We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monterone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castello di Monterone to your Saves list
Castello di Monterone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to leave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the castle and it was so hard to leave to continue on our trip. We immediately felt relaxed, calm and restful, and after 4 full days running around Rome...we needed it! Be sure to plan some time to just sleep in, enjoy the beautiful breakfast buffet and explore the castle grounds. It is more beautiful than can be described here and while the rooms were on the small side, they were not as small as I feared. Everything was very comfortable and when Francesco said, "the castle is at your disposal" he wasn't kidding. Take a bottle of wine up to the roof top patio and enjoy the view. Do not hesitate to stay here if you are in the area - we would go back tomorrow if we could.

PS: Be sure to see Assisi nearby - one of our favorite stops!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Del Rosone Room. Lovely views of the cloister (courtyard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Dreyfuss,
We are so pleased by these wonderful words, your review can only inspire us to improve further.
Thank you for recommending the castle, we are so happy you appreciated the room, the views, the grounds and the breakfast.
We are so glad that the castle was a place of relax and serenity, we like to think that this can also be a refuge, a place where everyone can feel at home.
For this reasons we take care about every guest, this is what we are here for and we are delighted in doing this. All the staff tries to put its warmth and personality in every little help, because we think that the right atmosphere can enhance the comfort and the quality of people's stay. It is very good to know that it was hard for you to leave!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    72
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
365
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great hotel, great service, great place all around. A little bit out of the city center but its not really an issue. A true gem of a place!

If we are ever back in Perugia will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear MCWj,
we cannot wait the time you decide to come back, then!
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor, we definitely return your "thank you": your visit and your compliments represent an enormous gift for us!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staying at this hotel was the highlight of our trip to italy! From the moment you find the hotel (a little tricky) you become enchanted with the beauty of the grounds, the character of the hotel and the sweeping views all around! This property is stunning. The room we stayed in which was on the top floor was very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was not only functional but it was also very beautiful. You feel like you are in a spa. The staff at the hotel are extremely accommodating and willing to answer any questions you may have about the history of the Castle, the current hotel or the surrounding area. The pool area is small but really peaceful and picturesque. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the service was impeccable. We dined at the restaurant Il Postale, which was a great culinary experience but the service was a bit awkward yet friendly. I highly recommend this hotel. It offers a wonderfully unique experience and is top notch in all ways. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in the Etruscan room (I think that is what they called it) and it was really lovely and on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Martymass,
thank you so much for the nice words about your experience at the castle!
Your praises to the peace, beauty and the history of the castle gives us an incredible sense of satisfaction, because explaining the preciosity of this place is our daily challenge. We cannot be but incredibly happy if you decide to come back to us.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The grounds, the rooms, the staff awsome. Fantastic food! Love it and will have to go back. We stayed in two diffrent rooms both were well appointed. One did not have a viewable window, I felt boxed in so we switched rooms. A full on breakfast every morning with eggs and sauge.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Beutyblu,
your review has been so beautiful...thank you! You have titled it "my own castle": that's exactly what we aim to! We would like people to feel the castle as their home, so thanks a lot for finding the familiar into something that might sound unusual. We would love if you decide to come back one day. We hope to see you again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I planned on proposing to my girlfriend during our 7 day holiday to Castiglioni Del Lago, and I was having trouble finding the perfect place for a surprise, mid-holiday, night away. So many places were either too far, too expensive, too busy, to touristy etc, and for a proposal this wasn't what I was looking for. Then I stumbled across the Castello di Monterone, and I was immediately captivated. It was exactly what I was looking for. I was cautious about not being able to visit the castle first, but the ultra helpful staff uploaded additonal photo's, offered me advice, discussed proposal ideas with me, and were fantastic and reassuring in every way. Once we arrived at the castle we were not disappointed. The room (Le Feritoie) was beautiful, the service was exceptional, the views were breathtaking, and we even had champagne and amuse bouche on the terrace, as the manager, Francesco, described the history of the castle to us personally.
I cannot sing their praises enough and will be forever grateful to the staff (especially Anna) for helping to create the best day of our lives so far.

Room Tip: Our lovely room was Le Feritoie, however I have a feeling that every room in the place would be perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Responsabile reception at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear James R,
your sincere words are so nice, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! It's something amazing that you have felt so much attraction for the castle, from the very first time. And it was a double joy for us to know that your day at the castle was the most important day of your life. We loved your appreciation for the staff, that is always happy to help someone who wants their whishes come true at the castle: Francesco has been pleased to introduce the castle to you, just like inviting someone to his house. Me (Anna), I have been pleased too to help you and listening to your feelings before the important moment of the wedding proposal. It's not only the job of hospitality, it's something more: we feel that someone's life comes to be part of your place in a different way, so we understand that the happiness of that people depends on you, in some ways...we cannot do but our best, then ! We strongly hope that your future occasions will be at the castle again.

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This Castle was the highlight of our return trip to Italy. We felt quite fortunate to stay several nights inside these fortress walls. Discovered the roof top access on our final evening, under a canopy of stars. Our Secret room was the best kept secret. It may not have a view but makes up for it in it's size and the amazing bathroom accommodations.
We so enjoyed our buffet breakfasts outside in the garden each morning. Great cappuccinos!
Thank you for making my dreams come true!

Room Tip: Camera Secreto, "the secret room" has a beautiful, large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Floralfriend,

WOW...Thank YOU !

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had two nights here, we stayed in the suite overlooking Perugia, which you could not fault you could sit in bed and admire the views, the room was spacious and the bathroom well equipped. The reception staff were really hospitable and got us road maps of the region which we didn't have and told us of places to see in such a short time. We had dinner in the restaurant twice we sat on the terrace area overlooking Perugia, and both occasions the food was excellent, the waiting staff were attentive but not overpowering and the food was very reasonably priced for the quality.The restaurant was busy so it is advisable to book. Breakfast was good, a good selection they were a little slow to replenish and possibly they could put the water into chillers but that was my only moan! If I was to fault the hotel, the lunch menu is very basic they could easily improve this by offering pasta with a choice of a few sauces or salads,it wouldn't need to be fancy, we ordered parma ham and toasted mozarella sandwich and it was just that no garnish two slices of white bread and a bit of filling and the pizza which could have easily been home made but it wasn't and overcooked! The hotel is very peaceful with a small swimming pool, loungers and a further garden to relax in. A lovely stay with very nice staff, from reception to housekeeping to waiting.

Room Tip: We had Camera delle Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear sebax,
thank you so much for the lovely words of your review! It has been a pleasure to be your peaceful place for 2 nights. It's true, the castle is a relaxing place, thanks to its position, just in the middle of the countryside, and it's so nice that you loved this landscape. We also appreciate that you had nice human relations with all the staff: we like to be at your disposal if you need any help.
We await for you again, for another relaxing stay in Umbria.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
10.4 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.6 mi away
Brufani Palace Hotel
Brufani Palace Hotel
#8 of 68 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#2 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
4.3 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monterone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.