We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Italian Restaurant in Basel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latini

Latini
Falknerstrasse 31, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Altstadt)
61 261 34 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 411 Restaurants in Basel
Price range: $25 - $98
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Suwon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Splendid Italian Restaurant in Basel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I will just give a few details regarding the restaurant:

Food- the bolognese was a delight. i was expecting that the amount of food was small, but it was a hefty amount for one person. The lasagna was also good, not too oily, nor salty.

Service- they were so friendly and greet their customers with a smile. The service was fast, and they also know what the customers need. All in all, superb table serving.

Place- the place is huge, and for a customer, there are a lot of options for them, whether to eat outside, near the bar or away from the crowd.

Good place, if i have a chance to go back in Basel, i will definitely visit the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charging 45 CHF for a carafe of wine?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice restaurant, in middle of old Basel.
I ordered two antipasto + two salads with and carafe of half a liter of wine (not from winecard and not a full bottle)
the wine was exellent the price criminal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location - food OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was there with a friend from Thailand - he likes Italian cuisine. As Antipasto we chose the 3 different kinds of Crostini - very tasty. As maincourse we decided for Pulcino (young Chicken). Was OK - could have had a little more spices...
The restaurant was surprisingly full - it was a Wednesday evening.
The service was professional, nice and helpful!

Although being part of a chain, the feeling was quite comfortable and we felt welcome!
Will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere with Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

You feel always welcome to this restaurant. They have very friendly staff, good menu and good selection of wines. It is located in the heart of Basel city and it will be a good choice if you enjoy Italian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An excellent trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I am regulary going for lunch there and the place is always full. The pasta and risotto dishes are very fine.I recommend the Risotto Latini with veal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latini also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Latini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;