We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like hotels with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brufani Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brufani Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Brufani Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Italia, 12, 06100 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Perugia
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I like hotels with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was in Perugia in late March 2013 and I have chosen to stay at Brufani not because I knew anything about it, but because I liked the name. Of course I had some hints, but nothing too clear. To my satisfaction it proved that my good feelings about the name proved to be right. So I had a great room with an even greater view on the town (unfortunately it was raining cats and dogs so I could not take advantage of the view too much). The room was very clean, huge bed with an excellent mattress and good pillows. The furniture is classic so it gives you the feeling that you are rather at home. The bathroom was also big, clean and having also a bidet. The common areas were very nice decorated, with Deruta ceramics, flowers and some marble statues. The only thing that was not really up to the standards of the hotel was the breakfast: all along the 4 days that I spent at Brufani I had the same breakfast and there waere NO vegetables or fruits. But the espresso was EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitata, Direttore generale at Brufani Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Brufani Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sorry for your comments about our breakfast, that is usually very appreciated from our guests. I will share your comments with our team to find the right solution for guests that are staying with us for long stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

The General Manager and the Staff of Hotel Brufani Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    134
    63
    15
    13
See reviews for
88
300
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Assisi, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is wonderful and it is where most of the stars stayed when I was there for the Umbria Jazz festival. expect 5 star service and 5 star amenities. The view from the rooftop deck is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

5 star hotel with a history and elegance...

The hotel has a perfect location to walk around the old town. The moment you step in the hotel, you feel the elegance and style.

We got the best service as expected from a 5 star hotel, but at an affordable price. We paid 170 euros for a deluxe room, including tax and breakfast. Parking was available in front of the hotel free of charge, if there's free space, or they have a paid parking as well.

Rooms are spacious and very nice. The bed was big and very comfortable. Every little detail has been carefully planned in the room.There's even an umbrella in the wardrobe, which was great because it was raining outside. Bathroom was also nice and big.

It was a nice surprise to see the photos of Queen Elizabeth at he lobby who once stayed at this hotel.

Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choices.

Perugia, on the other hand, has not much to offer, it has a small old town packed in 1km square . We stayed there for one night, as a part of our trip to Tuscany which was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled as photographers and stopped over in Perugia making our way to Venice. What a lovely surprise was this hotel. Beautiful interior,, with parking in the old city. Walking distance to all attractions. Had dinner in the hotel and experienced the most wonderful display of wine pouring - truly artistic. Only 21kms from Assisi its worth the visit..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A truly lovely hotel in a lovely city, exemplifying the very best Italian hospitality standards. The rooms are spacious and romantic with every comfort while the public spaces are grand and impressive, steeped in history (not all of it illustrious perhaps, but still a place where the past seems almost tangible). Impeccable service, glorious breakfasts on the terrace, a perfect location commanding the surrounding countryside yet a few steps away from churches, museums, restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here again were I to visit this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Perugia and the Brufani Palace made it really easy. The location is great, right in the center, and just a few steps away from our favorite restaurant, La Taverna. The wellness center is very quaint with a heated and glass-bottomed pool in which you can view part of the fortress (Rocca Paolina) below it. There's also a few fitness machines, a sauna and a turkish bath. The breakfast was excellent and high quality, including cured meats, eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, croissants, yogurt and cereal. Most places offer too many breads and carbo-based products, but Brufani offers a well-balanced breakfast. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I rated this hotel excellent because my experience was wonderful, though there are 2 areas where I'd like to see improvements: better quality hair-dryers and free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed three nights and loved the hotel. My room was quite large, with a marvelous view through the large windows of the valley from the hilltop. The furnishings were lovely and good quality. The bed was king size, although formed by two mattresses pushed together. The bed linens were very nice. The room was well lit. The turndown service was appreciated, as were the chocolates, slippers and foot cloth, and the weather forecast for the next day. The storage space was plentiful and the safe could fit my iPad. The hangers were regular wood ones, not of the type that plug into a non-removable sleeve. The bathroom was tight on room, but had adequate space for toiletries, good amenities and towels, and an effective towel warmer. Breakfasts are in a large room and have everything one might want: eggs, meats, cheeses, fruits, juices, cereals, bakery items, and so on. I used the spa facilities on the floor labelled -3, which included a sauna, a steam room, and a pool with a floor made of glass so you can view Etruscan ruins as you swim. There are lots of towels, very comfortable chaises, showers and lockers, fresh fruit, and iced water. The staff of the hotel could be staff at any world class hotel. They are friendly, but respectful and very courteous, and most helpful. A superb hotel perched on the top of the town's hill right at the start of the main pedestrian area of lovely Perugia. Unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brufani Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brufani Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza Italia, 12, 06100 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#3 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Family Hotel in Perugia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brufani Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 4-story Hotel with many elegant touches, located on a hill at center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brufani Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brufani Palace Perugia
Hotel Brufani Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brufani Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.