rooms were as quiet as they were. My kids had a room at the top of the stairs near the elevator. It was always noisy in the hall. However, little noise seeped through to their room.

Would I stay there again? Probably. It was very convenient and overall, a good, basic hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator. It is the noisiest area. Also, ask about the room when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I spent a week at Hotel Basilisk in Basel.
The hotel is OK.
Parking fee in the garage across the street.
A 10-minute walk from the Convention Centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basilisk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilisk Hotel

Address: Klingentalstrasse 1, Basel 4005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Basilisk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Basilisk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilisk Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilisk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.