We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Stucki

Restaurant Stucki
Bruderholzallee 42, Basel 4059, Switzerland
+41 61 361 82 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 430 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $43 - $193
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Basel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What can I say - it's the best restaurant ever!! I've just got back from lunch there with a friend and the food was the best. I absolutely love this restaurant. I have visited a couple of times before and have never been disappointed but today I decided that if I could only ever eat in one restaurant it would be here. From the relaxed atmosphere (it's not stuffy at all for a 2 star restaurant) to the fantastic flavours of the food - how do they do that? The staff are very nice - not in your face either. The presentation is amazing. I'm at a loss for words but if you ever get the chance to eat here do - you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    36
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok/Zurich/London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A mixed bag of Emotions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Dining at a truly top class establishment raises expectations to the highest notch. We enjoyed the full dinner menu but without the help of the written descriptions in front of us we would have had a hard time identifying what each of the 9 courses (except the excellent cheese selection of course) contained. The inaudibly mumbled verbal announcement preceding each course was not helpful, especially if delivered without a smile. This slight criticism notwithstanding we appreciated that it must be a bore to repeat something like: "this is a pike perch in miso marinade with sesame fennel in mint oil...etc." every evening at each table covering all dishes.
Tanja Grandits' style is truly unique and very innovative - for some guests with more traditional tastes and pallets less sophisticated, perhaps a trifle too inventive.
The wine list is a treasure and even those less fortunate can find a good bottle they can finance. Mr. Graf Grandits knows his wines and can give expert advice so that the guests culinary experience can be rounded off by well matched vintages.
One of the Senior Contributors on Trip Advisor mentioned that the Mojitos are outstanding. Do not believe him. As experts on cocktails we must advise against such experiments. Just stick to a glass of Champagne or Prosecco if you desire to begin the dinner fete with an aperitif.
Unless you wish to carry a lot of cash to dinner it is also advisable "not to leave home without it" i.e. a credit card

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for a Business lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had an excellent business lunch at the Stucki - Tanja Grandits is a talented chef and uses excellent produce. The food was extremely enjoyable with excellent service which was both professional and informative without being over bearing. My favourite restaurant in Basel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a business lunch here! A truly excellent experience, quality all around and with a very reasonably priced lunch menu. Can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food at the 'Stucki Bruderholz' is of really good quality. It's very fresh and seasoned nicely. I started with a perfectly cooked carabiniero, then I had veal with asparagus. Then I had an amazing chocolate dessert. The service is very friendly and professionel. It is definitely one of my favourite restaurants in Basel!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Stucki also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Restaurant Stucki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Stucki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.