We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rheingasse 2, Basel CH-4005, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here one night on business, the room was very small, it felt like I could reach across the room and reach two walls. Having said that the room was clean and functional in a pretty convenient location, for heading out for dinner. The highlight was the breakfast - although it doesn't have as many options as other hotels I've stayed in, everything was very tasty. I would stay here again for business, and possibly a very short term vacation, but if you are looking for something longer than a few days, the room size would be an issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    94
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
80
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we stayed overnight for the winter market on the way to Strasbourg at the end of November. The hotel was easy to find, and pretty convenient for the city centre. It has a nice, old-fashioned feel to it. The trams outside were easy to use and the hotel provided a free tram pass.
Our room overlooked the river, small but clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a beer in the bar but didn't eat there. The breakfast, however, was very good indeed. Good value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I always like the old world smaller hotels.....the rooms are functional and clean and all that a business person needs when traveling alone.
the location is excellent and one can run/walk/bike right outside the front door along the north bank of the Rhein.
Staff are very friendly and helpful...almost scarily so :-)
It's worth the extra money for the river view...I was a cheapskate and got a 'city view'...the view wasn't the problem....the noise from the sleazy bar across the road at night was. It didn't stop until 3am on a Saturday night and was deafening... and I was on the fourth floor.....with ear plugs !
BTW lots of good little hidey-hole restaurants right across the bridge in the old town.
Lunch or dinner at Les Trois Rois is a must...billed as the oldest hotel in Europe !

Room Tip: river view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wwinchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very good location across the river from the old town great outside space if your visiting in the summer . A very friendly and comfortable hotel with lots of character .. particularly the dinning area (Note the Dinner finishes at 9.00pm !) Great River views ..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed there for a work conference and was super thrilled. The room is pretty plain, but it was clean and efficient. The balcony looking over the Rhine was beyond expectations. Our first night there we had dinner, the venison platter shared by my colleagues. It was amazing!! Not what you would expect from a hotel restaurant. The breakfast everymore was delicious. The hotel is close to everything and the free bus pass made it even better. The staff was super gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

There is a lot I liked about the Merian, and I will discuss it below. But first let me tell why this is a 5-star review: they do a very simple thing that, for me, makes a world of difference. Thing is: most hotels have a refrigerator in the room where they put some bottles, and charge a ridiculously high price when the client drinks one of them. The Merian, instead, treats guest as intelligent people they care for: any of the non-alcoholic drinks in the refrigerator are free. Believe me, I drank some during my stay and was not charged. I hope the Merian is a trend-setter.

The service and the attention to the client are a strong point of the Merian: all the support I needed, from scheduling a taxi to more involved help, went very well. As an example, the hotel does not have a fitness center, but they provide clients with a free voucher to very good gym located in the vicinity.

But then the first thing you will probably notice is the great location of the hotel, close to the river, right by the Mittlere Brücke, the most charming bridge of Basel from where you get the best view of the Münster. The picture that Trip Advisor selected to represent Basel was taken from the point of view of the Merian. You will find all kinds of restaurants and shops a short walk from the hotel.

The rooms are small but very convenient. Remember to ask for the voucher for free public transportation during your stay. Many tram lines have a stop right at the corner and will let you go confortably to your destinations.

Room Tip: Select a room by the riverside (for a cost) for the view, or get a better value by selecting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is right on the Rhine River - easy to walk and see the old part of the city - many attractions and restaurants close by. The restaurant in the hotel offered an excellent breakfast. We had dinner there one evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Do ask for a room with a view of the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein

Address: Rheingasse 2, Basel CH-4005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merian Am Rhein Hotel Basel
Best Western Basel
Basel Best Western
Best Western Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.