We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a dubious check in procedure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Basel Bahnhof to your Saves list
Ibis Basel Bahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with a dubious check in procedure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is an excellent hotel. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room was very modern, comfortable and very well designed. Sound insulation was good so, although we had a room overlooking the main road, the only sound was the distant rumble of trams. The bathroom was large and spotless with a very efficient shower. The breakfast menu was varied and well stocked. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the station, although you need to know which exit to use; take the exit onto Guterstrasse, turn right when leaving the station, and in a couple of minutes you will reach the corner at the junction with Margarethenstrasse, where the hotel is situated. If you take the other exit - onto Centralbahnstrasse – it will take longer. It’s a shame that the hotel’s website doesn’t give this information.
My only criticism is the hotel’s insistence of placing a reservation fee of 200 CHF on our credit card when we checked in. This fee, apparently, was not actually debited from our card but – presumably – was a safeguard against us running up a big bill and then doing a runner. (If that’s the case, the hotel’s lack of trust is absurd since - when we came to pay on checkout - we were only charged for breakfast because I volunteered the information that we had eaten). If the hotel’s management reads this review, perhaps they would like to explain themselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    298
    47
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
233
90
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is on the corner of a tram stop. We crossed the street and the tram took us to old town Basel. The hotel clerk told us where we could eat local food outdoors in old town for a good price. The breakfast at the hotel seems pricey until you check out other places to eat. The food is not cheap in Switzerland, like it is in the USA. The staff was very helpful in telling us which tram to get on to get to our river cruise ship the next day. Everything went well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Within walking distance of the railway station with light luggage and on a tram route into the city. Ideal for a short stay - we attended a family wedding over a weekend. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Ibis is clean, good value for money and well located for the station, town centre and my office - but you won't care about that! The included travel card is a nice touch which allows free travel on the trams. The breakfast is ok but expensive for what you get. Annoyingly you have to pay for Internet access in the rooms, but it's free in the reception area. The bar on ground level is nice, and it can be pleasant to sit outside on a warm evening to watch the traffic go by!

I have stayed here on many occasions and will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice place to stay. It's conveniently close to the train station, only a short walk from the centre (or you could take the tram: it runs very frequently and it's free with the mobility ticket provided by the hotel). The room and especially the bathroom were immaculate.
Good breakfast buffet. All members of the staff were genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel showed Ibis at its best - the standard dependable model coupled with Swiss efficiency, cleanliness and friendly service. It is modern with a good walk-in shower and while the room was small there was space to open two suitcases. Although it is close to the train station (see below) and on two tram routes there was no noise from inside or out. The reception staff were truly excellent, with a quick check-in, plenty of help with local sights and a very quick check-out.

There is a small bar/lounge in the reception area with free wifi (in the room it is charged): again the reception staff gave first-class service at the bar.

The hotel give each guest a free rover ticket on the Basel buses and trams, which is also valid for the bus to the airport.

Criticisms? Three small ones:

(1) The hotel is on the other side of the station from the main entrance; it's a 5 minute walk - which is OK if your suitcase has wheels.

(2) Although there is a free-access PC in the bar/reception there's no printer if you want to print out airline boarding passes.

(3) *All* the sockets in the room are the Swiss standard ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets#Type_J ) - including two alongside one another by the window. It would have been a kind thought for one of these to have been a French/German socket accepting standard European three-pin plugs and "Continental" travel adapters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Close to the SBB and city center. When you go to the Ibis you already know what you expect. So value - money yes , the best for it,, for some people is might be cheap and for other expensive , i would say its fine, average price for Swiss standards. Room clean, bathroom clean , personnel at the front desk very helpful, nice. Definitively I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Basel
#12 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#15 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Basel Bahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.