We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay! best rate/value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel D - Basel to your Saves list
Hotel D - Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay! best rate/value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

beautiful, clean quiet, confortable and great situation.
you can do everything by foot from the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Front Office Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comment.

We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel D Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    199
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
63
199
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I had a really good time in Hôtel D !
The room was cozy, and I enjoyed the nice bathroom ! I slept really well, the street is not noisy and the bed is so confortable !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear Stephanie,

Thank your for your comment!
Yes, we believe hotel D is the new hot spot in Basel.
We totally agree with you!

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Hotel D team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My recent stay at Hotel D was an extremely pleasant one. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My room was clean and very comfortably appointed. I enjoyed the high standard of construction apparent throughout. The rain-shower was a very nice extra. The bed, very comfortable. My room, like the rest of the hotel, was stylish and modern. I highly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the D with us.

I’m glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the extra touches that we’ve become known for.
We thank you for your time and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Kindest Regards,

Julien Baly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

the stuff at the front desk was very helpful
the rooms are nice & simple
the rainshower in the bath helps you relax after a hard day
the location is very good, in the city center
the breakfast is very good, too
ask for a room with big windows looking over the street

i would prefer a room with more character
and a greater variety of music at the lounge and breakfast room
(i think the same cd played during the hole day)
BUT what was really annoying is the fact that we had to ask every day
for shampoo and showergel,
it seemed to us that the cleaning stuff did not made its job properly...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and especially our LED rain showers.
We also would like to thank you for your great comments about our staff. We do try to exceed guest expectation at all time and we truly believe that excellent staff improves guest stay dramatically.
All colleagues are doing their best in all possible way to exceed guest satisfaction.

As you have truly described we are centrally located in Basel close to all major attractions and 3 tram stops from the convention center (or Messe Center).

The reason the in-room amenities were not fully changed every day is that we are following "a waste management policy" to prevent waste of too much amenities.

On guest request, we are delighted to re-new the whole amenities set.

Concerning the general lounge ambiance, we are working hard on trying offering new music track on a weekly basis. We truly regret that the music selection was not at the expected standard.

We thank you again for your visit and really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Good value for money, v.good location, Julien Baly excellent host.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
I am extremely delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the D.

Kindest Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

From the stylish, minimalist-yet-warm decor, to the oversized beds, the power-showers, the giant TV screens and the friendly receptionist(s), this has to be one of the nicest, most stylishly chic hotels I've stayed in. Nothing has been left to chance: the bathrooms alone are larger than most hotel suites. Located right in the heart of Basel on one of its busiest streets yet with air-tight windows that don't let a sound in, it's the perfect spot, whether you're in town for business, a spot of shopping, or leisure. The staff were super-friendly and helpful and sitting in the lounge area downstairs in the early evening with a glass of wine was the perfect way to end each day. Can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are extremely that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have truly described we are centerly located in Basel and are walking distance to most major touristic attractions in Basel.

All our employees at the D take extreme pride in providing each guest with an exceptional experience and I am so glad that we were able to do that for you.

I thank you for your time and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the D in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel D is very clean, wonderfully modern in it's decor and a very relaxed atmosphere in which to stay. It is well situated for seeing Basel and close to the tram lines while not being impacted by the noise of the trams
I would recommend Hotel D to my friends and work colleagues and will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the D.

As you have truly mentioned our location is ideal for guests that are willing to discover the city, as most of the attractions are walking distance from the hotel. Furthermore our hotel is located a few meters away from major tram stops.

We thank you again for your visit and really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D - Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.