We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Amazing art, workshop, and artists! Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli

Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli
Fatebenefratelli 2, 06121 Perugia, Italy
+39 340 776 5594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 64 attractions in Perugia
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museo Laboratorio Moretti Caselli making and restoration of stained glass windows and of works of artSince 1860, for five generations, a family of artists has been making painted and baked stained-glass windows in the historic centre of Perugia.The Moretti Caselli Studio is located in a fifteenth-century residence that once belonged to the Baglioni family.Visitors can plunge into history and the activity of the past by enjoying guided visits by appointment.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing art, workshop, and artists! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Maddalena guided us through the workshops that have been in her family for 150 years and taught us about the process of making stained glass art. We saw models and sketches as well as work done by many members of her family. Much of what is here belongs in a more formal museum where more people could see it but we loved our private visit and urge readers not to miss this special experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As seasoned travellers we have seen many displays of artisanship in many different countries. This is by far the richest sensory experience we have had anywhere. It all started with a little non-descript door in a laneway that opened into an archive, workshops and display areas. Our host took us through her family history and achievements and the traditions handed down to her. She was passionate about her craft and her knowledge was exceptional. She was a constant supply of information. The most amazing item was the portrait of Queen Margherita. We stood and stared at it for ages as its magic was explained to us. It is simply breath taking - on par with any portrait you will see in the Louvre - and being on glass seems to bring an extra dimension of life. Italy has many beautiful things to see - for us this ranks with the very best.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a private tour around this old building where there has been 5 generations of a family designing, restoring and making stained glass windows. There was no cost although a donation was welcomed. We had a 1 hour tour & the time flew by. This is a must!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A unique opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited here on a Tuesday after making arrangements ahead of time for a tour and a short workshop. Although it was a bit difficult to find, it turned out that it was right outside one of the exits from under the Rocca. After you exit from the underground, make an immediate right and the street turns into Fatebenefratelli.

We had an excellent tour of the museum with the history both of the building and of the stained glass making discussed. We learned about the making of the stained glass of the "Last Supper" for Forest Lawn and saw some fabulous examples of stained glass including one of the "queen" which was superb.

We then elected to do a short workshop to make a few small stained glass items to hang in our windows. This can easily be arranged through the website and gives one a better understanding of the technique and time involved in the process. There are also some items for sale as well for those interested.

Maddalena was a wonderful host and spoke English well enough to be able to communicate effectively with us.

This experience certainly gave us new insight and appreciation for the many stained glass windows we saw throughout our trip in Italy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Work to fit it in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had to manipulate our schedule a little bit to be able to fit in a visit to this place (it's only open from 10-1 on Tuesdays!), but it was MORE than worth it. We found the little door, rang the bell, and a lovely man answered and gave us a personal tour of the "archives" (they have books on alchemy that are hundreds of years old just sitting on a bookshelf for him to pick up and leaf through), walked through the space, which contains all kinds of pieces of stained glass, and showed us the workspace where they were actually working on painting pieces of stained glass. The stories he gave us about the history of the workshop and the artisans was just beyond interesting. Any stained glass we saw for the remainder of our trip was all the more appreciated for our understanding of the process. There was no admission fee, but a donation was requested, and we were more than happy to give it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaddiPerugia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am very happy that our museum-workshop you enjoyed and thank you for the beautiful comment!
I would warn you and the other tourists that the museum is open on Tuesdays from 10 to 13 without a reservation but all the other days to be visited by booking number 340 7765594.
thanks
Best regards

Sono molto contenta che il nostro Museo-laboratorio vi sia piaciuto e vi ringrazio per il bellissimo commento!
Vorrei avvertire voi e gli altri turisti che il museo è aperto il martedì dalle 10 alle 13 senza prenotazione ma tutti gli altri giorni è visitabile prenotando al numero 340 7765594.
Grazie.
Un saluto
I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli also viewed

 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museo-Laboratorio di Vetrate Artistiche Moretti Caselli to your Saves list