We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Basel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Basel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Basel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From CHF 130
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived late at Basel Airport and Hertz had closed even though I had pre booked. Rang Hilton and they took me in late with an upgrade. Last minute booking was a little expensive but the usual Swiss efficiency prevailed. Great nights sleep, breakfast and conventient to the Basel SBB Train station to take my train into Germany the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to express your impressions of Hilton Basel. We are very fond to read that you enjoyed your last minute stay with us and appreciated efficiency, sleeping comfort and location. I hope you had a great journey in Germany after staying with us.
Once again thank you for your feedback. It would be a pleasure welcoming you again.

With best regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    149
    91
    26
    15
See reviews for
39
81
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The best is coming from the train and only 1 street to the Hilton. All of the staff made you feel like family. I was always able to check in no matter the time of day and they make all attempts to meet my needs. Improvements would be the beds- too hard! and having the fitness center open in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Hilton Basel. Your comments are very much appreciated as they help us to constantly improve the quality of our products and services. We have been pleased to read that you enjoyed helpfulness and service provided by our staff.

On the other hand we deeply apologise for the inconveniences caused regarding comfort of bed and opening hours of health club. We can provide an additional comforter upon your next stay with us to improve sleeping quality. Regarding health club opening hours we nicely ask for your understanding that our pool is rented out to swim classes to support local sport & swim clubs in the mornings. However we are currently reviewing options to improve customer service in this matter.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your inputs. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Basel or to any of our properties.

With best regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night whilst en route to Germany. Took the number 50 bus from the airport (a fifteen minute ride) to the SBB railway station (Bahnhof Basel). The hotel, situated in the city centre, is a two minute walk away. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Room perfectly adequate - two free bottles of water were available. Breakfast was the usual international buffet - but well presented and the staff were very helpful. On the negative side, it's unfortunate that the Hilton chain still charge for internet access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing down your impressions about your visit at Hilton Basel. We feel very fortunate to know that our location, staff friendliness, welcoming atmosphere, room facilities and breakfast buffet was to your satisfaction. Your appreciation will be communicated to our team members because they are always very happy that their efforts are very much recognised. On the contrary we apologise that internet price did not meet your expectations. We are expecting that prices of internet and access for guests will change within the next update of standards. We kindly ask for your understanding that we are bound to currently valid standards.
Please let me express our appreciation again that you have taken the time to share your thoughts. Our team is looking forward welcoming you again and meanwhile we remain

With best regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel lives to Hilton standards. The hotel itself is showing some of its age but it is well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and the restaurant food is satisfactory yet a bit expensive, though not over the expected Basel prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have shared your inputs regarding your stay at Hilton Basel and want to thank you for your feedback. From your comments and rating it is visible that you enjoyed your stay and we are pleased to recognise that hotel maintenance, room comfort, restaurant atmosphere and food quality was to your satisfaction. Our team member will be informed about your response since such positive reviews are very rewarding for them.

Thank you again for your impressions. We do hope to greet you again soon as one of our dear guests and remain

With kind regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Again I stayed there. To have a relaxing evening I booked Executive room. Sadly Executive Lounge during week now also get closed at 20.00 hrs. So If you wanna have just a coffee, a water or sit not in room you have no choice, go in Hotelbar or outside. No Chance to stay in Lounge anymore and read newspaper, talk with someone or watch tv. I slept very good beds are really good. Tramways outside you do not hear. In Executive rooms you get 2 bottle of water, no fruits, Internet is expensive and not inculded in executive package. Think I payed too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your thoughts about your stay at our property. Recognising your scores we are pleased to know that you were again satisfied regarding cleanliness, sleeping quality, service, room and location. However we apologise for any inconveniences in reference to opening hours of executive lounge and it is to our regret that value for price did not meet your expectations completely. If there is anything else we can do for you to make your next stay even better, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

We are looking forward welcoming you again at Hilton Basel as one of our dear guests and remain

With kind regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Nadine.schmidt@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is not the most attractive in Basel but is in a great location next to the SBB station. It offers great value with good service and all the usual Hilton amenities. The rooms are clean and of a good size with nice views over the city. The pool is very nice with drinks and snacks served by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to express your thoughts about your recent stay at Hilton Basel. Thank you for your appreciation regarding location, value for price, amenities as well as cleanliness and pool facilities. Please rest assured that your feedback will be forwarded to our team as such positive remarks are great recognition for them.

Again said we are very thankful for your feedback and would be pleased to accommodate you and your family again soon at Hilton Basel or any other Hilton property.

With best regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I find the standard of Hilton hotels gradually declining. The notable good points were the service and the location. Guests receive a pass for free use of the city's trams which is great. The rooms are small and dated and the beds are quite uncomfortable. The swimming pool is good and heated to a comfortable temperature. I found the restaurant staff to very very accommodating and the restaurant itself is well-decorated. However, I did find the food somewhat underwhelming and not particularly appetising - the breakfast was random to say the least and failed to impress. For the quality the hotel and its food are overpriced - this certainly wasn't my idea of a luxury hotel and I feel that this hotel would be more suited to a 4 star rating - I think it's current 5 star rating is not only unjustified but also misleading. There's nothing particularly bad about the hotel though and I would recommend it if you can find a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding Hilton Basel. We are pleased to recognise that quality of service, location, mobility ticket, pool and helpfulness of restaurant staff were to your complete satisfaction.

On the other hand your points concerning food presentation and breakfast offering will be discussed with our executive chef to improve quality immediately. We deeply apologise that we were not able to fulfil your expectations in regards of nourishment as well as value for price. Please kindly be informed that your inputs about room atmosphere and general impression will be sent to our owners to be taken up for future planning.

Thank you again for your thoughts. We would be glad to greet you again upon you next visit in Basel.
With kind regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Basel

Address: Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Basel
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Basel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful city of Basel, Hilton Basel is within walking distance to the central railway station and city airport public shuttle terminal. The Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Exploring Basel is easy, as we offer complimentary public transport tickets to our guests staying at the hotel. After a day of sightseeing or working in multi-cultural Basel, we invite you to our cosy restaurant Wettstein and our bar with a great selection of international and Swiss specialities as well as delicious daily buffet. Our guests may relax or work out in the fitness area, indulge in a massage or refresh at the indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basel Hotel Basel
Hilton International Basel
Basel Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.