We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Hotel St. Gotthrd Basel You Are Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard Basel

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Gotthard Basel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Basel
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“At Hotel St. Gotthrd Basel You Are Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel St. Gotthard in Basel, Switzerlnd is a small family hotel that provides exemplary service and maintains an atmosphere that makes each and every gust feel as if they are one of the family.

I hve been a guest of the Family Geyer-Arel for nearly thirty years and have warched their family and hotel grow into the "Flower" of Basel.

The rooms are extraordinarily comfortable and clean. The location is prefect as it is located directly accross the street from the Banhof SBB and the tram station. The breakfast each day is a feast and a great and healthy way to start the day.

The staff has served the family for long periods of time. They remeber who most repeat guests are and make them feel welcome and special. Nothing is beyond their scope when it comes to assisting or satisfying the needs of a guest.

There are may choices in Basel, but only one Hotel St. Gotthard!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard4002, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard Basel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Norm
Thank you so very much for your very kind and encouraging review. Thank you for complimenting us on our service-orientation, goodwill and kindness. There’s nothing more rewarding than receiving a direct positive response from our guest and friend for the efforts made.
We're looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again!
Warm regards from Basel
Your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel Team and
Your Basel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    143
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
123
32
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Europe. It is very conveniently located by the train and bus stations. We arrived at the hotel early as we were getting off of a river cruise and were greeted by Patrick. He was very friendly and helpful and was able to get us into our room early. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated and the food selection was vast. The hotel staff in the dining room were friendly and efficient. The room was beautiful and the bed was good. My only criticism is that the temperature when we stayed was up in the 70's and even though the front desk staff assured us the air conditioning was on it was stifling in the room in the afternoon and evening. We spent 2 nights there and could not get cool enough. When we questioned the staff we were told that the room temperature would only be a few degrees cooler then the outside temperature. Even with the windows open there was no breeze so it stayed warm in the room. overall, we had a great stay we just wish we could have been more comfortable temperature wise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm in Basel regularly on business and always stay at the St. Gotthard. Location across from the train station is very convenient both for arriving/departing the city and catching the local trams. The old city is reached by the number 8 or 11 tram or you can walk, which is a nice option in good weather. The staff is always friendly and helpful making you feel welcomed. They live their motto "come as guest leave as a friend". Rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and comfortable, with many recently refurbished. Free wifi internet is included. The breakfast room is beautiful with an old world charm and the food, typical continental style, is good and fresh. The hotel has no bar or restaurant, but within 1-2 blocks there are many choices of cuisine and price. Finding something nearby is never a problem. I will be back in Basel and definitely back at the St. Gotthard.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are in the back or side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very convenient, next to train station and tram / airport bus stops. Very comfortable hotel, with a friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is very good, though have a look before selecting as the choice is wide. The breakfast room itself is a fantastic old room with stained glass windows and there is a great range of art throughout the hotel. Free wi-fi is easy to use, and there are 300+ channels on the TV, including the main UK ones. No bar or restaurant but this means no related noise in the evening, and the staff can recommend and book restaurants that can be reached by tram and bus using the free travel card that comes with the booking. There are 200+ restaurants in Basel and most cuisines are available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel do not get the tram noise. If on the front, always close the shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with friends and had a great time .The hotel is centrally located being less than 500mtrs from the bus stop to the airport,the train station and the trams.There are bars nearby and a very decent asian restaurant, which is in a canteen style but the food was first class and reasonably priced ( mr Wongs) a few doors away.
The hotel was extremely clean and i had a brilliant room (457) set on two levels.The staff were friendly and accommadating,the breakfast fresh and plentiful.If travelling from the airport take a number 50 bus which runs every few minutes from just outside the terminal.It drops you outside the central station,The hotel give you a free travel card so use the tram system to get about,the number 8 takes you to the old town and river.The 15 and 16 for sightseeing and a number 14 for the football stadium,although you will have to walk to the connection or take an 8 one stop and change for this service.
One note of caution is the trams start early ( about 5.30) and run past the hotel so this may well disturb you.My friends were woken by deliveries to the rear of the hotel so please request a quiet room.Well worth staying here though and if in Basel again would definately rebook

Room Tip: room 457 was an excellent room but be aware of the tram passing outside early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Difficult to fault; seems to have thought of everything - BUT always ask for a quiet room.
Could not be bettered for access to station and public transport, while free issue of travel card for the duration of your visit is a strong incentive not to think of bringing a car. bed room very comfortable in all respects, and breakfast room is spectacular. Only downside, no hotel bar or supper room. After a hard day there is sometimes a need not to have to go looking for an eating place [and the close-by restaurants are not spectacular - avoid Mr Wong at all costs!]
Will definitely return if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is opposite the main train station so ideal for commuting
However the trains and trams make a bit of noise so if you're a light sleeper this is not the place for you
My room had two single beds, would have prefered a double with 1 large blanket although this arrangement is quite common in Europe.
Breakfast was basic but of good quality although i was never offered the hot selection by the staff ....would have been good to have a menu on table so that i knew what was on offer.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.

I would not however consider this a 4* hotel - no bar, restaurant in the evening, no english channels on TV with the exception of News channels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard Basel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Basel > Altstadt , St. Alban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard Basel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 95 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the Hotel St. Gotthard Basel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.