We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Value. Simplicity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalba

Rosalba
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Perugia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosalba
Save
You added Rosalba to your Saves list
Via del Circo 7, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Perugia
greece
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Location. Value. Simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Perugia has always been a friendly, beautiful and interesting place to visit.

- Location: Very good. Few steps away from the escalators that lead to the historic centre of Perugia. The hotel provides an excellent base for visiting Assisi, Orvieto and Lago Trasimeno.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant. A guest house atmosphere.
- Decoration: Elegant simplicity.
- Room: It was clean with comfortable beds.
- Service: The proprietor was helpful and extremely friendly.
- Parking: I parked next to hotel. The proprietor gave us a ticket to put on the dashboard of car so we wouldn't get a fine.

- Recommendation: There are some coffee and pastry shops within walking distance which are of a fair standard.

- Would I stay there again? : Yes, of course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Friendly little hotel offering clean and modern rooms and friendly, helpful service. Location handy but some traffic noise possible early morning - did not bother us too much. The bed was one of the more comfortable beds we found during our trip around Umbria....! I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Since the late 1990s, we have always chosen Hotel Rosalba for it's location, value, cleanliness and simplicity. The owner loves her family property, and she runs a tight ship. Nice views, and just steps away from the escalators that lead to the historic center of Perugia. Breakfast is free, but it's coffee or tea and a pastry. Still, well worth taking before heading out. Perugia has always been a welcoming, friendly, beautiful and very interesting place to visit. Make Rosalba your hotel, rent a car or take the train to Assis or so many other wonderful medieval town around Umbria.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Perfect for an overnight stay for the four of us. An escalator trip away from the centro storico. Extremely clean and the price was perfect. No breakfast but who cares at that price. I liked the proprietor. She was helpful and extremely friendly. Gave us a ticket to put on the dashboard of car so we wouldn't get a fine. Parked next to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My wife and I took a side trip to Perugia to check out the Perigina Chocolates. We had not booked a hotel but stumbled across the Rosalba Hotel. What a gem. It is situate near the escalator to the old city and therefore in a perfect position. The rooms wre basic but clean. The hotel is light and airy and the proprietoress friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic- I'd recommend eating out but otherewise really fantastic. Highly recommend.
HOTEL ROSALBA -Via del Circo, 7 - 06121 PERUGIA - Tel: [--]
www.hotelrosalba.it

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I and our two kids stay have stayed here every year for 10 years. The location, just steps from the historic center of town, is TERRIFIC for the money.

It's not a fancy place, but it has always been squeaky clean and well-cared for.

There is a place just around the corner where we go for coffee and pastries for the breakfast. For the kids we get something like cappucino, warm milk with foam, only instead of coffee it is flavored with chocolate.

Parking in Perugia is a nightmare but not so bad at the Rosalba. We usually can get a spot right on the square, but when we get back late we have to park further away. You can always drive your car right up to the front of the hotel to load and unload your car, however.

The staff at the hotel has been there for years. I have always found them to be warm, wonderful and kind but they do not speak a lot of English. Don't stay here if you aren't comfortable making an effort with Italian. You don't have to be fluent, but you might not be happy if you can't make yourself understood at all.

For a special treat, ask for the room at the top. The bedroom is small but it has an upstairs sitting room and a balconey with a view down the hill away from the historic center of town that is to die for. The room doesn't have a kitchen, but we manage to make a picnic up there for one meal a day, which is nice over a long stay.

Most of the rest of the rooms look out over the large paved courtyard in the front of the hotel. It is a little bare, but a great place to let the kids run around. At the far end of the courtyard are some steps in the shade--a good place to sit and rest your feet. Next to the steps is the entrance to the Rocca--which is an adventurous way to travel to the center of town. Often there is an odd little exhibit of some kind in the Rocca. Enter the Rocca and head down and you will arrive at the bus station--you can take a local bus to Assisi and other places very easily.

Just beyond the bus station is a stadium where you can jog on a flat track--if you are not used to running on hills you will want to use the track.

At the other end of the historic town there is an indoor public pool that is terrific. It is more geared toward the lap swimmer than kids splashing, however.

From Perugia, make day trips to Assisi and Orvieto, for sure. There is also a nice quiet sandy beach on an island in the middle of the lake to the south--I'm sorry, I forget which one. Take your younger children to the amusement park outside of town--it's a hoot. For chocoholics, there is the Perugina factory tour. For foodies in general, there is a nice little cooking school.

Be forewarned, though--sometimes the traffic noise around the square in front is loud. It might be quieter on the non-road side. It is the price you pay for the location. After a few days, I get used to it. Or else I'm so tired from all the fun I had, I just sleep through it. Oh-and there is no elevator. Good if you like stairs, but not so good if you do not. Heck, it is a hill town. If you need an elevator then perhaps you ought to go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some traffic noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

they tell you they have a parking for the car but they have not. They also have no breakfast at all and they made me pay for it.
Only good thing close to the center.
will never go back again

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosalbaPerugia, Proprietario at Rosalba, responded to this review, April 21, 2008
Dear Friends we are in Perugia, in the historic center.
We have two parking area , a big parking and a small one. Our building was built in the 18th-century . We have elegant, comfortable rooms, furnished with period furniture. All rooms have private bathrooms,color TV, telephone, and air conditioning.

Always our guests have small Italian breakfast in our Hotel .
Your faithfully
The Hotel Rosalba Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalba

Address: Via del Circo 7, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Rosalba Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.