We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Domus Volumnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Domus Volumnia to your Saves list
Residence Domus Volumnia
Via Assisiana 49, 06135 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Perugia
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Large rooms but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I rated this property"average" because I learned to expect a lot less in Italy. We rented this 1-bedroom apartment through RCI travel which was a mistake. The price was higher and when we got there, we were informed that the continental breakfast, or even coffee, was not included, and that we could use the pool, but we would have to pay an additional $45 per week to sit on a lounge chair, use the hot tub or any other facility. Based on the "amenities" listed you might think there is WiFi in the rooms. No. There is one computer for guests to use in the tiny check-in area, where other guests sit in the only other chair looking at you while they wait to use the computer.

Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we had to lug our own bags up 39 steps- no elevator or porter. There was parking available close to the room but I found I was going back and forth up those steps a lot. It would not be good for anyone who has trouble with steps. Our rooms were large and bedding OK. There was a nice balcony off the living room that had a great view. There were 5 or 6 large antique cabinets in the apartment that were attractive but empty and useless. The living room had two fold up beds that served as uncomfortable couches, one large dining table, no coffee table or end tables. The room safe was a joke. It's not bolted down and, as far as I could tell, every staff member is privy to the only combination so if you leave anything in it when you go out, they can just open it or carry it away. The hotel building is inches away from the main road between Perugia and Ponte San Giovanni. It is a small road, but full of traffic and very noisy. Our bedroom window looked out on this road and we found it hard to sleep after 6 AM due to trucks, cars and the high whine of motor scooters racing up and down the hill. There was a usable kitchen (two burners, microwave, large refrig, sink, cabinets, a few dishes and pans). We had booked for a week, they made the bed and put in new towels once. I had to clean a lot before we checked out because they charge you $40 if you don't return the kitchen clean enough to meet their approval.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road and if you have a problem with steps make sure they place you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente,
la ringrazio del commento e dei suggerimenti e le rispondiamo per far capire meglio la struttura e i servizi erogati ai prossimi ospiti .
il Residence Domus Volumnia ha due tipi di clientela, una per i servizi giornalieri come hotel e un’altra per permanenze settimanali che sono utilizzati da membri da un'organizzazione internazionale RCI.
Le rispondo in qualità di proprietario della struttura, ma anche di membro timeshare RCI che come lei utilizza le settimane scambio, o extra, per fare vacanze in Italia e nel mondo con valori di scambio diversi in base alla proprietà scambiata.
Il nostro Residence- casa vacanze, selezionato e omologato agli standard internazionali garantiti da RCI, offre ai propri membri appartamenti completamente arredati e attrezzati, molto utili per chi vuole sentirsi a casa propria, riposare come vuole senza vincolo di orari, mangiare cucinando da se stessi e vivere in piena autonomia.
Questa formula, il cui gradimento è soggettivo, è diversa della vita proposta da un hotel, dai servizi dell’hotel e dai costi dell’hotel che risultano molto superiori.
Credo che da questa differenza sostanziale si debba partire per una valutazione della sua settimana vacanze, in cui ha avuto la possibilità di vivere come a casa sua in un bell’ appartamento, godere liberamente e gratuitamente di giardino, parcheggio, piscina, palestra e wi-fi, di entrare ed uscire a suo piacimento, di intrattenersi con altri ospiti stranieri e vivere, se ha voluto, a contatto di persone locali e conoscere cultura e modi di vivere italiani, inoltre le abbiamo dato possibilità di chiedere servizi aggiuntivi a pagamento.

Come anche lei ha riconosciuto la grandezza degli alloggi, la qualità dell’arredamento e dei tanti servizi offerti è al di sopra di altre situazioni che ha conosciuto in Italia e di questo la ringraziamo.
Infatti, ogni appartamento è composto di camera, bagno, soggiorno-cucina completamente attrezzata. Come da convenzione con RCI l’appartamento viene consegnato pulitissimo, a metà settimana viene eseguito un riassetto con cambio biancheria da bagno e a fine settimana di nuovo pulizie generali.
La pulizia della cucina con stoviglie e pentole, il portare al cassonetto la spazzatura differenziata sono incarichi lasciati ai clienti proprio per un concetto autonomo di vacanza e qualora richiesto, viene effettuato al costo “comprensibile” di 25 euro.

La formula di settimana vacanza RCI è convenzionata, ovvero prevede un prezzo molto conveniente per l’uso di un appartamento e ogni altra richiesta facoltativa è a pagamento come extra:
la colazione continentale o internazionale può essere richiesta, cosi come pasti e degustazioni specifiche,
Vasca idromassaggio, ombrelloni, sdraie, barbecue, poltrone ecc. sono servizi aggiuntivi all’appartamento che offriamo ai membri RCI al costo di 30 euro a settimana che ci sembra molto “comprensibile”.
Anche il cambio giornaliero delle lenzuola se richiesto viene effettuato ed ha un costo di 20 €.
Anche andare a cavallo, o in barca a vela, o un massaggio vanno considerati servizi aggiuntivi, sono facoltativi, ed hanno naturalmente un costo, peraltro molto competitivo!!

Il problema della rumorosità a cui fa riferimento e di cui ci scusiamo, è stato causato dalla momentanea deviazione del traffico dalla strada principale a quella che costeggia la struttura che è secondaria.
Certamente tutto è migliorabile e come detto la ringraziamo delle osservazioni, ma le chiediamo gentilmente per una prossima occasione, di non fare le sue osservazioni alla fine della sua vacanza o una volta partito, sicuramente troverà in ogni struttura che la ospiterà, se lei farà presenti le sue richieste, tutte le risposte che possano soddisfare le sue esigenze..

Le invio con l’occasione i miei personali ringraziamenti nella speranza di averla ancora nostro ospite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiesloch, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids 6 and 9) stayed for 3 days during our trip down south. Very nice location, the house and the garden are just wonderful, room/furniture was tasty, lots of details.
Atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.
Lunch/dinner is available at request, ingredients bought fresh from the market and cooked "on demand".
Weely bbq is a must, 25 € per person is a more than fair price for the menue and drinks that have been served.
Kids loved the pool and the dogs...
we will come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sirs,
normally in this space we receive comments and suggestions are always useful to improve services and accommodation, but your comment is more than a recognition of our daily commitment that gives us real satisfaction. THANK YOU ..
We are waiting for you next year ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked this place because of great reviews on Tripadvisor, but we where very disappointed. We had a roof top apartment with bad insulation, so the apartment was so hot and smelled old and stuffy. The AC was very old and extremely noisy! It was not able to cool the room down. We only stayed the first night with no sleep at all because it was so hot and noisy, and the bed was very uncomfortable. We couldn't leave the windows open neither because of noise from the highway, which is only 50-100 meters away. The apartment was very dark, it only had two roof windows, and we could not look out the windows unless we were toe standing. We checked out the following morning. The garden looked pretty nice though, with great views of the landscape and Perugia. Lots of flowers and a pavillon. The pool also looked nice, but we found out it would cost 30 € per person per week to use the sun loungers and umbrellas!!! I have never heard anything like that. I think that was the last straw that made us leave the place. The breakfast was terrible too. It only consisted of small pieces of packed toast, butter and jam... We could not stay a minute longer and found a much better place for the same price. Maybe it would be okay if the apartment was not under the roof, but I would never recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sirs,
we thank you for the comments that you have directed, they are certainly very strict, we will try to learn from all your suggestions hoping to surprise you with the quality of the changes that we've made ​​to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were planning a trip to Italy for my family as a Christmas gift. I did not go to a travel agent, but plan the entire trip on the Internet. My wife thought I was crazy and was not impressed that I started our vacation in Perguia, which she never heard of.

Our trip encompassed not only Perguia, but also Sicily and Rome. Needless to say, at the end of the trip everyone in my family loved Perguia and Domus Volumnia the best. The owners, Roberta and Rossano are hands on owners who treat you like family, with Roberta's cooking that is unbelievable in taste and presentation.

The have a patio in their backyard that overlooks a beautiful hill with tables for dining and a couch grouping area that we spent a lot of time at just enjoying the scenery.

But the crown jewel of this hotel is Michaela, the hostess and girl Friday of Domus. She does everything for you to enjoy your stay and guided us to the many beautiful towns and villages in the Perguia area. She was so wonderful, that my wife and I invited her to our home this Fall to visit NYC as our guest. And for you single guys----------she is incredible beautiful and single!

Do not miss this both Domus Volumnia and Perguia when planning a trip to Italy.

Richard Latrenta

Room Tip: The rooms at ground level are larger and easier to access. We stay in the upstairs rooms and the cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
dear sirs,
sorry if we have not answered immediately,
thank you a lot for pleasure and satisfaction you express ..
this give much joy to all of us, including the staff that you did not know
who work behind the scenes.
We try to have cordial relations and human relationships with all customers,
but your kindness and friendliness was very special and we really contaminated
and we often think of you
thank you in the name of Michela who often looks at his holiday program
and dreams to come to New York to visit you ... but beware she is said that sooner or later she'll come!

we hope that you can return to Italy and to see you again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of our 1 week stay in Perugia. The owner/managers of this villa are very friendly, helpful and accomdating. (They kept a warm dinner ready for our late arrival from Rome.) The property is very nicely kept and offers a wonderful view of the area. The villa is surrounded olive orchards. Because we were going to be visiting other cities and towns other than Perugia, we rented a car. They had ample parking space.
There are spa facilities available, but at additional cost. (We didn't need them as were planning to travel about.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
thanks ..
observations reward our work.
it is true that good sowing gathers even more good ...
the wait for a new holiday..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed here with my husband and two children ages 9 and 11 for one week. For us it was a time share exchange, so I didn't even look to see what comperable properties would cost, but with family, enjoyed the convenience of an apartment, albiet a small one. The kids slept on a small pull out couch in the livingroom/diningroom/ kitchen area that we had to make up each day.It was a tight fit for the four of us, but we weren't in the room very much. It would be perfect for a couple or family with small children. The family who runs the property lives upstairs and cooks meals by request. We did not eat there but the wine was good! They had a lovely pool but it was closed in October- also a spa area. Laundry for a fee. As for location, it is not within walking distance of perugia. We did not have a car, but there is a funky little "local" train that runs sporadically up and down the hill about a 10 minute walk away. It actually suited our needs just fine.It was chocolate festival week when we were there and town was packed so we appreciated the quiet of our place. The bedroom is extremely comfortable in the fall (no A/C?) the pull out not so great for two.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusv, Proprietario at Residence Domus Volumnia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sirs,
thank you for the comment that it is always useful to improve the structure and services.
As you have seen, we have studios and apartments: certainly an apartment would be much more comfortable for 4 people.
We hope you will return to the Domus Volumnia in a favorable season to enjoy the pool and the garden which I think you liked it a lot.

we are waiting ... thanks again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Domus Volumnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Domus Volumnia

Address: Via Assisiana 49, 06135 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Domus Volumnia is in an liberty villa of the early '900, outside of Perugia, between city and countryside, immersed in the typical Umbria landscape and near the Ipogeo Etrusco dei Volumi. Composed of six apartments tastefully and completely furnished, equipped all services for a comfortable, refined and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Domus Volumnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Domus Volumnia Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Domus Volumnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.