We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A May lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purefoy Arms

Purefoy Arms
Preston Candover, Preston Candover RG25 2EJ, England
01256 389777
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A May lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As ever a really good lunch. Always like the tapas on offer and a refreshingly interesting wine list that is fairly priced. After the tapas we had a sort of scallop tart which was delicious but my mussel and cockles were nicely cooked but just lacked that lovely flavoursome broth you get after you've cooked them. Still easily the best food around the local area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    57
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, but overzealous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place has amazing food, probably the best around Basingstoke and probably Hampshire, hence the rating. However, I don't understand why you have to come and ask no less than 8 times in the space of one hour how's the food and if everything is fine. If there is something wrong we'd let you know.
This is a US-imported, customer service-oriented approach that, honestly, has gone too far, to the point I don't go back to places for this very reason.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a restaurant!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food was absolutely stunning and without the groupon deal, we would have never heard of this place! Will definitely be returning and recommending to friends! Stunning relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and a real warm feel. Food was faultless and I would recommend the Lemon dessert! I would return just for that!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Spain hits the countryside with a bump”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere and attentive knowledgeable service, but a menu written by chef for the chef (and his Spanish wife). Far too complex, great ingredients but combined in a slightly strange Iberian manner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service in cosy Hampshire pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was my second visit and I was not disappointed. Beats most restaurant food in the area by a long way within a relaxed, rural pub environment with log fires. Also has a lovely garden. The local venison was superb and the home-made parfait flavoured with Spanish Oloroso sherry a great dessert. Front of house staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purefoy Arms also viewed

 
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 

Been to Purefoy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purefoy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.