We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another century” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Basel to your Saves list
Hilton Basel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4051, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Another century”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I could not believe how poor this hotel was. Rooms are poorly appointed, clearly suffering from the passing of time, was this hotel ever refurbished? Service is below what you would expect when you see the bill, they are more concerned with collecting your 30+ CHF for a lousy buffet breakfast than providing a good service. The exec lounge is small, tables cannot fit the morning paper and you can feel your neighbor's breathe. Just add a few CHF and stay at Les Trois Rois on the Rhine.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to be informed, that your expectations have not been met during your stay. We apologise for all inconveniences caused regarding rooms, service, breakfast and executive lounge. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our department managers to take action for improvement.

Thank you for writing down your impressions. All our guests inputs are valuable for us and very much appreciated.

With best regards,

Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    182
    111
    31
    17
See reviews for
56
104
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Kind staff with a very service minded attitude, making you feel welcome and at home, excellent executive lounge, perfect diner, spacious rooms, well located, nicely furnished, perfect swimmingpool, the conference facillities are state of the art. Perfect for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for publishing your feedback regarding your stay at Hilton Basel. It is very rewarding to know that you completely enjoyed your time in Basel with our service and facilities such as rooms, restaurant, executive lounge and swimming pool. Most of all the helpfulness and attitude of staff are very important for us to make our guests feel home away from home. It is very great to know that you confirm excellent hospitality and a welcoming atmosphere.

We are looking forward to your next visit at our property. Thank you again for your comment.

With best regards from Basel,

Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I used my points to book the room.
The hotel is perfectly located, near the central station, beside large roads, fantastic for getting there by car, by cab, by train. The central station is the heart of the bus/trams ways and from there you can reach any other location in Basel.
On top, the concierge gave me a couple of metro bus/tram tickects valid the lenght of the stay. Much better to use the public transportation system, with an eye to the environement.
The is a very comfortable underground parking for cars, connected to the hotel with a lift.
I stood with my wife at the last floor, executive floor, the 8th, quite large room #812, fully equipped (ok, the tv connections are dated but who cares), with bathrobe flip flops and so on. Queen bed not bad at all (in other Hiltons you can set your comfort soft level but it is not so necessary to me), I ordered our dinner to eat in room, very nice service.
For the guest at the executive floor, a room with snacks drinks and breakfast is at disposal 7 or 8 am to 11pm, at no extra cost. Breakfast is complete, from salmon, ham, salami, scrambled eggs, bread, corn flakes, juices, coffe...
Employees kind, smiling. a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is great for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and were fond of location, guest services, city mobility ticket, executive floor, room amenities and breakfast as well as team helpfulness. We will share your report with our staff to emphasise that their efforts are very much appreciated by our guests.

Again thank you for writing down your comment. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further queries regarding your past stay or future visits at Hilton Basel. We are looking forward welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Let's start with the unacceptable: there is wi-fi in the rooms... but it's paying (15 CHF/day, approx. 12 euros). I find this outrageous, bordering on the offensive: I'm OK to be charged for every additional service when I travel low-cost (Easyjet etc), not when I stay at the Hilton. I've stayed 3 times in this hotel over the last 3 years, and every year it's the same... They promised me by 2014 this should be fixed. Incidentally when you enter your room the first time there's a nice bottle of mineral water waiting for you, with a label "daily hydratation is imporant (or something to that extent) 9.50 CHF". I simply don't understand this attitude - most upper-range hotels I travel to in Europe offer one courtesy bottle to their guests.
Anyway: appart from that there's nothing to complain about. The rooms are not big, but well-fitted, clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom as well. The restaurant, the bar (and especially the excellent breakfast buffet) are very enjoyable. Staff efficient and friendly, most of them are trinligual at least (english, german, french).
The Hilton is 10 min away from the Basel city center (with museums and shops). The location, near the railway station, is OK but nothing to write home about either.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking towards the back of the hotel (i.e. not on Aeschengraben). You will lose the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments summarising your impressions of Hilton Basel and its facilities. We are sorry to recognise that extra charges such as internet and in-room water did not meet your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences caused. On the other hand we are very fond to know that room, bathroom, restaurant, bar and - most of all - staff attitude met and exceeded your expectations. It is always very motivating for our team to recognise that their hard work is very much appreciated by our guests. We kindly inform you that free internet is currently part of Hhonors benefits for Gold and Diamond Member. However we are hoping that it will be free for all guests within the next review of Standards.

Again said we are grateful for your inputs. We are looking forward welcoming you again as one of our dear guests.

We wish you a wonderful and successful year 2013.

Kind regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations & Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

this is the worst hotel that i have stayed in over 20 years of business travel. the decor is old fashioned liske 1970s, service poor and prices expensive.
there are much better hotels in Basel that are also much cheaper - avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing down your feedback. We apologise for any inconveniences that may have been caused during your stay at our property. Please rest assured that it is always our highest goal to exceed our guests’ needs and make them feel very welcome. Therefore we are very sorry that general atmosphere, service and value for price did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to send us further details on given email address below so that we can take up your specific points with our department managers. Please keep in mind that any inputs from our guests are taken very seriously to achieve further improvement.

We are wishing you a great and wonderful new year 2013 and remain,

With kind regards,

Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations & Quality Management
Nadine.schmidt@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is next to the Basel train station and can easily take several light railed bus in front of the hotel. It has a nice and well managed executive lounge. The pool is nice and clean with very helpful staff. We had a room with very good view. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay at Hilton Basel. It is good to recognise that you were very satisfied and that our services, location, executive lounge, pool and staff helpfulness have met your expectations.

We are looking forward welcoming you again and wishing you a great New Year’s celebration as well as a happy and successful year 2013!

Kind regards,

Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at Hilton Basel in December 2012 for 1 week on business. The hotel is outdated and not at Hilton or 5-stars standards. Looks more like 80' motel. Wifi is 25 CHF per day and there is no other plan available - even for a long 1 week stay. Breakfast at 28 CHF, bottle of water in the room at 9 CHF ... for that quality, this is what I call a rip-off. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you summary about your stay in Basel. We are very sorry to recognise that prices and facilities did not meet your expectations. Please kindly accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused. Quality of service and a welcoming atmosphere for our guests are most important to us, so please rest assured that your inputs will be reviewed and taken very seriously.

Wishing you a great End-of-Year Celebration and a great start into year 2013.

Best regards,
Nadine Schmidt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Basel

Address: Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Basel
#16 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Basel 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful city of Basel, Hilton Basel is within walking distance to the central railway station and city airport public shuttle terminal. The Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Exploring Basel is easy, as we offer complimentary public transport tickets to our guests staying at the hotel. After a day of sightseeing or working in multi-cultural Basel, we invite you to our cosy restaurant Wettstein and our bar with a great selection of international and Swiss specialities as well as delicious daily buffet. Our guests may relax or work out in the fitness area, indulge in a massage or refresh at the indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basel Hotel Basel
Hilton International Basel
Basel Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.