We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Choice for Perugia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sangallo Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sangallo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sangallo Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Masi, 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Nice Choice for Perugia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On our tour of the Umbria region we stayed 5 nights at the Sangallo Palace Hotel. Overall we found it to be a very positive experience. The staff were friendly and helpful.the room we had was fairly large, clean and comfortable. The Internet was the best of our trip as we found it to be dependable throughout the facility and fast enough to allow us to send pictures. Our only negative was the quality of the food in the breakfast room seemed to go downhill on the weekend as more guests arrived. The coffee that came out of the beverage machine was terrible when it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower vs a tub if you have trouble high stepping in and out of a high tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    339
    98
    19
    9
See reviews for
171
414
51
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at the Sangallo Palace one night, after visiting Rome and Florence. The hotel was a pleasant surprise with all the amenities of a four star hotel in the USA. The bathroom was very modern and well-equipped. The staff were very helpful, making recommendtions for restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing. The neighborhood was quiet and safe, and a pleasant change from the hustle and bustle in Rome and Florence! I would definitely stay here again and for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I quite liked this hotel. As I was there for work, it served the purpose of being modern, and accessible for cars. However this was a disadvantage as you wouldn't want to walk out of it on your own after dark - a bit cut off from the historic centre. Though during the day, as other commenters say, there is a city escalator that takes you to the the city.
My room was nice with a little balcony - you wouldn't really want to sit on it as it overlooked a bus station though the distant view was nice. Big and well-furnished. Appealing to the eye with a coherent design concept based on Renaissance motifs and colour schemes. The bathroom was lovely. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK - I can't really remember it as I was in a different hotel every day for work. Staff were quite distant and not particularly friendly. There were plenty of places to sit if you wanted to sit in the public areas and work though the wi fi was patchy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent location just a 5 minute escalator ride/walk from the old town center (tons of restaurants, shops, etc). Our room on the 5th floor had awesome views. The room was large with updated bathroom.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They spoke excellent English

Large breakfast room with a nice variety of food choices and coffees.

Parking was right outside of the hotel (extra 15 euros a day)

Overall this hotel was a great value and in a superb location. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nothing great but had one of the bigger rooms we've stayed in Italy. Very handy to the hill escalators and the post office and bank are in the bottom levels of the building. Post office opens at 8.30 by the way. There is a fairly wide range for breakfast and the rooms are quite comfortable although ours was a bit warm. Would try somewhere different if back one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed two nights and next trip will stay longer.
At front desk both Andrea and Umberto were very helpful and spoke excellent english.
They were helpful in giving us directions and a bus schedule to go up into Centro and answered any questions we presented to them.
The gym and pool are wonderful and the dining experience was five star!
The food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent and the wait staff very accomodating to our every need.
We would highly recogmend this hotel, its staff, service, food and location.
Within walking distance there is alot to see and explore in Centro.
U.S.A. visitors can't wait to return!

Room Tip: King size room was the best if available, but single was great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very comfortable and all the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The location is excellent and the swimming pool provided a welcome respite at the end of a long day of sight-seeing. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms were large and well appointed and we really enjoyed having a balcony which overlooked the Umbrian countryside. All six members of our group thoroughly enjoyed staying at the San Gallo Palace.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via L. Masi, 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perugia
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangallo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.