We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Gotthard Basel to your Saves list
Hotel St. Gotthard Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located directly across from the train station, it's easy to find. Don't let the location put you off, we noticed when we looked around the room that the hotel provided ear plugs, but we didn't need them even though we overlooked the street. The room was very quiet. Bed was one of the most comfortable we've had on this trip, I liked that we each had our own duvet so no fighting over the covers. Breakfast was a cold buffet in one of the prettiest breakfast rooms I've been in in a long time. Wood wainscoting with stained glass windows. Staff took very good care of us, attentive and pleasant. They checked on us a couple of times and when breakfast time was over, they came and asked us if we wanted anything more as the food was going to be removed. We appreciated that.
It is a bit of distance from the Old Town of the city, about a 20-25 minute walk. However, there were a lot of trams and it looked like it would be easy to get around that way, but we did not use them, so I can't say.
We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    171
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
154
36
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited Basel for the first time and were fortunate to have chosen the St Gotthard for our stay.
A convenient location across the road from the station , and just a few steps to the tram stop for most of your likely Basel destinations.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful , the room was spacious and well appointed, and the bathroom was exceptionally large and well appointed.
An excellent breakfast was provided in a delightful dining room by staff who seemed to really enjoy their job !
The hotel has genuine character and charm and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

-Modern, spacious room
-Very clean
-Great buffet breakfast
-Located directly at the main station, yet not facing the noise tram stops.
-Very friendly and helpful staff
-Unfortunately no gym, but discount for nearby wellness parc

Room Tip: I stayed in room no. 456 which is located on the top floor and, thus, is very quiet. The room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London/Surrey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed in many Basel hotels in the last couple of years, and The St Gotthard is absolutely up there with the best, and it has a certain charm which some of the others do not. The Tripadvisor reviews here are accurate.

Location is tops - you are a stones throw from Bahnhof SBB, perfect also if arriving by air, the number 50 bus will take you directly here, and you do not need a ticket, your printed hotel reservation is sufficient until you are given your free travel pass at checkin.

All of the staff i met at St Gotthard were great, friendly and professional.

Breakfast room was a delight, very characterful, food very nice and well presented.

The guest room was a nice size and provided everything you will need, the complimentary mini bar a very nice touch! Cleanliness in the room 100%

To conclude, a lovely hotel with great customer service, I will return for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Only stayed for one night, which was a shame as the place is wonderful. We were given a room with 2 bathrooms, a huge living and sleeping area. There were many TV channels in English. Nice Free mini-bar. Breakfast was really good, everything you could want (which is great as eating out in Basel will cost you). We were only in Basel to attend a concert, a birthday present from my wife (a Helene Fischer concert!), but we will be back as the City was lovely. The old part of town had fantastic buildings dating back up to 700 years. Just watch out when crossing the roads, the trams can be deadly. A very good hotel. They have parrots in the lobby too, great fun. Travelled to Basel by train from Frankfurt, Basel Station is spotless, in fact a nice place to shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel!! Stayed there for two weeks on business and it was just great! Helpfull staff, excellent location, comfortable room and great breakfast service!! Right at the Central Train Station and the Airport Bus Stop. You can go anywhere you want to from the Hotel's door and there are many great places around for lunch and dinner!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice hotel with really friendly personell. The location is great close to the train station.
I didn't like the noice from the trams but otherwise I can recommend this hotel.
Free minibar included in the price. Free internet.

The breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard Basel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the Hotel St. Gotthard Basel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.