We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite at lunchtimes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard

Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard
Hammerstrasse 69 | 4057 Basel, Basel 4057, Switzerland
+41 61 681 40 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 455 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $36
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A favourite at lunchtimes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Myself and a couple of colleagues used to go on a regular basis to the Thai-Family restaurant. The food was excellent with the menu offering a wide variety of choice. There was plenty of flavour packed in to the dishes and the quality of the meats were always very good.

There is another Thai restaurant in Basel that is also very popular, however this would be my choice based upon service and the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heavy on premade sauces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in Basel and hat wanted to go the Thai family for a long time. We were not disappointed with the service and the atmosphere, the food was far from what one could expect for that price. We liked the salad which was fresh. Both of the main dishes we had were however spoiled by prefab sauces. While the brown sauce - what a British person might call gravy - was very heavy on Knorr or Maggi, the sweet and sour tasted very much like what we buy in our Asian grocery store next door. There are better Thai restaurants in Basel. One of them is Chanthabury, a good five minutes' walk from Thai family. It is more expensive, but I always got the real thing there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have eaten here twice now and each time have loved it. Yes, its not cheap but the portions are big and the quality of the food makes up for the price. Great for a special occasion

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eating at Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

When you get into the restaurant, you are welcomed with a smile & a helpful team, the table arrangements, the simple decoration, the smell of food, as if coming back home from a long tiring day.

Drinks are requested & served immediately, the bear is good & the wine is fine, the excellent feature is the food, the variety is great, the taste is good & the portions are fine.

When you finish & leave as going out to your day after a nice lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok. Not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was expensive. Not sogreat. Service
Was good. Not my first choice next trip in basel. Food was greasy not amazing fish was good

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.