We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel convenient for the Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area to your Saves list
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ruggero D'Andreotto 19, 06100 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Bucks
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel convenient for the Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Gia Jazz Area for one night on our way back from Puglia. It is one of two hotels, the other being the Wine hotel next door and joined underground. The room was very large, well furnished and the bathroom equally so. Our room was at the back of the hotel as the front had a view of the petrol station next door. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice included in the room rate. There was a pool and sunbathing area on the roof with a brilliant view of the old town of Perugia on the hill. There was also private parking at the rear of both hotels.
The mini metro up to the old town was about a 10 min walk away but unfortunately the last train down left around 9pm. The old town was a bit of a surprise being far nicer than anticipated with stunning views of the surround countryside from the walls. Lots of restaurants and great expensive shops. Would certainly go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    274
    89
    26
    6
See reviews for
68
259
25
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

When I find such a nice hote, where beautiful modern art is shown wherever I would expect to have also a good service...this is not the case .
As a matter of fact, I have had a very nice room, but not well cleaned; neither in the bathroom and sleeping room. Instead of a wood made wardrobe there are two tents, desert style ? Dust all over the room !
Riccardo is a master in the restaurant but when other guests come for dinner, the poor service comes out in terms of lack of personall related to the guest' numbers and we had to wait long time between on course and the following one.
But the worst surprise came up at 6 o'clock in the morning; we where waken up by waiters one floor under that were preparino breakfast room tale and chairs that the previous evening had bene user for a parquet dinner with jazz alive orchestr. That's ubelivable...but truth !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELLAS
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. I strongly believe that it provides the best quality at the lowest price ever payed during my trips in Europe. We stayed in room 4405 looking Perugia from the west. This economy double room has everything to make visitor's stay unforgetable. It is spacious, very clean, with a minibar, cd player large flat screan tv. I strongly recomend this hotel if you are visiting Umbria. Perugia city center is 10 min away, Assisi is only 30 min drive. You must pay a visit to these two cities. You must stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was there because myhconference was held in it. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom plain and a bit shabby, breakfast is ok A bit isolated with a tiring 20-30 minute uphill walk to town (hard when it is hot), or a 10-15 Euro taxi, or the mini train (which closes at 9 pm). Also a bus alternative which I didn't try. The room viewed the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

just got back from 2 nights in Perugia we spent there for the Umbria jazz Festival. We stayed at the Jazz part of the Gio. I was afraid, we'd get a tiny room since on the reservation it was stated as 'small'. However, very average size hotel room. Room was clean. What we missed was a balcony and a regular shower. We had a jacuzzi kind of bathtub, with a shower hose, but you had to sit down in order to shower or you'd have flooded the entire bathroom. No shower curtain either.
Breakfast was good with a lot of things to choose from, even the yummy Yomo brand yogurt. However, no bacon and eggs, unless you wanted to pay for it.
The hotel is quite far from the escalator that will take you to the historic part of town. For the Umbria Jazz Festival period this is not a problem because a shuttle will take you to the escalator and back in hourly intervals. Latest departure from center is 2:20 a.m.
A nice feature is the pool on the roof of the hotel. Just 8 lounge chairs but it was nice to cool off after a long motorcycle ride to Perugia. Pool was hardly big enough to swim in, though!

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room with balcony, available in the Wine part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Gio with an Italian group that was celebrating a 40+year reunion. Despite the numbers the hotel handled the situation very well...with a meal for 100 on the main night and lunches as bookends. The hotel has two wings...one dedicated to jazz music and the other to wine.
Rooms we clean and well maintained. The decorations were unusual being all Jazz orientation. Wallpaper, fixed radio, curtains, and figurines are all reflective of jazz music and jazz musicians. Quite unusual to say the least...but it grows on you. We also learned that Hotel Gio is the home of the annual jazz festival held in the autumn...which then made sense.
A little out of the main part of the old town...so a strong walk...or taxi is required to visit the piazza etc....
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Not overpriced so good value.
Ps...one more item worth mentioning. Each room had it's own massage chair...having driven from Rome this was a great but very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have busy roads....we were on the highway side...but the noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is situated a bit far from the historical center of Perugia. Rooms are big but decoration is not very nice. Bedding is good but not great, choose rooms at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid the gaz station view in the front of the hotel. A Pool on the hotel roof is certainly nice but it was unfortunately closed in may... Fitness center with 2 bikes and running machine is available. Breakfast is poor without any choice. I'll not go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Address: Via Ruggero D'Andreotto 19, 06100 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.