We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great continental dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlusselzunft

Schlusselzunft
25 Freie Strasse, Basel, Switzerland (Altstadt)
+41 61 261 20 46
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 433 Restaurants in Basel
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: European, Diner, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great continental dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The dining room is wonderfully old-fashioned and the chef has modernized traditional plates without getting too trendy (small portions and weird combinations).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amasingly good restaurant in the touristic heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was really suprised by the quality of this restaurant because usually you can find only touristic traps in the city center. The food was delicious and beautifully served. The staf was friendly and efficient. The weather was good and we were sitting outside but I had a look at the interior - it is very beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good attentive service, tasty imaginative menu.

Attention to small detail.

Central location, near Markplatz. Used to be the old guild hall, retains some old character features but has a modern twist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great meal at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you travel to Basel you'll soon find out that it's really expensive. This restaurant had high quality delicious food at reasonable prices for an American in Basel. I had a the Asian salad with shrimp and it was simply delicious and refreshing, especially after all the heavy food and meat I'd been eating so far in Europe. The service was very attentive as well and had no problem splitting up the receipt for the 4 of us who all had to submit reimbursement requests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to this restaurant on Saturday night with our son and his girlfriend and it was fantastic. The service was exceptional and all the courses were truly amazing. The decor was lovely, worth getting dressed up for! The wine we ordered was very nice, as were the other alcoholic beverages. One of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. If you are coming to Basel make sure you pay this place a visit, you will be glad you did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlusselzunft also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Schlusselzunft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlusselzunft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.