We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monterone

Save Saved
You added Castello di Monterone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 hotels in Perugia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The castle is as perfect and beautiful in person as you see it in the internet. It's set a little bit away from Perugia but the tranquility is relaxing. View is great. Service, breakfast & food at the restaurant, Il Gradale are impeccable. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear RowenaDG,
Thank you for these beautiful words, we are happy that you felt surprised by the beauty of the castle! It is always good to hear that this place can inspire tranquillity and provide our guest a good relaxing time. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant il Gradale and the service.
We hope to see you again very soon to give you another relaxing experience at Castello.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    54
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
290
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you have ever wanted to stay in a castle, pick this one. The castle is completely restored, and has a beautiful view over the valley to the city ( you can also see the castle from the city). There are many patios with sitting areas to enjoy the view. The room was of adequate size, comfortable, and furnished with pieces which fit the ambiance. One negative - the hotel had turned off the air conditioning and had turned on the heated towel rack, which could not be turned off, so we had to be sure to keep the door to the bathroom closed or the room would get too hot, even with the window wide open. Breakfast was excellent. The castle is about a 10 minute drive from the center of Perugia. If you stay here, have a GPS - it is very hard to find. One couple we spoke with did not have a GPS and they said they drove around for 2 hours looking for it. A tip - if you don't want to go to town for dinner and want somewhere nearby to eat other than the hotel's pretentious (and very expensive) Il Postale or the sterile Gradale, go to Ristorante Stella. From the castle, go up the hill and turn right, towards Ponte Valleceppi. In a little while you will see the somewhat seedy looking Hotel Stella on the right. The entrance to the restaurant is around the corner on a side street, under the hotel. Excellent food, a large wine selection, frequented by locals. Check it out on TripAdvisor. They open at 8:00 PM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear AndoverDan,
Thank you for for taking the time to write this review and thank you for recommending the castle to other travelers, this is very rewarding.
We are happy that you enjoyed the room and the views and we apologies if the towel rack was too hot, in certain period of the year we set air conditioning or heating according to the weather conditions. We are very sorry you despise our restaurants: we really believe in the good service and food of il Postale (1 star Michelin) and of il Gradale (traditional cuisine).
If your plans bring you back to Perugia, we hope to see you again at the castle.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of Castello di Monterone. Our junior suite was beautiful and comfortable with fabulous views of Perugia and countryside. My wife is an artist and she has started oil paintings of the landscapes from our windows. The food was exceptionally good at both restaurants and the service was impeccable from management down to the entire staff. The hotel itself and its gardens and environs touched us.
Richard and Anamario

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Richard and Anamario,
thanks for the lovely words spent about your experience at the castle, thanks for appreciating our service, the staff and the beauty of our place. It's true, the view from the castle is very panoramic, anyway, what and honor to be the inspiration of your oil paintings!
We hope you'll keep a nice memory of us, in your paintings as in your hearts.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fortunately we decided for the Castello for our Perugia stay.It´s only about 10 minutes from the city center , there is no reason to stay downtown with such an incredible choice in this city.The castello rooms have some sophisticated details that make them very unique. Breakfast is very good, and there´s no doubt that we´ll choose the castello for a future visit to Perugia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Gaby N,
the words in your review are so nice, thanks for your appreciation!
The castle is a special place (you said "unique": this is another great thing!) and our aim is to work hard every day to deserve this adjective.
We hope to see you soon.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous old castle, beautifully renovated. Friendly staff. 2 significant drawbacks - pretentious food, and hot rooms. The hotel either provides air-conditioning or heating - but the choice is for the whole hotel, so you are unable to control the temperature in the bedroom.

Another small annoyance - order a glass of wine on the terrace, and thats what you get; no nibbles or olives to accompany it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear SAexpat,
thanks for taking your time to share your experience at Castello di Monterone and thanks for loving the atmosphere of our place.
It's a pity that you have found our food "pretentious", we try to keep our menu as simple as possible to meet everyone's needs. We have crisps and olives to serve with our aperitifs. We are sorry if these things missed with your drinks.
Concerning the heating, we change the temperature from air-conditioning to heating (and conversely) when the climate begins to change. At the beginning of each season it may be warm during the day but cool at night, so, we agree with you that it is sometimes impossible to keep a constant temperature, but we check the room more than once in a day for the cleaning and every time we make a check of the temperature, too.
We hope your experience has been positive and we invite you to stay again with us if your travel plans bring you back in Umbria.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you have decent directions on how to find the hotel!
A beautiful hotel on the edge of the city, with lovely gardens filled with rosemary and lavender. Stunning views over countryside towards Perugia, with plenty of 'private' areas to sit away from other people. Each part of the hotel is restored and furnished to a very high standard. The staff were very helpful and friendly during our stay. We had dinner twice in the hotel, and the food was excellent. We thought that the menu was rather odd and confusing, and the dining room could have benefited from some low-lighting rather the canteen-blare. Do ask for a room with a view. Ours had a small window, but it was above head-height, so it felt a little dungeon-like. We would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear cumbrianmclauchlan,
thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are proud to offer a good view on Perugia and relaxing places to our guests and, of course, we are happy to hear that the food experience at the castle is nice too. Thanks for recommending our place to other people. We hope to see you again for another holiday in Umbria.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this lovely hotel for 2 nights. Flight delayed for more than a day. Response to our email notification was really fast and the hotel was so kind to extend our booking for the next two days keeping the same rate. Gave us ease of mind and save the cost of forfeiting the first night. The staff are terrific, very kind and helpful. We arrived at around 3pm. They still offered us late lunch at the terrace. The food was simple but excellently prepared, a real joy after a long drive from the airport. Although arriving late, we still managed to drive to Perugia and spent a lovely evening there. It is about some 15 minutes drive and walking round town is relaxing. Plenty of lovely restaurants there for dinner.

The hotel is located mid way up the hill, can see Perugia from afar. Setting is very quiet, full of greens around. All rooms are different. Our room is a bit small but enough. Has a big window opened to the courtyard. Room is clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast is good with bread freshly made. With a cup of hot coffee or tea, a lovely start for the day indeed. We had dinner at the hotel for the second evening at the traditional restaurant. Very good food and portion very large, too full to finish all the courses for the set dinner, what a regret. Due to our delay, our reservation at their michelin star restaurant II Postale had to be cancelled and too bad it was fully booked during our stay. Do make a prior reservation if you wish to try.

This is a very nice place to stay to explore Umbria with a car. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Second floor has no lift service and you need to climb the stairs. Choose higher grade room for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear JWAC,
thanks a lot for your long review about us! All the staff thank you for the appreciation of our hospitality: simple things but truly made. This is what we aim to, every day.
It's a pity that you missed your table at Il Postale, but it could be another experience during your second travel to Umbria and Castello di Monterone ;-)
Concerning your little remark, the elevator serves all the levels of the castle, including 2nd floor. Only a few of our rooms cannot be reached through elevator.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monterone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.