We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality surprise menus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Rubino

Restaurant Rubino
Luftgasslein 1, Basel 4051, Switzerland
+41 61 333 77 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 449 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $46
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Restaurant Rubino, Beat Rubitschungwelcomes people who like to consumeconsciously and value a sustainable lifestyle.Manuela Buser’s imaginative creationscouple light Mediterranean cuisinewith market fresh ingredients of regionaland organic provenience. Naturally,everything is made in-house. The lunchmenu varies with the seasons; at dinneryou are pampered with a surprise menu:Guests can choose between vegetarian,meat or fish and from 2 to 5 courses.For every course, the host recommendschoice wines from Switzerland and otherEuropean regions.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“High quality surprise menus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant serves surprise menus only, to a fix price. You can choose how many courses you would like, and for every course you choose between vegetarian, fish or meat. They specialize in wine and always come up with interesting choices, always non-mainstream. You can choose to have one glass of wine for each course, perfectly combined to the food. It's a high quality restaurant, in a very nice and yet casual environment. I've been here several time and I'm always satisfied. Reservation recommended. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Surprised in Basel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I was recently there with a few colleagues. We all had 4-course menus mixing vegetarian, fish and meat, some with matching wines. The portions are on the big side, so 3 would be enough if you don't have a huge appetite. The wine pairing was very good. I was happily suprised by my choices (who knew tomato sorbet would be do delicious?) and appreciated the little extras (amuse gueule and pre-desert!) The room filled up quickly, noise and atmosphere rising together. The decor is white minimalistic and trendy. The location is very good, in downtown Basel with easy access by public transportation. The prices are a bit stiff but I enjoyed almost all my dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I strongly recommend to take AT LEAST the 4 course menu harmonized with the wines. My husband and I had decided for that. We didn't have the same. our 3 courses were different from one another. As dessert, I had cheese and he had sweets. In summary: we had 8 different courses with 8 different wines. A fantastic and delicious night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious gourmet food with ingredients from the locality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beat the owner of the restaurant is a gourmet and knows what tastes great from the neighborhood. You always get a 4 to 6 course meal and all that you decide is whether you eat fish or meat or even purely vegetarian. The courses are exquisite but for a developed taste, i.e. one discovers multiple strands of flavors that linger in your palate even after you have swallowed your mouthful. They provide wines that accompany each course so that all you need to do is to savor all that is served to you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rubino also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Restaurant Rubino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Rubino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.