We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Signa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Signa to your Saves list
Hotel Signa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Grillo 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Signa and highly recommend it. It’s definitely worth paying just a little more for a ‘plus’ room, ours had a terrace and a fantastic view. Our room was clean and comfortable, as were the public spaces. The garden is a nice spot for a coffee or glass of wine. All staff members were extremely pleasant and helpful. Prices are reasonable, there is free wifi throughout the hotel and a safe in the room. We hope to return to Perugia and would definitely stay at Hotel Signa again.

Room Tip: Request a room with terrace and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your excellent review!

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Signa!

I advice other readers that our PLUS (or SUPERIOR) rooms have panoramic view, air conditioning and safebox. Just 3 of them also have balcony, so I kindly suggest to ask for it at the moment of the reservation!

Have a nice summer,
best regards!

Mario Signa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    136
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
175
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this small hotel in Perugia for 5 nights when we holidayed in Umbria with friends in May 2012 and I have to say that we were very impressed.
Being family owned and run, emphasis is placed on service, quality, cleanliness and friendliness. Indeed, some of the larger more expensive hotels in the world could learn a thing or 2 from this little gem.
Our rooms which had balconies with terrific views over the surrounding countryside were well proportioned, clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast consisted of croissants, bread, cereal, juice, coffee and although nothing fancy was pretty decent all the same. Evening meals are not catered for but there are plenty of good quality, good value restaurants and pizzerias nearby and the town centre, with even more choice to eat is only 10 minutes walk.
To sum up - a very good value-for-money hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Mrs. and Mr. Begg,

thank you for your review and your beautiful words!!

It had been a pleasure to meet you and we hope you'll come again!

Kind regards,
Mario Signa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I would definitely recommend Hotel Signa. The service was excellent and it was located within easy access to the old city center. The accommodations were a good value for the money and I was made to feel very welcome by all of the staff during my 4 day visit. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Julie,

thank you very much for your stay and your review!

It is really important for us your appreciation, because you stayed in an ECONOMY SINGLE room, for sure not our best tipology!!

Hoping to meet you again,
kind regards

Mario Signa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I had previously stayed at Hotel Signa for 1 night while on a cycling holiday in 2011. Although not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination, we were made to feel so welcome and comfortable that it was our first choice when we (two couples) visited Perugia again for 5 nights in May 2012. We opted for the superior rooms and were rewarded with superb balconies and views over the Umnbrian countryside. The real value, however, is in the warmth of the welcome and the location of the hotel, especially given the price of the rooms. The family who own the hotel are very helpful and accommodating. All the staff are pleasant and it is cear that they want all of their guests to enjoy their time in the beutiful city of Perugia. Wifi is free. The breakfast is simple (bread, croissants, cereal, juice, coffee) and of good quality, but no buffet available. There are a number of very high quality pizzerias and restaurants within 2 minutes walk of the hotel, while the centre of the old town is just less than 10 minutes walk. The basilica of St Peter (S Pietro) is one of the richest and most adorned churches in all of Italy. It is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel and must be seen. As for the city of Perugia itself, this is a fascinating and beautiful place. I would highly recommend joining the locals on the steps of the cathedral in the early evening, sipping a beer from any of the nearly shops, and watching the world go by before dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room if booking in advance, although there are only a few available. If not availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Mark and Mrs. B.,

thank you to stay again in our hotel, this time with your friends, for a longer time and in a better room!!!

We're happy that you choose us again and that you enjoyed your two stays, so we hope to meet you in the future for the third time!!

Have a nice summer,
kind regards

Mario Signa and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

this hotel is lokcated in a small sidepath from mainroad, easy wolk of old city center, calm and worth the price

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I recommend Hotel Signa very much! The location is excellent, about a 10-minute walk to the center of the city, and a few meters away from the Archaeology Museum. I stayed in a room with a view, and it was gorgeous. It had a little terrace and I enjoyed the sunny mornings there. Every member of the staff was very kind and friendly; the rooms were quiet and clean. Next time I stay in Perugia, I will stay there!
I also would like to recommend the restaurant Locanda do Pazzi, a few meters from the hotel. The owners of the hotel recommended it. The service was excellent, the food really delicious, and the restaurant was cozy and charming.

Room Tip: If you spend a bit more, you may request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Hotel Signa is a great place to stay if you're looking for some place near to the center of Perugia. The owners and staff are extremely nice and helpful and the rooms are kept very clean and organized. There are tons of bars and resturants near by as well as easy access to public transportation. Its in the perfect location, not right in the center which would be too hectic, but in walking distance. I stayed there for 7 nights and had absolutely nothing to complain about, I would definitely choose to stay at Hotel Signa again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Signa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signa

Address: Via del Grillo 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Signa 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run Hotel situated in a quiet area of the historical center. Hotel Signa, renewed on 2007, features free wi-fi, free parking, bar, garden, bike-area, library.The main street of Perugia (Corso Vannucci) is at just 600 meters; the bus terminal of Piazza Partigiani is at 500 meters; the Minimetro terminal is at 400 meters.Hotel Signa provides different kinds of ensuite rooms with led-tv and free wi-fi:- economy, small and essential;- standard, more comfortable;- plus/superior with panoramic view, air conditioning, safebox;- plus/superior with also terrace and minibar.Ask by email for the best offer, room images and maps with directions to get the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Signa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signa Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Signa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.