We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning castle accommodation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monterone

Save Saved
You added Castello di Monterone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 hotels in Perugia
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning castle accommodation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was one of the highlights during our stay at Perugia - staying at a beautifully kept castle set atop picture perfect rolling Tuscany hills! The rooms are also very modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The only downside to Castello di Monterone is that it is a short taxi ride away from town, but it's a great trade-off for the stunning location, view and surroundings (you can't have it all !). Also they have two very good restaurants on site if you don't feel like going into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Angelo C,
thanks for the beautiful words spent about your experience at the castle. It is an ancient building but we want it to be a live and warm house. That's the reason why we are so happy to learn that you felt good inside our walls. We hope you'll keep a nice memory of your stay in Perugia.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    51
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
287
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and wished we had booked for more. The Castle is stunning, in beautiful surroundings with pretty gardens. There is also a pool, although we didn't use it.

Our room was on the ground floor at the bottom of the tower with its own private, gothic style terrace. We sat and relaxed there all afternoon and soaked up the view and peaceful atmosphere while the staff brought us wine and nibbles.

The room itself, although not huge, was lovely, clean and with great features. There's also free wifi so you can make your friends jealous by posting pics of your surroundings on Facebook straight away!!

We ate dinner there (but not in the Michelin starred restaurant). We had a really fantastic meal and for a very reasonable price for what we got.

We had a car, but I'm not sure how easy it would be to get around the local area from here if you didn't.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. We booked it because we saw the good reviews on Tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to it.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear C9ath,
we definitely love your review! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for loving the castle so much! The whole staff is happy about your positive feedback.
We always recommend to have a car if you want to visit the region, that's the best way to see the beautiful places in the surrounding of the castle.
We hope you will remember your holiday at the castle, even short, and we hope that you succeeded in provoking some jealousy to your friends, so they might be curious to visit us, as well as you did ;-)

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in September, we loved the place. It was great to walk around inside the castle, it is great they way that they have it set out, really feels like you are in a medieval castle. Room was awesome, simple but with you everything you need, and felt almost like it would have hundreds of years ago. The staff were great. especially in the restaurant. We ate our own dinner on the top of the castle where they have some tables on the battlements. The view is spectacular, and the sunset unforgettable - this was really the Italy we wanted to see. The second night we ate at the restaurant that looks over the valley - we sat outside and had the whole outside area just for us, they even out on some 'younger' music for us, different from what was playing inside which was a great touch. Food wasn't the best I had in Italy, but my girlfriend was very happy, and with the atmosphere and service, easily ranks in the top 5 dinners we had in Europe. The same restaurant is used for breakfast - again we sat outside both mornings and looked over the valley while we ate an amazing buffet breakfast.....with prosecco - what more could you ask for??

Room Tip: Maybe check to see if it has a window - also some looked kinda small (ours was big though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear melburn82,
your review is much than we could expect. Thank you very much for the nice words spent for all of us and we definitely love to be among your best dinners in Europe ;-)
We are so happy that you have lived at the castle an intense experience: we always invite our guests to make a curious walk inside the castle and outside, to discover all the panoramic corners and hidden treasures of this ancient mansion.
Our wish, now, is to be among your memories for a long time.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed only one night in standard room. Hotel is very good. Located a little aside from perugia but view is worth travelling. Rooms are well sized and good bathroom, some rooms allow amazing view from the bed. Staff is very pleasant. Really enjoyed staying

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear EvgeniLedenev,
Every guest's tale has a great value for us and we are particularly happy when we find satisfaction in their words. Thanks for being part of the castle, even for one night, and thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were at this unusual and lovely hotel for 2 nights. It is actually a castle on a beauifully well-maintained property with stunning flowers and fruit and vegetable trees and plants, with terrific views of the surrounding countryside of Umbria.
The staff was wonderfully welcoming, warm and helpful in a variety of ways.
Breatkfast(included) was a wonderful buffet of a variety of lovely breads, sweets, fruits, juices, etc. etc. and the service there was excellent. THe breakfast room also had beautiful views.
Parking is on the property and is included.
The hotel is about a 7-8 minute car drive to the center of town.
We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear beverlys796,
thanks for the time spent in writing this review. We agree with your definition of "unusual" and we thank you about the word "lovely" to define the quality of your stay. Your compliments to the staff and the service are very much appreciated and we are so happy that you loved the castle in its particular shape, colours and sorroundings. We hope that the castle will remain in your memories and we would like to give you our welcome again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york use
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A remarkable hotel with great atmosphere and views. Desk staff is helpful with everything from directions to reservations and recommendations of things to do. Both restaurants are excellent, with good food and service. Breakfast is very good, with great food selection and helpful service. Wonderful place to stay and to wander around. Housekeeping staff, however, is below the standards set by the rest of the hotel. Things were often left unclean, supplies were allowed to run out, and, amusingly, our requested extra pillows were carefully put away every day so that we had to search them out each night. They should, however, try to improve the internet service, which seems to cut off frequently and require full sign in procedures to restore; however, this seems to have been a problem all over the region recently. Would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose your room, but be sure to discuss with staff via e-mail. Rooms with outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Gary0126,
thanks for your review about Castello di Monterone and thanks for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor users. Your compliments to the staff are so much appreciated by all of us. We will take into consideration your remark about the housekeeping staff, sorry if you has perceived this as an element of disturb, but we must say that the cleaning activities cover the whole day and they always tend to be respectful of the privacy of our guests.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The castle is as perfect and beautiful in person as you see it in the internet. It's set a little bit away from Perugia but the tranquility is relaxing. View is great. Service, breakfast & food at the restaurant, Il Gradale are impeccable. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear RowenaDG,
Thank you for these beautiful words, we are happy that you felt surprised by the beauty of the castle! It is always good to hear that this place can inspire tranquillity and provide our guest a good relaxing time. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant il Gradale and the service.
We hope to see you again very soon to give you another relaxing experience at Castello.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monterone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.