We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonazzi

Hotel Bonazzi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bonazzi to your Saves list
Hotel Bonazzi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Bonazzi, 55, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Montréal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Came in to Perugia during rush hour. A very busy and confusing city for first-timers! Kept running through the same turnabout that had us going through the tunnel and down to the stadium. We were lucky a Good Samaritan escorted us to the front door! We were given a hotel parking permit for public parking near the Piazza Italia but it did take a while to find a spot just below the Rocca Paolina. An international congress on journalism had the city parking, restaurants and hotels booked solid. Back to the Bonazzi; welcoming hosts, clean room, decent breakfast, acceptably comfortable bed, good feeling of security and excellent location all make it a good bet. Oh! And of course, the requisite Perugienese chocolate on the pillow at night! Just study a good map beforehand

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    5
    13
    7
See reviews for
2
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The hotel is clean, safe, and family run. They were helpful, suggesting good restaurants, and even suffered through my basic Italian. Rooms are standard size for Europe, meaning smaller than Americans are used to. We skipped the optional breakfast, choosing to go to the Italian bars and pastry shops instead. Good location means inside the old part of Perugia, within walking distance of everything. The biggest problem was driving a car to the hotel and finding a parking place. If driving I would recommend parking at the train station and taking the shuttle train up the hill which deposits you a few blocks from the hotel. We didn't have need of heat or air conditioning so I can't comment on those items.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We recently stayed at Hotel Bonazzi for 3 nights during a month-long tour around Italy. We had a fantastic stay - the owners are a husband and wife team (Paulo, the husband speaks great English and has a fondness for Australians and Formula 1) who were really friendly and helpful.

The breakfast served each day in the small, cozy reception area was outstanding. Breakfast and coffee is served to your table, (cappucino available), along with croissants, fresh rolls, jams and cheese, along with yoghurt and cereal if you wish, and fantastic juice. Much more personal and nicer than the all-in buffet-style feeding troughs that larger hotels offer.

The room was a great size (by European standards), exceptionally clean and quiet. Our one small discomfort was that whilst there was airconditioning, it is not individually set in each room, so was a little warmer than we were expecting.

The location was fantastic, just a short (2 minute) stroll from the main piazza up inside central Perugia (inside the city walls on top of the hill). We would definitely recommend staying up there, rather than down the hill out of Perugia.

On the whole, the experience was terrific and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Really clean, quiet and central
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

The hotel is ideally located in the old city near the Piazza Italia and within easy walking distance to all the important sights of Perugia. The rooms are neat, clean, functional and quiet. Breakfast includes cereal, rolls, juice and coffee – more than enough to start the day. The value received for the price paid equals a great bargain. The unique aspect of your stay here, however, will be the owners – a husband and wife team. From the moment you arrive until you leave they will be there to help you. They gave me suggestions, directions and great conversation (in English or Italian). They even made a special trip to the store to buy an adapter for my computer. On my next trip to Umbria I will be staying at the Bonazzi.


Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2005

Room was clean but small, despite advertising that room facilities included
mini bar, safe, hair dryer, tea & coffe facilites,
NONE were available in our room
The hallway was air conditioned but NOT the room
The satellite TV had no English channels available
Breakfast was minimal
Construction work within the building commenced at 6 am with a series of loud bangs

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2004

Small hotel with small rooms and even smaller bathrooms. On the plus side it's squeaky clean, and the location is good - a couple of minutes walk from the main piazza. But it's a bit basic, especially for the price. The couple who run it are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is dire, even by Italian standards. Parking's a problem in Perugia: the hotels have a small number of 'reserved' spaces (get a coupon from the hotel to show on the windscreen) but everyone else uses them too. If you can find a space, it's not far from the Bonazzi. Here's a tip: don't stay in Perugia! Head for Assisi and the Hotel Fontebella instead. Better, cheaper and you can drive into Perugia (or take a train) in 15 minutes. Another Perugia tip: eat at Vecchia Perusia. Anarchic but fun (you'll see why), and great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bonazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonazzi

Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi, 55, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonazzi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and friendly hotel ubicate in the historical centre of Perugia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bonazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonazzi Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonazzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.