We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite at lunchtimes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard

Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard
Drahtzugstrasse 32, Basel, Switzerland
061 681 40 45
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 374 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $27 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A favourite at lunchtimes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Myself and a couple of colleagues used to go on a regular basis to the Thai-Family restaurant. The food was excellent with the menu offering a wide variety of choice. There was plenty of flavour packed in to the dishes and the quality of the meats were always very good.

There is another Thai restaurant in Basel that is also very popular, however this would be my choice based upon service and the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heavy on premade sauces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in Basel and hat wanted to go the Thai family for a long time. We were not disappointed with the service and the atmosphere, the food was far from what one could expect for that price. We liked the salad which was fresh. Both of the main dishes we had were however spoiled by prefab sauces. While the brown sauce - what a British person might call gravy - was very heavy on Knorr or Maggi, the sweet and sour tasted very much like what we buy in our Asian grocery store next door. There are better Thai restaurants in Basel. One of them is Chanthabury, a good five minutes' walk from Thai family. It is more expensive, but I always got the real thing there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have eaten here twice now and each time have loved it. Yes, its not cheap but the portions are big and the quality of the food makes up for the price. Great for a special occasion

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eating at Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

When you get into the restaurant, you are welcomed with a smile & a helpful team, the table arrangements, the simple decoration, the smell of food, as if coming back home from a long tiring day.

Drinks are requested & served immediately, the bear is good & the wine is fine, the excellent feature is the food, the variety is great, the taste is good & the portions are fine.

When you finish & leave as going out to your day after a nice lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok. Not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was expensive. Not sogreat. Service
Was good. Not my first choice next trip in basel. Food was greasy not amazing fish was good

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard also viewed

Basel, Switzerland
Basel, Switzerland
 
Basel, Switzerland
 

Been to Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard to your Saves list