We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rheingasse 2, Basel CH-4005, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Latham, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and stayed here for four nights and we agree with the other reviews that the best thing about this hotel is the location. It's on the banks of the Rhine and the Old Town is only a few minutes away over the bridge. Get a room with a view of the Rhine if you can - it's worth the extra money. The rooms were comfortable although a bit small. The staff were helpful and spoke English well, and we both thought that the buffet breakfast was excellent. The only negative is the lack of AC, something the other reviewers also brought up. With the fan on and the windows open it wasn't too bad in late August but I can imagine in June and July it could get pretty warm.

Room Tip: Take a Rhine view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    98
    40
    14
    4
See reviews for
15
83
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Whenever I go to Basel for a weekend I am always staying at the Best Western Merian. It just has the best location right on the border of the Rhein, opposite the old town. It's really worth paying a little extra to get a room view river/city view. The breakfast is included and they serve a huge selection. The best way to start a day exploring a great city. And you get thepass for public transport for free while you are staying at the hotel. So you can park your car (they have a parking, a fee applies) and wander around the old town. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want to stay right on the Rhine, this hotel is perfect. We don't spend much time in our room, but when we do, we enjoy the balcony; watching the river traffic and the pedestrians below is delightful. The location is also super for walking to the Messe, the Munster, or the old town. The staff is most accommodating. The breakfast is outstanding, probably the best we've ever encountered! We've stayed here many times and have not been disappointed. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify that you want a room with a river view. There is nothing special about being on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here while at a conference in Basel. Great location right on the river but easy walking distance to the Congress Centre and to the old town (across the bridge). A bit pricy but cheaper than all the hotels that were recommended by the conference centre. Nice bar overlooking the river and a good continental breakfast - lovely selection of breads, cheses and cold meats and perhaps the best scrambled eggs I've ever had from a hotel breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view rather than city view - especially in the summer as there is no a/c although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in a river view room. Rooms are small but practical. WiFi required a voucher and fresh login every time you need internet. I guess access could be better managed. Breakfast offer great selection of cheeses, scrambled eggs, good bread, yoghurt and cereals. Staff is very helpful and the location on the Rhine near the city center and all tram lines is very convenient.

Room Tip: Get a river room. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I only ate at the restaurant so my review will not include hotel accommodation. I was attending a seminar and we were taken here to eat one evening. I was very impressed as the food was delicious, the waiters very courteous. And they also cater for special needs such a lactose free food, which was great. Am not sure whether you need to tell them in advance since this was all taken care of by the co-ordinator of the seminar.

Room Tip: If possible, and weather permitting there's seating outside, just overlooking the river. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed for a rew days when visiting Basel, had single occupancy of a twin room on first floor. Good rate for an expensive city. Located right on the river by the busy Mittel Bridge. No air conditioning is a serious short coming as small fan barely enough. Noisy for road and riverside especially with open window or on the balcony. Otherwise very comfortable clean, foam mattress, minibar and coffee machine. Breakfast included in rate was normal generous affair with terrase for dining and breakfast. Free wifi code.

Room Tip: Bounded by road and riverwalk so both noisy especially low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein

Address: Rheingasse 2, Basel CH-4005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merian Am Rhein Hotel Basel
Best Western Basel
Basel Best Western
Best Western Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.