We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, bad coffee, wifi in common room only, snippy help.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sangallo Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sangallo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sangallo Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via L. Masi, 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Perugia
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location, bad coffee, wifi in common room only, snippy help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location was wonderful. The rooms were lovely and the views were fabulous, but they only had wifi in one first floor common living room. The breakfast coffee was terrible, made from syrup and hot water and the fruit was from a can. There was construction noise in the building during breakfast and I found the reception help snippy. I needed help mailing a package and they gave me attitude.

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms were lovely. The view from most rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    309
    88
    18
    9
See reviews for
156
383
48
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros: The hotel was great, the location great, the staff helpful, the breakfast good, the rooms slightly dated, but large.

Cons: In late September, they already had the air con turned off, although they advertise air conditioning on their website and the booking sites. Our room was like a sauna, which made sleeping difficult, and our room faced over a major traffic circle, so when we opened the window we had a lot of traffic noise. Others also had the same problem.
Also, the hotel is on the edge of the ZTL, and though our GPS directed us well, you must be very careful just before the parking lot or you can miss the turn and end up in the ZTL. Not the easiest city for driving.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our vacation in Umbria. The hotel was very clean and the staff at the hotel were all helpful and courteous. One of the nice aspects of the hotel was its proximity to the escalators to take you to center city. The escalators take one through the underground Roman ruins with Etruscan as well. The rooms are a nice size and the breakfast served in the morning was also good as well. If you are visiting in the Umbria area, this hotel and Perugia are a good location to get to other smaller hill towns as well as Assisi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed three nights while touring Umbria and found the location to be perfect, as we were a few short steps to the escalators up into the old part of the city. The rooms weren't large but suitable for our purpose which was just sleeping, as there is too much to do in Umbria to waste time in your room. Free wiFi only available in the lobby area, but reception was very good, and there is lots of seating available. We dined in the hotel with our tour group for two nights and the meals were excellent. Breakfast each morning was also good. Our room was very clean and very quiet, and I would have no hesitation in staying here again should we find ourselves the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

While the overall hotel was nice my rating is due to the overall experience. My wife and I had a very bad experience with the restaurant at this hotel and when I went to the hotel manager he was unable and unwilling to resolve the issue. I was very surprised that a hotel seemingly of this caliber would have a restaurant on site that is so poorly run and that they are unwilling to take any accountability for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

we were friendly greeted every day. we stayed in the hotel for two weeks. Umberto at the reception, was helpful with any of our demands. he is fluent in quite a few languages, french is among them. i would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is truly a four-star hotel in every respect. It is modern with many amenities. The room we had was excellent -- nice design touches, spacious, very comfortable beds, fine bathroom (including great water pressure which can be an issue at some Italian hotels), state-of-the-art TV/Internet combination, and a good breakfast. One of its best features is the outstanding location: This hotel is moments away from the escalators that lead up to the center of Perguia, making it effortless to reach the main area of the city. Within a few blocks of the hotel are a few restaurants and other services. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via L. Masi, 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perugia
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangallo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.