We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming real castle with amazing view over Perugia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monterone

Save Saved
You added Castello di Monterone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 hotels in Perugia
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming real castle with amazing view over Perugia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed only one night in standard room. Hotel is very good. Located a little aside from perugia but view is worth travelling. Rooms are well sized and good bathroom, some rooms allow amazing view from the bed. Staff is very pleasant. Really enjoyed staying

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear EvgeniLedenev,
Every guest's tale has a great value for us and we are particularly happy when we find satisfaction in their words. Thanks for being part of the castle, even for one night, and thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    50
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
280
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were at this unusual and lovely hotel for 2 nights. It is actually a castle on a beauifully well-maintained property with stunning flowers and fruit and vegetable trees and plants, with terrific views of the surrounding countryside of Umbria.
The staff was wonderfully welcoming, warm and helpful in a variety of ways.
Breatkfast(included) was a wonderful buffet of a variety of lovely breads, sweets, fruits, juices, etc. etc. and the service there was excellent. THe breakfast room also had beautiful views.
Parking is on the property and is included.
The hotel is about a 7-8 minute car drive to the center of town.
We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear beverlys796,
thanks for the time spent in writing this review. We agree with your definition of "unusual" and we thank you about the word "lovely" to define the quality of your stay. Your compliments to the staff and the service are very much appreciated and we are so happy that you loved the castle in its particular shape, colours and sorroundings. We hope that the castle will remain in your memories and we would like to give you our welcome again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york use
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A remarkable hotel with great atmosphere and views. Desk staff is helpful with everything from directions to reservations and recommendations of things to do. Both restaurants are excellent, with good food and service. Breakfast is very good, with great food selection and helpful service. Wonderful place to stay and to wander around. Housekeeping staff, however, is below the standards set by the rest of the hotel. Things were often left unclean, supplies were allowed to run out, and, amusingly, our requested extra pillows were carefully put away every day so that we had to search them out each night. They should, however, try to improve the internet service, which seems to cut off frequently and require full sign in procedures to restore; however, this seems to have been a problem all over the region recently. Would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose your room, but be sure to discuss with staff via e-mail. Rooms with outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Gary0126,
thanks for your review about Castello di Monterone and thanks for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor users. Your compliments to the staff are so much appreciated by all of us. We will take into consideration your remark about the housekeeping staff, sorry if you has perceived this as an element of disturb, but we must say that the cleaning activities cover the whole day and they always tend to be respectful of the privacy of our guests.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The castle is as perfect and beautiful in person as you see it in the internet. It's set a little bit away from Perugia but the tranquility is relaxing. View is great. Service, breakfast & food at the restaurant, Il Gradale are impeccable. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear RowenaDG,
Thank you for these beautiful words, we are happy that you felt surprised by the beauty of the castle! It is always good to hear that this place can inspire tranquillity and provide our guest a good relaxing time. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant il Gradale and the service.
We hope to see you again very soon to give you another relaxing experience at Castello.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you have ever wanted to stay in a castle, pick this one. The castle is completely restored, and has a beautiful view over the valley to the city ( you can also see the castle from the city). There are many patios with sitting areas to enjoy the view. The room was of adequate size, comfortable, and furnished with pieces which fit the ambiance. One negative - the hotel had turned off the air conditioning and had turned on the heated towel rack, which could not be turned off, so we had to be sure to keep the door to the bathroom closed or the room would get too hot, even with the window wide open. Breakfast was excellent. The castle is about a 10 minute drive from the center of Perugia. If you stay here, have a GPS - it is very hard to find. One couple we spoke with did not have a GPS and they said they drove around for 2 hours looking for it. A tip - if you don't want to go to town for dinner and want somewhere nearby to eat other than the hotel's pretentious (and very expensive) Il Postale or the sterile Gradale, go to Ristorante Stella. From the castle, go up the hill and turn right, towards Ponte Valleceppi. In a little while you will see the somewhat seedy looking Hotel Stella on the right. The entrance to the restaurant is around the corner on a side street, under the hotel. Excellent food, a large wine selection, frequented by locals. Check it out on TripAdvisor. They open at 8:00 PM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear AndoverDan,
Thank you for for taking the time to write this review and thank you for recommending the castle to other travelers, this is very rewarding.
We are happy that you enjoyed the room and the views and we apologies if the towel rack was too hot, in certain period of the year we set air conditioning or heating according to the weather conditions. We are very sorry you despise our restaurants: we really believe in the good service and food of il Postale (1 star Michelin) and of il Gradale (traditional cuisine).
If your plans bring you back to Perugia, we hope to see you again at the castle.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of Castello di Monterone. Our junior suite was beautiful and comfortable with fabulous views of Perugia and countryside. My wife is an artist and she has started oil paintings of the landscapes from our windows. The food was exceptionally good at both restaurants and the service was impeccable from management down to the entire staff. The hotel itself and its gardens and environs touched us.
Richard and Anamario

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Richard and Anamario,
thanks for the lovely words spent about your experience at the castle, thanks for appreciating our service, the staff and the beauty of our place. It's true, the view from the castle is very panoramic, anyway, what and honor to be the inspiration of your oil paintings!
We hope you'll keep a nice memory of us, in your paintings as in your hearts.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fortunately we decided for the Castello for our Perugia stay.It´s only about 10 minutes from the city center , there is no reason to stay downtown with such an incredible choice in this city.The castello rooms have some sophisticated details that make them very unique. Breakfast is very good, and there´s no doubt that we´ll choose the castello for a future visit to Perugia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Gaby N,
the words in your review are so nice, thanks for your appreciation!
The castle is a special place (you said "unique": this is another great thing!) and our aim is to work hard every day to deserve this adjective.
We hope to see you soon.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monterone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.