We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Don Camillo

Cantina Don Camillo
Burgweg 7, Basel, Switzerland
+41 61 693 05 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 407 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: OPEN FROM MONDAY TO SATURDAY! In the very heart of the former Warteck Brewery, 2nd Floor, we invite you to creative cuisine, fine wines and hospitality. We maintain a pleasant relaxed atmosphere with a kitchen range influenced by french to asian cuisine and vegan cooking. Visit us on our terrace, in the loft restaurant, or for your private event with fabulous views.. in Turmstubli!
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Veggie Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Read a trip advisor review and sought this place out. Dining alone as a single veggie female was a pleasure. Great food, realy good service, nice location. Absolutely recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    26
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice. I have to admit I am partial to the architecture of an old factory setting being used as a modern day restaurant or a place of residents. Just to give you an example. The old smoke stack (not in operation I believe) is standing right next to the roof patio, which is well decorated and nice place outdoors to eat. It may sound funny but it does add a bit of industry charm when you are outside enjoying your meal during the evening. The patio is well shaded by mechanical means if needed. There is no need to explain the indoor decorations. Not too much and not to little. The right balance was found.

The service is wonderful. You are greeted as you should be. As an outsider/visitor of the city, you notice how they treat there regulars as well. I think this is important. First of all, when the regular/local customers keep returning, then the quality is stable. Bad news travels fast, but in this case nothing but good news. And because it is a favorite of the locals, you should make reservations, just to be on the safe side.

The menu is small with a changing menu special (appetizer, main dish and dessert) for around 50 CHF. I am not sure if it changes on a daily/monthly basis.

My first visit, I enjoyed a perfectly prepared meat dish. So this time I thought of enjoying a Vegan menu, which was the special of the day. Again, it was excellent. The menu was well thought out, and the owner suggested a perfect wine to top it off. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meals. To top it off, the service was perfect. Not intruding on a conversation unless you asked for something, but reading the situation and knowing when to refill you glasses or clearing the table when everyone is done.

But now to the point of nobody is perfect. I guess, I will have to go back again and just keep looking. 8-)

To be serious, it is all a matter of taste. This restaurant for my wallet and taste, has the best package without having to wear a tie to dinner. I feel welcomed and have enjoyed the two evenings I was there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1234doncamillo5678, Geschäftsführer at Cantina Don Camillo, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Roof terrasse good for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my husband on our lunch break as I had read good reviews. The lunch was nice and would it not have been for all the smokers on the roof terrasse I am sure I would have enjoyed the outdoor seating as well. The food was good, Italian, I had a good salad. The restaurant is a bit tricky to find, but I had read some former reviews here and followed their explainations (locate the steel stairs outside and climb your way up!). I will probably come back as there are nor so many lunch places in this area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno M, Manager at Cantina Don Camillo, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Finally. Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Being from Basel, but never made it there.
But it was worth the wait.
The food is fab, the atmosphere is fab, maybe the wines could be improved.
Will be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1234doncamillo5678, Manager at Cantina Don Camillo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Google Translation
herzlichen dank für ihre bewertung!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You've simply got to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The epitome of a 'hiidden gem' - the Cantina Don Camillio is one of those restaurants that deserves a brilliant review but you're loathe to write it for fear that you'll never get a table there again. A one-of-a-kind restaurant hidden away at the back of an old brewery just off Grenzacherstrasse (a stone's throw from Roche... for all you hungry business trippers) and has everything you could possibly dream of: fantastic food, a warm atmosphere, charming staff, a roof top terrace or cosy dining room to choose from,,, depending on the weather... and a chef who is evidently passionate about creating amazingly tasty dishes from the freshest of ingredients. After a good ten minutes of indecisiveness (mocketh not until you've been faced with having to choose just one of the heavenly sounding - and delicious looking... I know because I checked out all my neighbouring diners' choices from behind big sunglasses... dishes on their small but perfectly formed menu?) - I chose the sweet potato and Spring vegetable curry. Not only did it taste delicious, but its heady aromas cheered my soul, and left me tempted to postpone my flight home and eat here again tomorrow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1234doncamillo5678, Manager at Cantina Don Camillo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind statement!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Don Camillo also viewed

 
Basel, Switzerland

Been to Cantina Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.