We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional place to stay in Basel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Save Saved
You added Hotel D - Basel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Basel
ATLANTA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Exceptional place to stay in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in Basel. Great staff and wonderful location. Near the main city square and on Saturdays there is a wonderful farmers market. The Hotel D is also near several good restaurants and the old town of of Basel. The rooms are large and very modern and very nice also with a wonderful breakfast buffet.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

That you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Hotel D in Basel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We take pride in our service here at hotel D.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel D - Basel

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    185
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
188
33
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2013: nice (if small) rooms, excellent staff, fitness facility and breakfast, good location and easy to use business center... Only small note is that despite their claim to be "green" they changed towels and soaps and shampoos every day 0 should better train their staff on that!

Room Tip: I had a room away from main street - so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at Hotel D - Basel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel D in Basel.

Thank you for your compliments about the excellent service offered by all my team; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication. I am pleased that you found the rooms to be comfortable.

Concerning the replacement of the in-room amenities every day, I will have a closer look with the Housekeeping department.
Thank you for our bringing this matter up to us.

I hope to welcome you again to Hotel D - Basel.
Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here on my first business trip to Basel in June. The people are very friendly and helpful. Provided me with directions and tips on ways to navigate the town. Rooms are clean and comfortable. On site restaurant was good, I ate there for dinner once. I would stay here again, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Anitain,

Thank you for posting your lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Basel.
You have mentioned that you had a lovely diner at the restaurant of the hotel.

Unfortunately hotel D does not provide a restaurant onsite. However, we have hundreds of restaurant at walking distance.

Maybe you are confusing us with Hotel Basel, located in the heart of the city center. Hotel Basel has a great restaurant and is also a very enjoyable hotel.

Anyway, overall I am pleased that you have enjoyed our city and that you will return very soon at hotel Basel or maybe try this time the hotel D.

Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is new, well designed and has a relaxed approach. It's location is truly center. The buffet breakfast is also very good and is a complete spread. The staff are all very helpful. The Internet was offered free of charge and worked very well.

Room Tip: I chose to stay off the Main Street but all rooms are well insulated so you will have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Global Voyager,

Thank you for straight forward positive review !

I am pleased that you had a great time at the D.
Thank you for your great comments concerning our breakfast buffet!

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As noted by previous reviewers, a well located hotel that is nice and modern and well located to the old part of Basel. It is about 200m from tram stop that serves the Central Railway Station.

Very friendly and helpful staff

WiFi was reasonably fast and very reliable.

For those travelling light, full speed on the air-conditioning is great for drying clothes.

The automatic sun shades are a surprise when they first move.

There is a slightly cheaper breakfast with a better range at the Moevenpick Restuarant 5min away in the Market Place.

While in Basel in summer - try the local past time of floating down the River !! Waterproof bags can be purchased at a coffee stall across the river and up one bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side for glimpses of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Geoff,

It is so wonderful to hear we provided you with a great stay at hotel D in basel. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and that you have loved the hotel location and our great staff members.

They are always available to assist our guests with recommendations and city tips!

We are glad that you have enjoyed swimming in the Rhine river! What a great experience this must be !

There is no greater compliment than knowing that you recommend the hotel to others looking to visit Basel. We thank you for this endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great little hotel, very stylish and modern. It is also very well situated in the city and close to an underground car park. The rooms are very comfortable and very well furnished. We received a free public transportation pass and a 10% discount on our next stay. A little word welcomes you in the room. A place I can only recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay earlier this month at Hotel D Basel.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our guestrooms!

All Hotel D guests receive complimentary public transportation tickets at check in. this allows you to visit the city much easier and with way much comfort!

We are thrilled that we played a part in your short city-break in Basel.

Yours truly,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Basel with a good location that wasn't going to run $400 a night. Hotel D ended up being a great value in oh-so-expensive Switzerland. It's a modern hotel that's tastefully appointed, comfortable and an excellent value. Clean and well-kept, nice finishes. Very good location in the center of town. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the D in Basel.

We are so appreciative to receive such positive feedback about our property and our “friendly staff”.

We really care that our guests feel welcomed and guided especially if they are coming to visit all of the interesting tourist sites of Basel.

Our location is definitely great for those who love to be in the heart of the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Basel, Switzerland.

Yours truly,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D - Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.