We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Basel Bahnhof to your Saves list
Ibis Basel Bahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for the first time. We've checked in rather late, and that was OK with the reception. I heard that usually this hotel doesn't approve of these things, but we called rather on time that we will check in after midnight.
The rooms were quite small for 2 people to stay in. The bathroom in particular. I didn't like you had only 1 towel per person, so I've asked at the reception for the extra one, which I got with no problem.
Breakfast was quite poor for the amount/quality/price ratio.
The location is overall OK, very near to train station (3 minute walk), and only 5 tram stations from the city center (15 minutes walk).
To sum up, hotel is OK, but in my opinion, quite expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: I saw one room at the corner of one floor are for disable people, so feel free to ask for a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    321
    51
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
249
92
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Ibis Basel for a overnight stop to Luzern. Price was about 90 CHF per night which was quite good for hotels of this class in Basel.

Arrived by train to Basel Central Station from Paris so was already quite tired. It was good to know that the hotel was only about 5 mins walk away from the station.

The staff at check in was friendly and knowledgeable and greeted me by name (as i was the only Asian in the whole hotel for that day). Check in was easy and was provided with maps and a mobility pass to explore the city with (free trams rides for the day).

Room was very spacious for a Ibis Class hotel and toilet was even larger. Huge shower walk in was provided. 2 desk was located in the room and numerous shelves and large spaces to store clothing was provided. Bed was comfortable for the night sleep as well.

The hotel did not really provide much views and i was left with a view of the main station. But no audible noise from the outside could be heard which was great.

If my travels in the future requires me to travel to Basel again, i would definitely consider stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I arrived here late at night and too tired to even attempt a foreign language. The front of house staff were incredibly friendly and fluent in English. They immediately put me at my ease and checked me in with no fuss. Gold star. The room was clean, comfortable and everything I needed. The only issue I had was that my room faced the train station and occasionally you could hear the trains and announcements. Next door's tv was also audible to the syllable. Just need a bit more sound proofing to be a great stay.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked this location since arrived late in evening and had train out the next morning. The location is excellent; 5 min walk from the train station. Take city/airport bus that drops you off at the main train station. Just walk to the other end of the station and turn right. Hotel very clean, very comfortable, all paper work was ready when I arrived; if want late snack they 24 hr. service, although better walk back to the train station and eat at Hallo restaurant next to train track #14. Ibis Hotel also gives to you free bus pass that you can use all day in city and to airport. Also CoOp very close if you wish to buy grocers, fruit, etc. I take with me a thermos bottle for tea during the day, and hotel staff were happy to prepare it for me. I had another hotel booked for end of trip but cancelled it and came back to the Ibis since so very close to the train station. Bed very comfortable. Best I had during my 10 visit in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms during two different visit........both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent three days at Ibis Hotel, Basel on a business trip. It was such a fantastic experience that I can't forget. The front office staff were very cordial, helping, accommodative. They provide Tram pass for throughout the stay that allows transportation within city using Tram. Basel itself is a beautiful place for a vacation, and Ibis hotel just makes it memorable. Breakfast offered veriety of options and was delicious. Rooms were crystal clean. Great hotel overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Family Hotel in Basel
#15 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Basel Bahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.