We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Perugia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Signa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Signa to your Saves list
Hotel Signa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Grillo 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Perugia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were travelling round as a family (mum plus 2 grown up daughters) and wanted a reasonably priced sure bet place to stay in Perugia. The Hotel Signa was lovely. Very comfortable and clean, with lovely friendly helpful staff. We were offered an upgrade of room on arrival for only 5 euros extra per night, which we took. This meant we were staying just down the road, in a lovely spacious room with great air con. The bathroom was beautifully clean, and just fine for 3 of us. The room and location were great. We were a lovely 10/15 mins walk from the very top of Perugia, and just the right distance away in terms of it not being too noisy. The area is very quaint and light. The only slight down side was that in the annexe building where we were, there was some noise from other rooms at night (furniture moving, TV, plumbing) - but nothing that a good pair of ear plugs couldn't sort. And my daughters had no problem sleeping through it. We thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay in Perugia and the lovely Hotel Signa really helped in that enjoyment.

Room Tip: Choose the annexe if you want air con. But if you are very noise sensitive, maybe stay in the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    138
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
176
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited Perugia alone mainly for a jazz concert. The hotel's location was interesting and perfect for both jazz festival and sightseeing (including Archaeological Museum just opposite which I sadly didn't have time for). Very nice and helpful people, speaking English, good atmosphere, breakfast outside (or inside if you wish). My room was an 'economy' one, which was exactly what I needed, very small yet still surprisingly well organised, clean and cool. I'd like to come back with my family and try a less 'economy' option in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Jacek,

thank you for your beautiful review, we're happy you had a so nice stay even if you stayed in our smallest (but also cheapest) room!!

We'll be happy to meet your family in the future!

Kindest regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great 2 * hotel just outside the main centre of Perugia but within easy walking distance of everything. After reading all the reviews we paid the extra & had a room with a small terrace & great views on the second floor - it was worth it !
Mario, the owner, was very helpful. Parking on the Main Street outside ( Cavour) is free with a parking sign providing by the hotel.
No wifi in the room but fine in the reception/ breakfast area.
We loved Perugia & will return to Hotel Signa on our next trip.

Room Tip: Second floor room with terrace & views -worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Di-Syd,

thanks for your nice review!

For the readers... we solved (on August 2014) the problem of wi-fi for the rooms #234 and #236 (both Superior with terrace) now the wi-fi arrives also in those rooms!!

Kindest regards,
Mario Signa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After visiting Italy 12 times we thought we had seen all we needed to see. We were wrong! We visited Umbria and fell in love with Italy all over. This region of Italy has so much to offer and the beauty is outstanding..the food, the wine, the villages, the scenery, the people.
Our holiday was made even more endearing when we stayed at Hotel Signa and met Mario and his family. They own the charming, lovely, inviting hotel in Perugia. When I sent my first email requesting a reservation I knew we would enjoy our stay at Hotel Signa. We were not disappointed. The room with the balcony view, the breakfast, the location, the price all lived up to our expectations. The staff is the most accommodating people and never was any request too much. Mario was our personal holiday planner! We asked for sightseeing recommendations and Mario knew everything and his recommendations helped us to fall in love with Umbria. Hotel Signa is truly a treasure in Umbria. As with so many times in the past the only regret is we had to leave and will not see Hotel Signa, Mario and his family, and the staff until another visit to Italy. Number lucky 13!
La ringrazio molto e abbracci e baci

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent six nights at the Hotel Signa, which was such a nice little family-owned hotel. It is located perfectly for seeing the sites and the room was so clean and comfortable. We had an amazing view from our second-floor balcony! The owners and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. In advance they sent us directions, as well as helping us with ideas about sites in and around Perugia. Perugia was a very beautiful and entertaining place for a visit; we also took a couple of day trips (Assisi and Spoleto), with the staff helping us with bus and train timetables. We are so thankful for all of the assistance and attention given to us! Our stay was very restful! Thomas and Pat

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was so happy and relaxed at Hotel Signa, wishing I could have stayed longer than nine nights.!!
My room was fantastic and I thank Mario for suggesting it to me in emails. It was bright with doors to a large private balcony with beautiful panoramas of the valley The room had everything to provide a comfortable stay...hair dryer, safe, electric pot to heat hot water, coffee and tea bags,etc and a refrigerator and TV....even a lovely Italian detail of a doily on the side table. The room was extremely clean, with daily room service and very quiet. and safe
This is a lovely hotel with lovely,kind and helpful staff and family members taking care of me.
I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return.
I was very fortunate to have found this hotel on the internet
Virginia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I loved this place. The staff was wonderful, the room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and my window overlooked the private garden belonging to the hotel. And it was quiet at night. I'd definitely stay there again next time I'm in Perugia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Signa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signa

Address: Via del Grillo 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Signa 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run Hotel situated in a quiet area of the historical center. Hotel Signa, renewed on 2007, features free wi-fi, free parking, bar, garden, bike-area, library.The main street of Perugia (Corso Vannucci) is at just 600 meters; the bus terminal of Piazza Partigiani is at 500 meters; the Minimetro terminal is at 400 meters.Hotel Signa provides different kinds of ensuite rooms with led-tv and free wi-fi:- economy, small and essential;- standard, more comfortable;- plus/superior with panoramic view, air conditioning, safebox;- plus/superior with also terrace and minibar.Ask by email for the best offer, room images and maps with directions to get the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Signa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signa Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Signa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.