We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel D - Basel to your Saves list
Hotel D - Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel D for one night in July, following the recommendations on this site. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very centrally located, near the river. The room was very clean and comfortable, staff helpfull, all in all a nice place. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.

We are delighted that you selected us due to recommendations you read on Tripadvisor. We are even more thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    213
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
213
35
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ESQUIMALT
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Fantastic location within walking distance of the Rhine, bridges and main plaza in Basel. Modern hotel, very professional, knowledgeable and helpful staff at the front desk. We skipped the continental breakfast and were not disappointed with the fantastic restaurants offering rosti and flamenkuchen on the main square nearby. Shutters on windows automatically close, and some rooms have small balconies. Air conditioning was greatly appreciated in the hot humid weather. Being one block off the river, its quiet which you really appreciate, especially on a Friday night when the locals come down to the river to celebrate, sing dance and play music. We arrived by taxi to save time, as ours was a quick stay before catching a River Cruise. You really cant go wrong staying at the Hotel D

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or a quiet room at the rear of the hotel with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

It is always a pleasure to read a positive review as yours.

As you have mentioned Hotel D truly has an ideal location in the heart of Basel, within walking distance to most places of the interest, the market square and the Rhine just to mention a few.
The staff felt much rewarded by your kind words.

There are numerous outstanding restaurants close by in the city centre it’s hard to pick which one you would like to try.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great location, modern hotel with comfortable rooms and very helpfull staff.
Let down a bit by the tiny bathroom, persistent noise from the a/c unit like a phone on vibrate every 10 mins or so, and a limited breakfast offering, though adequate. Parking is only available in the nearby expensive but excellent public car parks, but this is typical of a centrally located hotel.
Next time I would probably spend a bit more and stay at the 5* hotel across the road though.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms as the bathrooms must be very small, though I didn't look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us here on tripadvisor.
We are elated with your positive remarks on our rooms and the staff, it is always a pleasure for us to hear such kind words.

We regret that you felt the bathroom was too small for you, we do however also have other categories such our Executive rooms and of course our Suites which offer a larger bathroom, as wells as a private balcony overlooking Basel.

Thank you again for having stayed with us and writing this review.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

the location is very good very comfortable rooms especially for family,a modern and luxury equipments and design,a very kind staff .i think it was a nice memory for us

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you having taken the time to share your experience.

As you have mentioned Hotel D is ideally located in the heart of Basel with major shopping streets nearby as well as the market square and a vast variety of museums.
We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant at with us, and will carry this memory with you.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Modern and comfortable rooms. Well located, in the heart of Basel.
Friendly staff

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable rooms.

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Basel and within walking distance to most places of interest.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Good location, nice comfortable rooms with all that you can need without extravagance and very friendly and helpful staff. I would go again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel D.

We will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel D in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The rooms are very good, and location as well. Front desk helpful, except we did not understand how the breakfast charge worked. Perhaps our oversight to not clarify. So we ate at the breakfast area each morning, and were charged. The quality of the breakfast was modest, the charge "deluxe".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you have mentioned we are ideally located in the heart of Basel. We are delighted that our front desk staff was able to help you with your queries.

As for breakfast, if it is not booked directly with your stay it gets charged separately at check-out.
If it is additional it is stated on your confirmation. We regret that this was not clear to you.
May recommend for your next stay you book the breakfast directly, it will thus also be at the reduced rate.

Thank you again for having taken the time to write this review.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D - Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.